Have you ever lived in a vehicle?

ragnarok_approaches123

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Australia
One of my backup plans in life if things don't work out well is to buy a van and live in a caravan park near a tourist-centric city where work is available. My main hobbies are gaming, reading and learning languages so I don't need much space to enjoy myself. Depending on how climate change plays out, increased levels of natural disasters may make being mobile a big advantage. The main issues with such a lifestyle is it's hard to find a girlfriend and it will be hot in summer and cold in winter.

Have you tried this before? Did you do it out of choice or necessity? What unexpected challenges did you face? Would you recommend it? Is there anything else you'd like to say?

Reactions: impeeza

GeekyGuy

Professional loafer
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Tried? I wouldn't call it so much trying as I would doing. But yeah. In my mid-twenties, I graduated college, in debt up to my ears, no job, and no family members willing to taking me in. All told, it was about a good solid year of living in a Sprint Geo. If you've never seen one, please, look it up. You should get a good belly laugh.

Of course, I did get a job quickly, but it just wasn't enough to support the deposit, first and last month's rent, plus utilities, so it took a while. Got a membership to the YMCA, showered there daily. Got through it. The hardest thing was finding places to park where the cops wouldn't hassle me.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Unless you live on a tropical island I would not put climate change up on the list much.

Done American travel trailers that were probably nicer than my first flat (which was in a rich old industrialist's mansion) but that probably does not count.