Guide:How to Fix a Bricked DS/DS lite

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Dialga.The.Maste, Feb 25, 2009.

Feb 25, 2009
  1. Dialga.The.Maste
    OP

    Member Dialga.The.Maste GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi I am Dialga.The.Master.Of.Time. and I bricked my DS recently and I know how to fix it,so I will share how.

    Requirements

    - 1 DS/DSlite with at least 10% of FlashMe Installed or as long as it is bootable while pressing select + start
    - 1 Slot 1 Flashcard
    - AC Adapter
    - An insulated conductive tool to bridge the SL1 connection
    - A small Phillips head screwdriver

    Instructions


    1. Download Flashme (Downloads Below)

    2.Start The DS while Pressing START + SELECT (M3DS Real users make sure that when the M3 Logo comes out you relese the buttons or you will boot into GBA mode)

    3.Run Flashme.

    4.Follow the onscreen instructions

    5.Enjoy your unbricked DS [​IMG] /DS lite [​IMG]

    Flashme Installations
    Flashme
    Flashme Stealth
    Flashme Uninstaller
    Flashme Without Auto Boot
    Flashme Stealth Without Auto Boot
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    ...you gave us a tutorial on how to hold the Start and Select buttons?
     
  3. wchill

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    This would only apply to a DS Phat since DS Lites have 100% of the firmware (excluding settings) write-protected.
    And most DS Phat FlashMe users would know this, I think.

    Edit: Well, it would apply to DS Lites if you screwed up w/FlashMe.
     
  4. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Not entirely true, the latest DS Lites have almost the entire firmware write-protected, but if you get one from a couple of years ago they're just the same as the original DS.

    It's also worth mentioning that FlashMe recovery is broken on several devices, due to the way it forces booting. In my experience, it won't work on a CycloDS, Acekard 2 or EZ-Flash V. The R4 requires encrypting FlashMe in the place of its own firmware.
     

Share This Page