Good modular controllers?

diggeloid

Alex
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I have a habit of breaking the joysticks on my controllers when playing Street Fighter. I'm not a pro gamer or anything (maybe because I keep breaking my damn joysticks!!) but I do go pretty hardcore on fighting games lol. It's so bad that I don't even try to play SFV on my Steam Deck because I just know it's going to end in tragedy. I got my ass handed to me last weekend when I tried playing again for the first time after a long hiatus, but the only working gamepad I had was an old Steam controller, and that actually bruised my thumb.

So I started looking into modular controllers and was wondering if anyone here had experience with them/recommendations? It seems like a good value to have modular joysticks that can be replaced when they break, although everything I've seen is very expensive. Sony's DualSense Edge for example is $200! I could buy like 4 brand new PS4/5 controllers for that price.t)

Also, it's surprisingly hard to find a list of modular controllers. Here's what I've found:
  • Astro C40: $169 for a refurbished unit (their store doesn't seem to sell new ones?) + $20 for a replacement stick
  • Thrustmaster Eswap: $130-$180 for the controller + $25 for a replacement stick
  • Random ones Aliexpress: $?? but probably cheap
  • PS5 DualSense Edge $200 for the controller + $?? for a replacement stick
Besides soldering, it seems like it's smarter to just keep buying cheap/knock off PS3 controllers on ebay whenever I need a new joystick.

Or maybe I should invest in one of those hall effect sensors I've heard so much about? Gulikit sells some, and they even have a kit for the Steam Deck! But that still seems like it won't survive my casual SFV sessions.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom