Golden Sun Dark Dawn: best way to play this game?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by elunesgrace, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys,


    So I've been wanting to play golden sun dark dawn ever since it came out. Problem is, I want to play it with the full experience but also be able to do save states.

    I've been reading around for the past year trying to find the best solution.

    I have a DS and was going to buy the game normally, but then I can't use save-states

    I played a bit of it on Desemume, but my fps is too slow (35-40).

    I thought of getting a flashcart, but I was reading that save-states don't work with this game to make it work on flash carts.


    I'm sort of stuck. I've been out of the loop for 6 months or so, so maybe someone has a solution by now? That would be awesome!!!


    Thankssss
     
  2. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    You can either have the full experience or save states. You cannot have both, as the full experience is playing the game on the legitimate cartridge without action replay.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Why would you need save states?
    They kinda ruin the whole point of full gamming experience from my point of view...
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Sora de Eclaune

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. Unless the game is extremely hard, such as if the game were I Wanna be the Guy or Battle Kid: Fortress of Peril, the full gaming experience should involve no cheating and no savestates.
     
  5. Skelletonike

    Member Skelletonike ♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Location:
    Steam City
    Country:
    Portugal
    Even if a game is hard, that's why it's fun... Using save states completely ruins the whole game, as in, if you use save states, you're pretty much cheatting since you can load at any time in the game. Although I don't consider Golden Sun a hard game so I don't see why you'd need to use them at all...
     
  6. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't use save states. Problem solved.

    This isn't a super difficult game, you don't need save states.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Well with the previous golden sun games if you wanted to do certain stuff (like craft with oricalcum or whatnot) to do it legitimately you had to restart the game over and over. Save-states just saved so much time!

    But if that's not something there is much of in this game i'll just play it normally =).
     
  8. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    I cant confirm as my equipment is at home, but I thought the CycloDS could use save states with this game. I could be mistaken as I havent gotten to this game in my list yet.
     
  9. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey if you could find out that would be awesome! Then I could buy a cyclods anyways =)
     
  10. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Another side question (or maybe I should make a new thread). What flash cart is best for this game? would a cheap r4 ds do? Do i need a higher end r4? Or another flash cart perhaps.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Most flash carts don't do save states (otherwise known as RTS), this includes the R4s.
    http://gbatemp.net/t290097-which-flash-cart-should-i-get
    The DSTwo is often the recommended one.
     
  12. Qtis

    Member Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,762
    Location:
    The Forge
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The DSTwo would be my suggestion for both the Save states and using an original DS/DSi/3DS. The CycloDS Evo/iEvo could also do the things you mentioned and they work with GS: DD, but I wouldn't recommend the cart now until we get a new update for the cart.
     
  13. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks! Only thing is I remember reading (this is like 6 or so months ago) that the DSTwo only runs this game in the safe mode (the mode where you can't use save-states and other things), and that cyclods has trouble running this game?
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That was then, this is now. Good carts (like the DSTwo) update to fix things.

    It's normal for a really popular game to include new AP, and thus not run properly on most carts until they update for it.
     
  15. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    ^Awesome.

    I took your collective advices and bought myself a ds lite and the game (only 19.99 at bestbuy.ca). Plays great!

    Picked up a 3ds recently, so I'll go over to that section and see what's happening. I'm sure the DSTwo will work great on the 3ds. I keep hearing about this wood software for the R4 gold, what's that about?
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It's software that lets them play new games.

    Like the DSTwo has EoS and the Acekard has AKAIO... except most R4s had jack shit for software/updates for a long time, so when wood came out people creamed themselves with joy.
     
    2 people like this.
  17. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    ^ahhhh, I guess that answers the question. Thanks!
     
  18. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry it took so long to answer, but I forgot about this threat. I can confirm that the CycloDS on a DSLite does not support real time menu or real time save with this game. I also tested with my DSTWO and real time menu and real time save do work. Go with the DSTWO. It will also work with any version of DS and 3DS, minus 3DS games.
     
  19. elunesgrace
    OP

    Member elunesgrace GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    Canada
    This DSTWo is starting to sound really good lol.
     

Share This Page