GBARunner2

By Gericom, Dec 4, 2016 360,612 2,443 87

  1. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,039
    Country:
    Italy
    So does that mean a quick fix/upgrade in sound would be to set sound to mono in the games that have that option? Leaving only the gb sounds missing. I noticed Medabots Rpg seemed like there was only one of two stereo sides active, but I don't think I tried setting the sound to mono, if there's an option for that. Would a simple patch for all games, turning their sound mono, be feasible?
     
  2. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,262
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I can't patch that. It's different for each game. And yes if there's a setting you can try that. May be better cpu wise too. Implementing stereo shouldn't be hard though. Since the second channel is just the same as the first.
     
    Zense likes this.
  3. Melter

    Melter GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    keep up the great work Gericom!
     
  4. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Would it be feasible to use the extra RAM mode they recently got working in TWL_FIRM on the 3DS to buffer games entirely in memory? For example, nds-bootstrap enables a 32 megabyte mode, which would allow for a large number of GBA games to not need to load anything extra off the SD card.
     
  5. Lyrin

    Lyrin Annoying Weaboo Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2017
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United States
    The purpose of this is to run on DS flashcarts not 3DS.
     
  6. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm well aware of that, but it's still a valid question, even if Gericom himself doesn't implement it, I just wanted to know if it's possible.
     
    uyjulian, Gray_Jack and CrimsonMaple like this.
  7. Pickle_Rick

    Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Why wouldn't you just use an emulator or AGB_FIRM though? This is really only useful on the DS(i).
     
    Lyrin likes this.
  8. daxtsu

    daxtsu GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,627
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That and if it does end up being a possibility, it would potentially be able to properly save in games that even AGB_FIRM lacks support for, like the Pokémon games. Also, GBA emulation runs like crap on the 3DS (i.e. Retroarch, mgba, citragb).

    It's not a question of practicality, it's a question of: is it possible? I just want to know from a technical standpoint. Nothing more.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2017
    DrkBeam, Zense, uyjulian and 3 others like this.
  9. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,262
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I suppose it should be possible, although I would have to reorganize my memory protection setup. Maybe I'll have a look at it later. I'm not sure though if it will help much speed wise. I still have the idea that fact that a lot of memory accesses go though the abort handler is the source of most slow downs.
     
  10. Pickle_Rick

    Pickle_Rick I'm a pickle Morty!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Just sram patch. (And GBA emulation runs full speed on n(2)3DS. Retroarch just needs to fix the crashing in GPSP. All the other cores work fine.)
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2017
    Lyrin likes this.
  11. lex3a

    lex3a Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    You should definitely see this -

    1 Mbit AGB_FIRM lennies ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    https://www.reddit.com/r/3dshacks/comments/6znqqg/1_mbit_agb_firm_lennies_ʖ/
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2017
    daxtsu, Lyrin and Zense like this.
  12. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,997
    Country:
    Austria
    Yesterday, @Gericom updated GBARunner2 again.

    There are updates for

    • the master branch
    • the file explorer branch
    • the capture center mask branch.

    I cleaned before building.
    I tested the builds with my m3ds real Flashcard.
    These are all arm9 builds only!
    You will find the builds below.


    Thank you for the updates Gericom!:)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
    zfreeman, Zense and Lyrin like this.
  13. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,262
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just so you know, capture_center_mask is obselete now, since I merged it to master, and I'm doing preparations for saving on the file_explorer branch.

    Oh, and maybe you'd like to test games with the latest master version.
     
    zfreeman, Sinon, Zense and 3 others like this.
  14. ambient

    ambient Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Unfortunately neither of those three versions works on my Acekard 2i. Each time they hang on white screen with TEST text. The only one working version from this thread is ARM7 from this post. Nonetheless it's great to see this project active. I hope there will be working version with saving for Acekard sometime in the future.
     
  15. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,039
    Country:
    Italy
    I can test with my CycloDS and Acekard 2i
     
  16. Gericom

    OP Gericom GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,262
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dodain only compiled arm9 dldi versions I guess.
     
    Lyrin likes this.
  17. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,997
    Country:
    Austria
    Yes you are right.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
    Zense likes this.
  18. ambient

    ambient Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This version opens on Acekard, but none of the games I tried worked. Most of them hang after bios animation. Even games that work on Gericom's last ARM7 version.
     
  19. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,997
    Country:
    Austria
    Hm. Then i better delete the upload and wait for Gericom to build an arm 7 gbarunner2.:sleep:
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
  20. ambient

    ambient Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Maybe this wasn't your fault but some changes in the code. For example Aladdin (E) hangs after bios animation in your version, but works fine in Gericom's ARM7.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - GBARunner2,