GB/GBC Emulation on DS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Seastars, Feb 24, 2008.

Feb 24, 2008

GB/GBC Emulation on DS by Seastars at 5:00 PM (2,112 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Seastars
    OP

    Member Seastars Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello All,

    I want to be able play GB/GBC games on my DS. I have an M3 Real with the GBA pack. So i shoud i be using Lameboy in slot 1 or will running goomba work from the GBA expansion pack? Will either give me RTS?

    Thanks In Advance
    Gaspar
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Both will work, and both have different compatibility for different games. Only Lameboy has RTS support though.
     
  3. matthewd997

    Member matthewd997 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i find lameboy easier to use
     
  4. asiekierka

    Newcomer asiekierka Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Lameboy for GBC games, Goomba for GameBoy/SGB games and music tracking stuff.
     
  5. pubjoe

    Member pubjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've used Lameboy, but I can't get saves to work on the game I tried (Zelda DX).
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You pressed X after saving in-game (A+B+Start+Select I believe for Link's Awakening), right?
     
  7. pubjoe

    Member pubjoe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can't remember actually. I'll try it again.
     
  8. gazupnorth

    Newcomer gazupnorth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    any body know where I can download lameboy from , the link on the homebrew page doesn't seem to work ???
     
  9. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,711
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. gazupnorth

    Newcomer gazupnorth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks very much you were as your name says "fast" !!!
    Thanks m8
     
  11. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    Actually when I first got my DS(November) I found both lameboy 0.9 and an unofficial Goomba build that supported DLDI and ran from slot-1 carts.

    I've forgotten where I stumbled across Goomba, but it worked pretty well also, although IIRC when playing gb games it insisted on doing the pseudo color palette like a real gbc would do with a gb game.
     
  12. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You're probably thinking of DSBoy, the one updated by the French guy. The only version of Goomba Color that runs on slot-1 devices came out 1-2 days ago, and I don't know if Dwedit was even seriously working on Goomba Color DS before early January or late December.

    Automatically applying the pseudo-palette to a GB game is not possible, so DSBoy relied on a database of user-defined colors. The reason behind this is because the colorization info for every GB game is actually stored directly on the GBC BIOS, and nobody has ever been able to dump the GBC BIOS. You can use Super Gameboy palettes which are easy to replicate, and you can support user-defined palettes, but you can't emulate the coloring behavior without specifically working with every game you wish to support.
     
  13. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just about 99.999% positive that it was an unofficial Goomba build, as I distinctly recall the name.

    Anyways there is apparently a partial official DLDI Goomba build now as well, well sort of. It's not very useful ATM, though IMO.
     
  14. bolex17

    Member bolex17 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Australia
    Does anyone have the version of Goomba that runs from Slot1? Can you share it? [​IMG]
     
  15. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It's in the User-Submitted News forum, and also available at the PocketHeaven boards. It does not have DLDI support whatsoever.
     

Share This Page