Homebrew GB/GBC Emulation on DS

Seastars

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
95
Trophies
0
XP
201
Country
Hello All,

I want to be able play GB/GBC games on my DS. I have an M3 Real with the GBA pack. So i shoud i be using Lameboy in slot 1 or will running goomba work from the GBA expansion pack? Will either give me RTS?

Thanks In Advance
Gaspar
 

pubjoe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
267
Country
DanTheManMS said:
pubjoe said:
I've used Lameboy, but I can't get saves to work on the game I tried (Zelda DX).
You pressed X after saving in-game (A+B+Start+Select I believe for Link's Awakening), right?
I can't remember actually. I'll try it again.
 

cutterjohn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
663
Trophies
1
XP
783
Country
United States
Actually when I first got my DS(November) I found both lameboy 0.9 and an unofficial Goomba build that supported DLDI and ran from slot-1 carts.

I've forgotten where I stumbled across Goomba, but it worked pretty well also, although IIRC when playing gb games it insisted on doing the pseudo color palette like a real gbc would do with a gb game.
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,444
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Georgia
XP
696
Country
United States
You're probably thinking of DSBoy, the one updated by the French guy. The only version of Goomba Color that runs on slot-1 devices came out 1-2 days ago, and I don't know if Dwedit was even seriously working on Goomba Color DS before early January or late December.

Automatically applying the pseudo-palette to a GB game is not possible, so DSBoy relied on a database of user-defined colors. The reason behind this is because the colorization info for every GB game is actually stored directly on the GBC BIOS, and nobody has ever been able to dump the GBC BIOS. You can use Super Gameboy palettes which are easy to replicate, and you can support user-defined palettes, but you can't emulate the coloring behavior without specifically working with every game you wish to support.
 

cutterjohn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
663
Trophies
1
XP
783
Country
United States
I'm just about 99.999% positive that it was an unofficial Goomba build, as I distinctly recall the name.

Anyways there is apparently a partial official DLDI Goomba build now as well, well sort of. It's not very useful ATM, though IMO.
 

bolex17

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2007
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
Does anyone have the version of Goomba that runs from Slot1? Can you share it?
tongue.gif
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,444
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Georgia
XP
696
Country
United States
It's in the User-Submitted News forum, and also available at the PocketHeaven boards. It does not have DLDI support whatsoever.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    it's a never ending battle to collect, restore and take care of those poor machines
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only they could talk
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    it be one noisy room
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I have around maybe 13-14 consoles.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Woah, how dusty is your PS3?!
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    not the worst dust in a PS3 I ever seen
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hopefully mine hasn't collected any.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Its still working fine surprisingly.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if mine ever YLOD, I'll replace the caps
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    for now, I'm more worried about the original Xboxes I have
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's only the older revisions that have leaky caps.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    and the Trayloader G3 iMac...
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    v1.6x should be alright.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    all xboxes suffer from shit caps
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    capacitor plague
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Oh, I know a lot about capacitor plague.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    not to mention the fact that capacitors simply have a shortish lifespan, even newer ones ;p
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Somebody stole an unfinished capacitor recipe, working for Nichicon, gave it to a Chinese factory and made tons of them.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    decade worth of timebombs in all sorts of electronics
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    anyway, I'm off
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    This occured on many computer motherboards and other electronic devices.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Aight, see ya later.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Aight, see ya later.