Gamecube saves to SD and back?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by CrazySka, Apr 8, 2011.

Apr 8, 2011
  1. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Im new to the whole Wii Homebrew scene. Anyway a question i got, I have a softmodded Wii. I have a few gamecube games and a old Gamecube memory card. I didn't know if there was a app that would allow me to copy the saves off my memory card and onto my SD card on my wii. Then transfer them back when need be? The reason im asking is the only place around here i could find a memory card was a old 59 block one which is only gonna allow me to put a few games on it.
     
  2. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Your answer is NuGaSa.
    It's downloadable via the Homebrew browser.
     
  3. thaddius

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    NM. Was beaten.
     
  4. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is gonna sound dumb but how do i download it via the homebrew browser?
     
  5. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Answered my own question duh Figured it out [​IMG]
     
  6. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a different one then this one? its not working for me I think it may be because i have an 8gig SDHC card.???>>? I thought I read there was another one somewher? I know this SDHC card is giving me problems with some stuff loading and other stuff not loading heh. I'll have to pick up a normal 2gig SD tomorrow
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    NuGaSa is still the best one around. Well, I don't have the time today to add SDHC support, but if you are going to use a 2GB card it should work.
     
  8. CrazySka
    OP

    Former Staff CrazySka The Original Ska

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just wanted to use SDHC because its more space to put my ROms on for my N64 games etc lol, MAME, N64
     
  9. paced98

    Newcomer paced98 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    I used GCMM and NuGaSa gets a error after i try to backup
     
  10. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Añasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I think the gamecube memory card has to be unplugged when you start the app, and once started then you plug it.
     
  11. BoxmanWTF

    Member BoxmanWTF ♪Toot Toot Sonic Warrior♫

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,144
    Location:
    Behind you
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried NuGaSa, but it wouldn't let me backup my saves, or restore them. Gamecube saver worked though, but the restored save wasn't detected by the game. Any thoughts?
    (I used SD, and SDHC for both, but only SD worked)
     
  12. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,448
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I've read some savegame manager have problems with retail memory cards.
    It's working for some users and not working for others. I think the Brand/model/block size have an importance.
    I can't suggest any Wii homebrew to do that, I never used one.

    Though, I successfully backup and restored Saves using a Gamecube homebrew (wii in gamecube mode) using an SDGecko and MCBackup.
    If you have one, you could try to launch it using swiss + swiss booter.
     
  13. Dogway

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    Hello, until now I have used mcbackup succesfully but all I get is an error when importing the f-zero saves, "Error during restore"

    the files are called:
    8P-GFZP-f_zero.dat.gci
    8P-GFZP-fzc.dat.gci

    any problem with these? are them gci hidden dat files or what?
    I could restore some biohazard or mario sunshine files but not these ones

    edit: I read a little bit, seems that f-zero saves have some kind of protection, but only if saving to another memcard or after formatting memcard which I am not doing. Also I tried copying mario sunshine which doesn't have any kind of protection and it also gave me error. Actually it's quite random, a downloaded wind waker save I have sometimes can be copied, sometimes can't, but the biohazard always get copied...
     
  14. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    What about GCMM? There's a r11 that hasn't been tested.

    I got it to compile with the latest DevKitPPC and libogc releases, but only after changing the diropen, dirnext and dirclose commands to opendir, readdir and closedir, respectively.
     
  15. Dogway

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    I will try tonight r11, but the GCMM I got even didn't like my memcard. Error -5 or something.
     
  16. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,448
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I don't remember if my F-zero X worked fine with MCBackup and my retail (smallest version) Memory card.
    But I know it didn't work on the 8MB one.

    Is your MC a retail one?
     
  17. Dogway

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    I think not. It says nintendo everywhere... memory card 59; DOL-008. funny enough I could copy a downloaded save (european version). I even formated my sdgecko sd just in case.
     
  18. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,448
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    yeah, so it's an original memory card. It should work fine.

    But like you said, Fzero has a protected save and is in multi part. I didn't retry with my version to say if it works or not, sorry.

    Maybe you could try other homebrew, or use DML (Dios Mios Lite) to write GC saves directly to SD card in Raw format. I don't know if Fzero is compatible.
     
  19. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    DML doesn't have the No More Memory code integrated into its binary, so you can't really write saves to a SD card just by loading games through it. That's exactly the main reason I decided to buy a 64MB Memory Card recently.

    If you meant NMM, then it's OK, but he'll most likely have to use it with SNEEK, since it doesn't work very well on a real NAND.
     
  20. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,448
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    ah yes, I thought about NMM to store the GC saves on SD.

    Too many new names, sorry [​IMG]
     

Share This Page