1. Venoms

    OP Venoms Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Good Morning/Afternoon/Night (depending on where you are)

    I have recently softmodded my wii after using this site guide and it worked perfectly so thanks.

    I have installed the USB Loader_GX because I have a black wii so backup copy DVDs don't work.

    I have installed all my wii games to the harddrive (So awesome btw)

    Anyway, I used to have a gamecube and before I sold it I took images of all my games which now sit on a HD.

    My question is:

    How do I play this Gamecube ISOs on my modded wii?
    Do I need a Gamecube controller?

    Thanks for any help you can give me on this.
     
  2. Tonitonichopchop

    Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    You need install the custom mios by Waninkoko:

    http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=207464

    Some dvd's to burn the iso's to. Make sure they're dvd-r.

    Gamecube backup launcher:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=142535


    Simply burn the iso to a blank dvd with software like imgburn at the lowest possible speed, then pop it in your wii, boot up gamecube backup launcher, and select the video mode of your tv at the menu.

    Btw, usb loading for gamecube isn't possible so don't even ask.

    Edit: And you do need a gamecube controller.
     
  3. nitrostemp

    nitrostemp GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563
    Country:
    you wont be able to play gc backups on because you have a black wii but if you were to purcase a sd gecko or a clone of a sd gecko you could play gc games off a sd card
     
  4. Tonitonichopchop

    Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think he said he had a black wii. He said he soft modded it recently. If you do however, then gamecube backups are impossible for you unless you pay someone to install an older drive in your wii. Or if you have good soldering skills yourself.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,770
    Country:
    You can use an external DVD drive with Hermes V5 and uLoader 4.9

    I've not tested this myself but in theory you CAN play gamecube games on a black Wii. [​IMG] (well unless it's limited to Wii only, but I've not saw talk of that on Hermes thread on the site he posts on)

    Spread the word [​IMG]

    Also @ the OP

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=212893 < you really should read other topics before starting one that is the same as others already here.
     
  6. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,044
    Country:
    Belgium
    So, wait...
    external DVD readers (I assume that they are connected to USB) work in GC mode???
     
  7. WiiPower

    WiiPower GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    The external drives are connected via usb ==> they won't work in GC mode, forget about that.

    Loading via SD or USB Gecko might work, but don't count on that, they are written for gamecubes.
     
  8. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,953
    Country:
    United States
    +1.

    If you really want to, wait for SD-Boot 1.0
     
  9. Slimmmmmm

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,770
    Country:
    Blonde moment, never thought about that [​IMG]

    mong

    your best thing to do imho is get a WODE (IF they work with black Wiis) or get a new drive for the Wii ?

    (I've got WODE on the brain and was thinking about using a disc drive with one)

    Feel free to tell me I'm a spaz [​IMG]
     
  10. Venoms

    OP Venoms Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    So basically.

    I can't do it at the moment?
     
  11. Slimmmmmm

    Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,770
    Country:
    Not for free you'd need to spend some to get it going.
     
  12. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,475
    Country:
    Cyprus
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Gamecube,