GameCube and Component

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by drfsupercenter, Jan 4, 2009.

Jan 4, 2009

GameCube and Component by drfsupercenter at 4:28 PM (1,326 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, we just bought an HDTV...

    So I eagerly hooked up all my consoles... Xbox 360 with HDMI, the Wii and GameCube with component.

    But yet, when I play GameCube games, the TV says it's 480i. When I put games such as Pokémon Colosseum in the Wii, it asks if I want to enable progressive scan mode, and then actually does 480p.

    I don't see the option on the GameCube... it just starts in 480i.

    Does anyone know how to actually make it use progressive mode? Because if it doesn't, what's the point of even using the component cable I had to spend $50 on?
     
  2. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Gamecube itself doesn't output 480p and there are no options in the menu.
    A fair few games (not all) support 480p if you hold down the 'B' button after the Gamecube boot screen.
     
  3. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, thanks, I ended up Googling it and figured it out.

    Once you press B, it asks you every time.

    I take it "Progressive scan" and 480p are different? I had Mario Cart: Double Dash in there, and it has an option to use 480p but it's not "Progressive scan" compatible.

    Like, what percent of GameCube games support 480p? I take it the ones that don't just start automatically in 480i using the component cables?
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Progressive Scan and 480p are the same thing.

    I couldn't guess on a percentage but you can find lists out there such as this (not sure how accurate or complete it is).

    Most games automatically run in 480i even with the component cables but some later games such as Zelda: Twilight Princess will detect the component cable and ask you if you want to run in ProScan.
    The ones that don't support 480p will just continue on if you hold down 'B'.
     
  5. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    I think that "progressive scan" on the back of the boxes is a laser thing... Pokémon Colosseum and XD have it, and I know they have absolutely no load time.

    Mario Kart: Double Dash doesn't mention "progressive scan" on the box but it has 480p.

    And once you hold B and switch to progressive mode, it asks you automatically every time. For games that support it, anyway, I haven't tested on ones that don't.
     
  6. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    No progressive scan is not a laser thing, it's the p in 480p. As opposed to the i in 480i which is for interlaced. Mario Kart not saying it on the box is probably an error or oversight or something. Progressive scan has nothing to do with load times.
     
  7. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure not a lot of GC games supported it, given the fact that later GC models (DOL-100, DOL-101) actually REMOVED the digital video connection, leaving only the analog connection (same type of cable used on the SNES and N64). Only the original GCs (DOL-001) actually have both analog and digital video connections.
     
  8. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you must be loaded to afford a gamecube component cable those things are very expensive.
     
  9. drfsupercenter
    OP

    Member drfsupercenter Flash Cart Aficionado

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,891
    Country:
    United States
    Sold me one of those component cables for $50... it's a lot but the Wii ones are $30, not that big of a difference. (Granted I got Wii component cables for $7.99 from China [​IMG])

    As far as the actual GameCube games go, I believe at least half of them support 480p... maybe they knew they would make a future system (the Wii) that was compatible with the GameCube games.
     

Share This Page