game loading sticking at 80%

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by lear2003, Jan 1, 2010.

Jan 1, 2010

game loading sticking at 80% by lear2003 at 1:46 PM (2,870 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. lear2003
    OP

    Newcomer lear2003 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    help, games i have been using a long time are now only loading up to 80% then freezing, they do eventually load after a few minutes, anybody any ideas, currently using 1.17 firmware.
     


  2. amaro

    Member amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    Country:
    Portugal
    Backup your files
    Format your MicroSD
    Copy your files to microSD
    Run
     
  3. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    try ysmenu
     
  4. lear2003
    OP

    Newcomer lear2003 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tried formating,tried new sd card, tried reloading, been using these games for over a year, i'm at a loss,
    may sound stupid but what do you mean by 'back up your files'.
     
  5. amaro

    Member amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    Country:
    Portugal
    'back up your files' Copy your files to PC
     
  6. amaro

    Member amaro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    S.A.C. Loures - Lisboa
    Country:
    Portugal
  7. lear2003
    OP

    Newcomer lear2003 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry, done that, has anybody else had the same problem, wondering if a new game has caused this problem, it only happens on certain games such as big brain academy, brain training.
     
  8. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    These roms files might have gotten errors in them. Try to redump/redownload them from where you got them.
     
  9. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using a new (recently acquired) SD card?
     
  10. jtckd30

    Newcomer jtckd30 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering if you fixed this I have the same problem MICRO-SD if you fixed this what did you do, if not any more suggestions . thanks
    1.formatted card with XP. and Panasonic formatter
    2.copped derectally from another card that does work
    3.old 4 Gig micro-sd lodes everything just fine using ysmenu and standard dstt menu
    4.new 4 Gig with or with out .SAV file from old working card only loades to about 80%
    5.new micr-sd card is a class 4
    6. some games work just fine
    7 big ten works on old card not new
     
  11. bitonio6

    Member bitonio6 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,801
    Country:
    Switzerland
    The one and most important thing is to not copy the "TTMENU.SYS"... Never copy this file!

    This file will be created by your own DSTT...

    DSTT Linker have many kind of "hardware", so the TTMENU.SYS is the identity signature of the hardware...

    [​IMG]
     
  12. optiloc

    Newcomer optiloc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    HI,

    I've got exactly the same problem as jtckd30.
    Just bought a Kingston 4GB HCSD card class 4 and keep getting most of the games freezing at 80%, just like you.
    My old 2GB normal Micro SD works just fine, all games are loading.
    What i tryed:

    Formatting it at 1.1 USB speed, and placing games on it at that speed.
    Formatting both FAT and FAT32
    Install YSMenu with the latest 1.17A12 firmware.
    Install old official versions of the firmware from dstt.com

    and also used trimmed and untrimmed roms.

    So if anyone has any idea ......please !
     
  13. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    reformat your cards with panasonic formatter,2gb below is FAT/16,4gb above is FAT32,install the a12 firmware and put the latest infolib+savlib+extinfo and try again
     
  14. optiloc

    Newcomer optiloc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thank you for this quick response lolzed,
    But your solutions did not work for me :-(

    Formatted with panasonic formatter 2.0 with fulle erase en full format on at Fat32.
    installed 1.17A12 unofficial.
    Updated infolib+savlib+extinfo to the latest versions (dec. 25 2009)
    from: http://sites.google.com/site/weeklyinfolib/
    Trimmed and untrimmed roms tested.
    All are stuck at 80% again.
     
  15. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    mmm have you checked with a different SD?if it still get stuck at 80 its probably the cart
     
  16. optiloc

    Newcomer optiloc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Got a bit further already.
    Tryed 2 4GB cards, both Kingstone cards and both same problem.

    However......i left one of the DS's on at the 80% loading screen while searching on forums and to my surprise, the game started working after .........2 to 3 minutes of loading :-(
    On the 2Gb SD card, loading time of the same game : 10 secs !

    So i am now looking into the infolibs.dat thing about rom loading patches.
    Hopefully this will work in the future.
     
  17. lukands

    Member lukands I took the little bus here

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Your mamas house
    Country:
    Estonia
    Trust me its your microSD cards. I had the same problem, let me guess its the Taiwan Kingston 4gb.
    I tried everything, different roms, different software versions, different cards, etc.......I ruled out everything, for sure its the microsd cards.
    Go back to the store and get an exchange/refund.
     
  18. optiloc

    Newcomer optiloc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes you are right.
    It was the flashcard. Both are Kingston 4GB sdhc TAIWAN indeed.
    Just this afternoon tested a borowed Sandisk 4GB sdhc and copied the entire contens of the kingston on the sandisk flashcard.
    And indeed the loading problems where gone. Same speed as on the old 2Gb cards i had.
    The 2GB cards turned out to be sandisk cards as wel.
    So off to the store on monday and exchange for sandisk cards or get a refund.

    cheers !
     
  19. manueld64

    Newcomer manueld64 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    i have been expiriencing the same things on some of mine, the only thing i can think of is the new loaders or try putting fresh roms from uncrompressing the rars of them to the sd
     
  20. Hyperboy

    Banned Hyperboy Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Ultraworld v2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My ds loads it's games but I can't put any more on and I use Linux so I have a huge dilemma because panasonic formatter doesn't work for me
     

Share This Page