FTP or SMB server in backround?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by SomeGuy2009, Oct 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Oct 3, 2009
  1. SomeGuy2009
    OP

    Member SomeGuy2009 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Im sure this questions has been asked already in some way or form but,

    Would be be possible to allow a FTP or SMB server process to run in background while in the system menu or other homebrew? Like maybe even daisy chain load the system menu or hb channel or what ever. for example. Via Preloader boot to a .dol (ftp or smb server process) that when its done starting starting the server process's it can be told to load the system menu or hb channel.

    I would think this would make updating the contents of either the wii's NAND or a USB or SD card much easier on the fly or at least without having to run standalone ftp or smb server hb on the wii.

    SG
     
  2. bosman

    Member bosman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Australia
    +1 fot the always on FTPServer.
     
  3. Red Ire Lap

    Newcomer Red Ire Lap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada
    From what I understand, the Wii has a hard time doing 2 things at once, such as even running wiispeak in the background with a noncompatible game online. So I wouldnt say its impossible, but extremely problematic. However, I'm definitely no expert on this.
     
  4. SomeGuy2009
    OP

    Member SomeGuy2009 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United States
    Im guessing the Wii was not to multi-thread. Even so I would think there could be a way to load such function into ram or wrap around a system menu or something.

    SG
     
  5. Ossot

    Member Ossot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    494
    Country:
    United States
    From what I understand there's no real underlying OS per se underneath things. When a game is loaded the entire system is handed off to the game. When ftpii is running, the entire system is handed off to ftpii.

    So I think it's pretty technically impossible. At least from my novice understanding of Wii hardware.
     
  6. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Its pretty much impossible, the game runs 1 IOS at a time and so if you want to run something behind the scenes, when a new IOS loads chance are it will get shut off that minute (IOS reloading issue with some games on the USB loader).
     
  7. DarkSzero

    Newcomer DarkSzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    The only way I see this happening, is the homebrew in question running a FTP server alongside whatever it does. It could only be useful into a menu-kind homebrew (HBC, Backup Launcher menu and few others)
     
  8. talmina

    Newcomer talmina Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    The last three are all correct. Programs on the Wii expect to have full range of all the Wii's resources, and when that is not the case things will get ugly. This means its +/- impossible to have a server if you are running: the Wii's menu, a commercial game, wiiware etc.

    I suppose you could try to run one on the ARM, but you would need to be running a specialized cIOS that might not be suited to running intensive applications. On top of that, only waninkoko and hermes have successfully made a cIOS. I'd like to see that happen, but its unlikely that someone qualified will undertake any adventures in these parts.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page