Force Wii to go in 60Hz (or 480p) mode

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by badabing, Feb 9, 2008.

Feb 9, 2008
  1. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know there is a way to force the Wii into 50Hz mode, by holding down+A on startup or something. But now that I semi-bricked my PAL Wii (WiiKey), I'm stuck in 50Hz. Is there a trick like the 50Hz, to turn it into 60Hz? Maybe up+A? Anyone experienced?

    Also, is it possible to go into maintenance-mode with a semi-bricked Wii?

    EDIT: Just read somewhere, that there's supposed to be a GBAtemp-post about fixing a semi-bricked Wii due to going into Maintenance Mode.. Can't find it anywhere though.
     
  2. MelonSmasher

    Newcomer MelonSmasher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have kinda the same problem...(not bricked) but when i set my wii on 60hz my tv just stops with showing me the wii game
     
  3. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not really the same. But, are you sure your TV supports 60Hz? You can play in 50Hz right?
     
  4. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    No, maintenance mode does not fix anything, at least not without other button combinations too.
    Wait for a PAL game that has a new update (assuming you had 3.1E, you need to wait for 3.2E, otherwise you're in luck, just find a recent game with 3.1E on it, I think SMG has it)
     
  6. MelonSmasher

    Newcomer MelonSmasher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know , but its a very new widescreen plasma tv!!! one of the newest from phillips (pal) i should thinks they support it because i also have another phillips tv on my room which is older but here is works
     
  7. legendofninny

    Member legendofninny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a samsung widescreen HD-ready tv, a model from 2007 (I think).
    And when my wii is in 60 HZ mode i doesn't display al that well, but in 50 Hz it does.
    So conclusion it works beter in 50 hz

    maby its the same for yours
     
  8. Apakarta

    Member Apakarta GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Sweden
    how did u semi-brick ur wii
     
  9. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, I was told, when I played SMG I'm safe to play SSBB(J) SL. Apparently that ain't so. I should've updated my Wii thru WiFi first..
     
  10. MelonSmasher

    Newcomer MelonSmasher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Netherlands
    are you fromthe netherlands 2????

    because it sounds like the same problem!!

    i set it on 60 hz my screen is getting smoggie than i start brawl and it doesnt display anything anymore!!!
    but when i set it on 50 hz brawl works fine with some freezes.
     
  11. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't think your theory goes up: You always have 3.1 when you are playing SSBB. So I always have to wait for a 3.2E update...
     
  12. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You do know you have to wait a couple seconds before the game starts in 60Hz, right? Also: you turned Deflicker off?
     
  13. MelonSmasher

    Newcomer MelonSmasher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah i know

    but it just doesnt do anything....
    it just turns back to the channel it is when my wii is off
     
  14. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    Super Mario Galaxy already has the latest update included, so if you tried to update through WiFi, it'd tell you your Wii is already up-to-date...

    I semi-bricked my brother's Wii with the 15% trick, even though his Wii was updated to 3.1E...I guess it depends on when you pull the plug [​IMG]
     
  15. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Even though your GBAtemp-reputation smashes mine, I don't think you're correct on this one. SMG really doesn't have the latest update included. Or is this all just randomness? Note: I let the SSBB(J) update run to 100%.
     
  16. MelonSmasher

    Newcomer MelonSmasher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Netherlands
    vate unser this time you are unright!! [​IMG]..........

    i played smg much but before i updated brawl i connected to wifi and it was not even close to the newest update!!!

    so you are wrong this time more people have make that mistake!!
     
  17. LinkinParkmetre

    Member LinkinParkmetre GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    France
    You only have to turn off the deflicker in 50HZ
    Then go into 60HZ, the warning screen, and the loading screen won't appear, but after few second (30-45), you'll have the intro, and ALL your game in 60 HZ
     
  18. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    To return to the original question of the topic starter:
     
  19. badabing
    OP

    Newcomer badabing Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wow. Thank you very much. I didn't even thought about going this far, will try it tomorrow!
     

Share This Page