Flashcards (3DS) - Border for NDS games not pitch black

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Dionysus, May 12, 2012.

  1. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a SCDS2 which is used for my 3DS, now when playing NDS roms the black border around the game is not completely black compared to that of DSI ware eshop games etc..

    1) The e-shop DSI games have a pitch black border which fills in the space between the 3DS resolution and DS

    2) SDCS2 Isn't as pitch black as DSI games from the e-shop


    You may look at me like woow that really bugs you? Well a little bit yes, I want that realistic NDS feel when playing my games. Just that grey scale black border when playing NDS games on SCDS2 doesn't cut it for me. Is there any solutions for this or a work around? Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Guests I know your reading this topic, so sign up and back me up here lool
     
  3. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,711
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I'm guessing that the sandbox works in DS or DSi mode depending on which one is required.

    Do you have a purely DS game with no DSiEnhanced features to test it with?
     
  4. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I tested it out on Zelda anniversary edition the game nintendo allowed you to download for a time period, that game has no enchanced DSI features. Then I played a DS ROM (SCDS2) such as pokemon diamond and the black border isn't the same (not as pitch black)

    What exactly is sandbox anyway?


    Extra: Also tested out an DS RPG Game from E-Shop called Zenobia and the Border is pitch black how I like it

    Tested Mario 64 on SCDS2 and the border is still not as black as the E-shop games and these aren't even DSI enhanced.
     
  5. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hate to bump, also wanna know if I'm alone in my thinking?
     
  6. ShinyLatios

    Member ShinyLatios Local "That Guy"

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,051
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, eShop games that aren't enhanced will still run in DSimode if they are originally from DSi shop. they weren't available on non-DSi.
     
  7. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone make a mod to blacken it plz
     
  8. sergster1

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    The 3DS isnt even hacked yet and you demand a mod to fix a SMALL color issue? Seriously? You realize that the border is firmware based and we are a long ways from accessing it. Look at the DSi tbh youre gonna just need to get over it.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. serenade.63

    Member serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    419
    Country:
    United States
    Try a legit DS cartridge, my money says that you'll get the same issue.
     
  10. Dionysus
    OP

    Member Dionysus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry guys, It's my eyes playing up again. The border is indeed the same colour, many apologises for wasting your time.
     
  11. Janthran

    Member Janthran Solarian

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,777
    Location:
    The Pacific Northwet
    Country:
    United States
    1. Get black construction paper.
    2. Cut out square the same size as the screen.
    3. Place on the screen.
    ALTERNATE
    Just freaking deal with it, it's not really a problem.

    EDIT: >_>
     
  12. TheZander

    Member TheZander Keeping It Real

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    Look through the super card code for the hash tag color : #0ff0f0 and change it to #000000 and it should be black then
     
  13. servant

    Member servant GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    is it possible to have the supercard try to stretch the screen to the size of a 3ds screen.
    say like if you attempted stretch the image having the card ignore the fact that the screen is too small to fit the image and utilize its full capacity, like zooming in on a image from a phone. Would this also require the 3ds to be hacked?
    Emulators can do it and I can't see why it would be able to send a expanded image to a screen without the need of a hack.
     
  14. KvinMoreaux

    Newcomer KvinMoreaux Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    France
    Because screen size is fixed in the firmware, to change it you need to edit the firmware, it's not just a setting. The firmware is encrypted so you need to know the key used by nintendo, decrypt it edit the screen size, encrypt it again and flash you custom firmware...

    It's not an easy task.
     
  15. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    No. 3DS AIN'T HACKED
    If you want the blackest of black borders use level 1 brightness
     

Share This Page