Final Fantasy VII/Popsloader on 5.50 GEN-D2?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by TheWave, Nov 30, 2009.

Nov 30, 2009
  1. TheWave
    OP

    Newcomer TheWave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So I tried to get FF VII working on my psp with cfw 5.50 GEN-D2. First it was without popsloader, and it simply didn't work. It freezes after the first text of psp-psx converting and neing able to play on psp and such of sony.
    After that I tried various popsloaders, and all seems to be not working, I get the same effect.

    So either I have a faulty eboot or the wrong popsloader. So yeah, what am I (probably) doing wrong and where is the right popsloader I need?
     
  2. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    one thing to bare in mind is that as far as I know, the GEN cfw has never been as PSX compatible as the m33 cfw and FFVII may be just one of those games that won't work on GEN this is even with Pops
     
  3. TheWave
    OP

    Newcomer TheWave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Damn, so I won't be able to play FFVII on my psp? Now that sucks hard.....
     
  4. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I never said you wont be able to I just said it might be one of those games I wouldn't know for sure as I don't run GEN I run 5.00 m33-6 which means I have to decrypt the newer PSP games but thats cool with me and it means I get to keep playing my PSX games aswell. I suggest you check out

    http://www.gamerspress.com/index.php?title...tibility_List#D

    for the compatability list (most of which is based around m33 firmware) but you may find that a particular pops version will help you out

    try pops 3.72 and see if that fixes your problem
     
  5. -aXe-

    Newcomer -aXe- Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    I play FFVII almost every day on GEN-D2. Use 3.71 pops and it'll play fine.
     
  6. TheWave
    OP

    Newcomer TheWave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It crashes on pops 3.71/3.72 too.....
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think i just kept swapping pops every time it crashed. It did the trick
     
  8. -aXe-

    Newcomer -aXe- Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried any other games? 3.71 has run 100% of the games I've tried. Not sure why it's not working for you. I'll look around.
     
  9. Ryufushichou

    Member Ryufushichou I'm Not British, I'm Just Gay!

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Raimon Junior High
    Country:
    Australia
    i used Zinga Burga's Popstation to convert mine and it worked fine without pops on 5.50 genD-2

    what program are you using to convert?

    also could be a bad ISO, and im fairly sure FF7 needed an AP patch, mine did.

    - VV

    Edit: No it doesnt need a patch i was thinking of FFVIII when i remembered patching.
     
  10. TheWave
    OP

    Newcomer TheWave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't have other PSX games. I downloaded the FFVII as an eboot file, so that I didn't needed to convert it.

    I will try the other pops when I get home.....
     
  11. Teny

    Member Teny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United States
    That might be your problem, the best way to get it working is if you dumped the game yourself.
    You can try the PSN version of the game, I heard it doesn't require POPS.
     
  12. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    isn't it only out in Japan though...
    Thought this was FF8, sorry [​IMG]
     
  13. TheWave
    OP

    Newcomer TheWave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hoozay, I got it working! Turns out I accidentally used the popsloader for M33 all the time. >_________>

    Oh well, thanks for your help anyway guys!
     

Share This Page