Hacking Question File Corruption on eMMC

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,951
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,001
Country
United States
My switch has been really finicky for a long time. It would randomly freeze on boot and when waking from sleep. Recently it would no longer boot eMMC at all, always freezes. My emuMMC still boots though. I made a new emuMMC and this one also wont boot. I read somewhere that there could be an issue with switches and their wifi chips. deleting all wifi settings seems to fix it for these people. My eMMC has wifi settings, emuMMC doesn't. So I think this might be it. So I attempted to use HacDiskMount to copy over my emummc wifi settings to emmc. When I opened the System partition I found file corruption on my eMMC. https://i.imgur.com/zGOEu4p.png Its also on my emuMMC. I checked a really old eMMC backup from when I first got the switch and its not there.

Is there anything I can do to repair my eMMC that wont get flagged/detected by Nintendo?
 

Slim45

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
154
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
864
Country
United Kingdom
use the old backup to flash ure switch then update to lastest fw, then make a new "clean"backup
then make new emummc should be ok
 

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,951
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,001
Country
United States
use the old backup to flash ure switch then update to lastest fw, then make a new "clean"backup
then make new emummc should be ok

Switch is currently on 8.1.0, backup was from like 2.X.X. So I have burned fuses. I guess I need to use hekate to run eMMC stock to bypass fuses? or would I use ChoiDujourNX to update back to 8.1.0?
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,130
Trophies
3
Location
Space
XP
11,473
Country
Norway
use the old backup to flash ure switch then update to lastest fw, then make a new "clean"backup
then make new emummc should be ok
That will mean the logs won't match what is on Nintendo's servers which is grounds for a ban.
The old backup is of no use as far as keeping the Switch legit goes if he has been online since.
 

Slim45

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2018
Messages
154
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
864
Country
United Kingdom
use the old backup via hekate, then boot stock via hekate, then update to latest fw via official updater ......officially. if u use choi...nx might leave traces of cfw.
my advice to get a completely new clean backup is use the 1st option. I did the same thing as well. updated via old backup and updating via official downloader.
AFAIK the ban for mispatched logs or firmware version is for multiple violations, I guess thats why I havent been banned yet, I have 2 switches thats why im not that worried.up to you.
 

KazoWAR

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
1,951
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
Winter Haven
XP
2,001
Country
United States
use the old backup via hekate, then boot stock via hekate, then update to latest fw via official updater ......officially. if u use choi...nx might leave traces of cfw.
my advice to get a completely new clean backup is use the 1st option. I did the same thing as well. updated via old backup and updating via official downloader.
AFAIK the ban for mispatched logs or firmware version is for multiple violations, I guess thats why I havent been banned yet, I have 2 switches thats why im not that worried.up to you.
I will try it out, I am planning on just getting a new switch anyways. if this one gets banned oh well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Slim45
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://youtu.be/bcwkMfoUATc No more SteamDeck waits