1. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    Hi everybody,

    I received my Omega today. After a big fear (it was impossible to remove it from my GBA SP), I removed the back part and now it fits well. I have another problem : I can't see any game in the SD browser. My SD is a 16 Gb formatted with SD_CardFormatter, the games are unzipped (.gba, .gbc, .gb and .nes) and are in folders (GamesGBA, GamesGBC, etc.). The Omega has the last kernel (1.01) and last firmware (3.0).

    I thought the Omega could run any game, did I miss something ?

    Thanx for your help
     
  2. qqq1

    qqq1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    United States
    Don't you have to use a program to properly load them on the SD card?

    *Oh, I guess you don't need that. I've only used my IV.
     
    Last edited by qqq1, Apr 18, 2018
  3. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    China
    because you removed the back plate
    please use the card with case assembled completely
     
  4. Dimensional

    Dimensional GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any chances the user also got the Reform case?
     
  5. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    Yeah sure, must be that :) I unzipped all the GBC/GB/Nes games I had and the Omega sees a few one, but not all.

    As I could see on other topics, I had the new case. But even with it, the complete case remains stuck in the GBA SP, I have to pull it hard to remove it, and it goes out with the back plate "unplugged" from the front plate.
     
  6. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    China
    can you provide screen shots of the files on the SD card in windows and the files in the game console display.
     
  7. Tomy Sakazaki

    Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    Brazil
    I dunno if it's the case with Omega kernel but most flashcards doesn't like some things:
    - More than 1 directory level (instead of GBA\A-F, GBA\G-H, try GBA_AF, GBA_GH in the root)
    - Long names, counting with all directories names, try to shorten the name of files that aren't being shown.
     
  8. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    I have one subfolder per console, all the games in each. Some filename are indeed a little long.

    Here are some screeshots from what I have in Windows and on the Omega :

    GB Games on Windows : OmegaGB.PNG
    GBA Games on Windows : OmegaGBA.PNG
    GBC Games on Windows : OmegaGBC.PNG
    Nes Games on Windows : OmegaNes.PNG

    Main menu on Omega : IMG_20180418_162638648.jpg
    GB Games on Omega : IMG_20180418_162656334.jpg
    GBA Games on Omega : IMG_20180418_162706436.jpg
    GBC Games on Omega : IMG_20180418_162714696.jpg
    Nes Games on Omega : IMG_20180418_162725426.jpg
     
  9. EZ-Flash2

    EZ-Flash2 Official EZ-FLASH Stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    China
    I have some suggestions
    1. go EZ-FLASH OMEGA test flight and upgrade to 1.02T2
    2. format the SD card with exFAT and 32KB allocation unit size.
    3. copy the file again. try to remove the non-character symbol in the filename. such as exclamation mark,brackets

    Although it seems very troublesome, but please give it a try.


    forgot one thing, the folder must not contain more than 512 files. try 100 files per folder.
     
    Last edited by EZ-Flash2, Apr 18, 2018 - Reason: additional info
  10. kuwanger

    kuwanger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,510
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure all the files have the archive bit set. Make sure all the folders have the archive bit clear. You can select all files in a folder and set attributes at once.
     
    EZ-Flash2 likes this.
  11. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    Well I found the reason, but I can't explain why this problem occured.

    When I was unzipping the archives, I did it from my harddrive directly on the SD card, with 7Zip. There most of the files didn't appear on the Omega.
    If I extract the archives first on the harddrive and then copy the extracted files on the SD card, the file do appear on the Omega.

    So my problem is solved, but it was a piece of luck to find the solution...

    Thanks to all of you who gave some things to try :)

    Edit : I can't find how to change the title of the topic to mark it solved.
     
    Last edited by zewindsor, Apr 18, 2018
  12. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Germany
    maybe OS caching screwed things up. Do you use the eject function of windows to eject the sd card before you pull it out?
     
    migles likes this.
  13. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    Yes, always.
     
  14. kuwanger

    kuwanger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,510
    Country:
    United States
    @zewindsor - Any chance you could do a screenshot of 7zip of one file which didn't appear and another screenshot of 7zip of one file that did making sure to include the Attributes Column for both?
     
  15. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    You want a screenshot of the archive with its attributes ?
     
  16. kuwanger

    kuwanger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,510
    Country:
    United States
    Yea, both one that was visible and one that was invisible.
     
  17. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    One game which didn't appear :
    OmegaKO.PNG

    I also looked with "attrib" in command prompt, it has only "A"

    And one game which appeared :
    OmegaOK.PNG

    which has also "A" with "attrib" in command prompt.

    They are identical. The extracted files directly on SD card have also these attribs.
     
  18. kuwanger

    kuwanger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,510
    Country:
    United States
    @zewindsor - Thanks for the information. It now leaves me with more confusion on why some files show up and some don't. :/ It you do figure out the root cause some time, could you let me know? The workaround is great to know, but knowing why the workaround works.. :)
     
  19. zewindsor

    OP zewindsor Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    France
    @kuwanger I tried to unzip with Winrar and not 7Zip, it did the same. Anyway, if I have any explanation, I'll post it here.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - doesnt, Flash, Omega