EZ Flash 3 in 1 GBA save trouble

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by john.jingle, Oct 16, 2008.

Oct 16, 2008
  1. john.jingle
    OP

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously, I've been trying to figure out how to use this thing.
    Is there a tutorial on how to use it?

    Whenever I save ingame and decide to stop playing, I would turn off my DS, go back to GBAExploader and then save that new SRAM (or whatever its called).
    However... some for Megaman & Bass, it won't allow me to save even though I saved over the old save file and checked the file on my computer to see if it exist.

    So anyways, my main objective is to find a tutorial on how to use this. If one doesn't exist, do you mind sparing a couple of minutes explaining to me how it works? Thanks.
     
  2. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    There are so many variables involved in this, so considering what information you have provided, I'll try to address a couple of possible solutions.

    1. First, make sure your ROM is clean. Check the CRC (EEA68C2E for North America, 01B4D95E for Europe). If you don't know how to find this, try GBA Tool Advance v.0.7. Either way, there seems to be no notable mention of any issues with this game that I can find.

    2. Make certain you are setting GBAExpLoader up properly. I don't believe this is a direct issue with your 3-in-1 hardware. Take a look at this wiki entry for a how-to guide.
     
  3. john.jingle
    OP

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I think I know what the problem is now.

    I need untrimmed roms...
    Everything is working well including the Beta GBA Support from Cyclods

    EDIT: Damn it all.

    OK, so now I got M&B to work but Mario&Luigi SSS doesnt work...
    Are there some games that the GBAExploader 0.57 just unable to emulate completely?
    Right now it seems that maybe GBAEx0.57 isn't very compatible with games with 16MB or higher (Mother3 save doesnt work either)
     
  4. john.jingle
    OP

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Well, GBAExploader 0.57 is giving more trouble that it's worth

    Is there a list of games that don't save properly on this thing? I mean, I haven't gotten M&L:SSS, Minish Cap or Mother 3 to save properly...

    There is another thing bothering me. There were times when I boot up GBAExploader from the CycloDS and then it doesn't even list the GBA games or any folders. The only way for me to remedy that was to boot up a GBA from the CycloDS, shut it off, then boot up GBAExploader again. Could this be one reason why I can't save properly for some games?
     
  5. john.jingle
    OP

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    BUMP

    Do games 16mb and up all have problems with saving? Minish Cap, M&L:SSS, and Mother 3 have all given me problems... So sad.
     
  6. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, you have a CycloDS?! Update to v1.5 beta 4, as GBA Support is out of beta. One game doesn't save properly and will be fixed in the next update. It's Kingdom Hearts for the record. Just use the CycloDS GUI to run GBA games. You'll have to send games sized at 32MB over to the 3-in-1 via NOR (it will prompt you). See if that clears up your problems. If it doesn't and both CycloDS GUI and GBA ExpLoader fail...then it's not good.
     
  7. john.jingle
    OP

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using both CycloDS and GBAExploader to load those games and they were unable to save properly.

    From what I've been reading, the reason why some games fail to save is because of their save file type, EEPROM. So do I use GBATA to patch it? I've done it already so I'm going to check it out...
    Does having a save file of, say... Flash also need to be SRAM patched?
     
  8. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Which games exactly? Include their region.
     
  9. john.jingle
    OP

    Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United States
    Well I've patched a lot of games already...

    EEPROM
    M&L: SSS (E)
    Minish Cap (U)
    Donkey Kong Country (E)
    Donkey Kong Country 2 (E)
    Donkey Kong Country 3 (U)
    Megaman & Bass (U)
    Yoshi's Island

    Flash
    Golden Sun (UE)
    Mother 3 (J)

    I haven't tested all of them yet...
     
  10. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    What I meant was list each game that is not saving/operating properly. That way, others can see this and comment on their experiences and perhaps provide a solution that neither of us are aware of.
     
  11. Ohji

    Newcomer Ohji Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Try patching them with GBATA's SRAM patcher.

    I know Mario and Luigi didn't save until I patched it, nor did Minish Cap.

    I patch all my games just in case now, so I don't have to worry about it later.
     

Share This Page