External HDD for use with Wii and JTAG'd 360

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by DarkWay, Nov 2, 2010.

Nov 2, 2010
  1. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey hi Tempers!

    So my "problem" or question really, I'm looking to buy an external HDD for use with my Wii and 360 (which WILL be JTAG'd eventually) I've found 3 portables that I like the look of and are pretty cheap (I think) what I need are your opinians on the drives and whether or not they will work well with both the Wii and 360.

    So link time [​IMG]

    Seagate Expansion 500GB Portable Hard Drive

    WD Elements Portable Hard Drive - 500GB Black

    Buffalo MiniStation Lite 500GB Portable Hard Drive with TurboPC Hi-Speed USB - Retail Red


    My personal preference, I like the Buffalo. Any advic eyou guys/gals can give is appreciated!

    Also I put this here because it's for use with the Wii AND 360 and I doubt I could post it in both sections and get away unscathed however this may backfire if the people with the knowledge don't check this area much [​IMG]
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A little on the small side for 2 consoles. No idea about the Wii, but the X360 needs the drive to be FAT32.

    If it must be a 2.5" bus powered drive, get this one http://www.scan.co.uk/products/1tb-verbati...s-powered-black

    Not much point though, you may as well just shove the drive into the X360's caddy. On a JTAG, you aren't limited to MS Drives.
     
  3. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can get away with FAT32 on the Wii aswell (I think) if not I'm sure a partition would work out.
    As for them being small? I don't think they are, I don't really play many Wii games so I don't have a need for that side to be huge and as for 360 it'll most likely be the single player only games and I'm sure there won't be hundreds of those that I want to play xD

    The other thing really is price I don't want to spend a whole lot more than £50 I mean I have found HDD's that are like 1TB for around £50 but they're not powered via USB, would one of those work on a 360/Wii?
    Some Examples:

    Fujitsu Storagebird 1TB External Hard Drive Hi Speed USB

    Seagate 1TB External desktop Hard Drive Hi Speed USB
     
  4. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I own iOmega 500GB (Price was about £50 in store when I got it) and it's not powered by USB and it works perfectly fine on Wii's.

    Not suggesting, just telling you it works if it's not powered that way :3
     
  5. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i currently have a lacie petite 320 gb external harddrive on my xbox, don't like it since dlc and stuff won't work so i'm saving up for a 500 gb harddrive, and i have already ordered a xbox harddrive case
    also some older games won't save properly.. or act stupid :\
     
  6. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why won't the DLC work? and is a 360 HDD case essential?
     
  7. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    don't know exactly... God containers also won't work so you have to extract the games.
    there are also some cable converters i think. but the case is on dealextreme like 9 dollars so i rather have that then to have a loose laptop harddrive next to my xbox [​IMG]
     
  8. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well if it's not essential I won't bother with a 360 HDD case [​IMG] ....wait I won't botherwith one away because I'll be using on my Wii aswell [​IMG]

    edit: anymore advice is still appreciated
     
  9. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All DLC has to be run from the internal drive, that's where games will look for it. If you want XBLA/ GOD to appear in NXE (without creating a quickboot for every single one) they too need to be on the internal drive. XBLA/ GOD/ Rips can be stored on an external drive if you are fine with them just showing up in XeXMenu/ FSD and not NXE.
     
  10. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    -_- What's a GOD rip in 360 terms?

    I don't mind if I have to run things from a different menu other than the nxe menu.
     
  11. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Game On Demand. A full retail game downloaded from XBOX Live, ISO image coverted using ISO2GOD, or a retail disc installed through NXE to the HDD and then run through NXE2GOD so it no longer needs the disc inserted to launch.
     
  12. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahh okay, and these are runnable from an external via XeXmenu or FSD?

    Apart from that all I need to know now is whether one of those 2 1TB standalone drives will work on the 360?
     
  13. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All except DLC, yes. You need to create a "Games" directory and place the games in there. FSD2 will need to be manually configure to look in that directory, XeXMenu shouldn't. Any FAT32 drive will work for those purposes, inlcuding 1TB drives. The 4GB file size limit isn't an issue.
     
  14. DarkWay
    OP

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So DLC cannot be loaded from an external HDD? (just getting this completely clear)
    If not it probably really doesn't matter for single player games anyway.
     

Share This Page