Hacking Emunand worth it?

spookyboogie

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
205
Country
United States
Im at sysnand 9.2 and I've got a gateway. I'm pretty happy with just running games of the cart, but i'm wondering if I am really missing out with emunand? I think the big thing is I'm a little worried about something going wrong with emunand. I've got kind of a "if its not broken dont fix it" mentality with this but wanna know if its worth doing?
 

TheDutchman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
118
Trophies
0
XP
314
Country
Netherlands
absolutely worth it.
With Emunand you can have (custom) "paid" themes, and you can install game DLC / updates without using eShop
you can also backup the emuNAND just in case.

Got my gateway today and got everything set up, just installed some games as .CIA works perfectly

just word of warning if you want to set up emunand backup your SD files first since that will format the card/
follow the guide over at maxconsole and you will be fine
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
Emunand is needed so that you can STILL use the gateway card while on the latest firmware. The latest version is needed in order to get to the eshop and to play online.
 

FearItSelf23

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
171
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
348
Country
United States
Emunand is needed so that you can STILL use the gateway card while on the latest firmware. The latest version is needed in order to get to the eshop and to play online.

The latest FW is not needed to play games online. I play smash bros online all the time on 9.2. You just have to enable wireless after launching the game.
 

NicEXE

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2009
Messages
411
Trophies
0
XP
691
Country
Cyprus
The latest FW is not needed to play games online. I play smash bros online all the time on 9.2. You just have to enable wireless after launching the game.
You still need to be on the latest firmware to fetch the needed game-related updates to be able to play online (I guess you can install the updates from dev-menu but you will eventually need a newer firmware as future games will require it)
 

Uncle_Iroh

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 31, 2014
Messages
90
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
151
Country
United States
absolutely worth it.
With Emunand you can have (custom) "paid" themes, and you can install game DLC / updates without using eShop
you can also backup the emuNAND just in case.

Got my gateway today and got everything set up, just installed some games as .CIA works perfectly

just word of warning if you want to set up emunand backup your SD files first since that will format the card/
follow the guide over at maxconsole and you will be fine

Could you link to the guide?
 

Neath

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
88
Trophies
0
Location
Canada
XP
291
Country
Canada
absolutely worth it.
With Emunand you can have (custom) "paid" themes, and you can install game DLC / updates without using eShop
you can also backup the emuNAND just in case.

Got my gateway today and got everything set up, just installed some games as .CIA works perfectly

just word of warning if you want to set up emunand backup your SD files first since that will format the card/
follow the guide over at maxconsole and you will be fine

How can I install .CIA files? DevMenu or the blue launcher? Is there a .cia guide?? So confused about it
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
sonyUSA made a most excellent guide on the "other " forum. We can't link to it here.

Read the faq at the top of this sub and check out the tutorials in the tutorials section above this sub.

There are cia guides here and I the tutorials section. You will need to google for the dev tools and bigbluemenu as we can't link to them from here.

If you are new to all this I suggest waiting on cia installations until you are up to speed.
 

LinkmstrYT

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2013
Messages
1,732
Trophies
1
Location
You wanted to see where I live? You stalker...
XP
2,897
Country
United States
Nothing to be brave about. It is completely safe, since it doesn't touch your SysNAND. Just make sure you back up your SD card (big) first.

Technically, it does touch the sysNAND since it's copying it over to the big SD card in a separate partition, but that's what I think.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: We aren't bodies we're robots