DX 10.1

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by fischju, Jun 25, 2008.

Jun 25, 2008

DX 10.1 by fischju at 10:49 PM (1,115 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    DX 10.1 was enabled with Assassin's Creed, but they removed it in a later patch. You can see it clearly and greatly improves performance compared to DX 10 Crysis (The Nvidia cards do not have DX 10.1)

    [​IMG]

    Oh, this thread also shows that the 4870 is a great card
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    all I have to say is owned

    $650 nivida card vs. $300 ati card that has almost equal performance to the nvidia card

    I lul'd
     
  3. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    The 4870 owns the GTX 280 if the game has DX 10.1 enabled
     
  4. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, this sucks. They remove DX 10.1 because its bad for business even though it almost doubles performance.
    That just really sucks.
     
  5. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    The 4870 has heating issues that can kill gaming performance.

    Therefor, it is not a good card, not matter how good it is when not blowing itself up.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    ?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. fischju
    OP

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    I've read that the problem is the fan - it is very small, and doesn't go to 100% when needed - if you use a program to manually adjust fan speed, it is fine.
     
  8. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    The fact that the HD 3000 series had problems on nVidia motherboards still scares me from buying the new ones.
     

Share This Page