DSi XL and the SD card.

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by MrWily, Dec 30, 2010.

Dec 30, 2010

DSi XL and the SD card. by MrWily at 6:55 PM (10,021 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. MrWily
    OP

    Newcomer MrWily Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry if this question has been asked before, but I couldn't find the answer anywhere...

    I just bought a DSi XL, upgraded from a well played DS Lite, and I'm new to the SD card slot. I was wondering if it was possible to run games(.nds roms) straight through the memory slot instead of buying a new flashcard?

    I was thinking of buying a iSmart card...
     
  2. 777kidis777

    Member 777kidis777 Big Red

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    To answer your question: it does run the ROMs directly off the DSi memory card slot, so you need a DSi flashcart. Best for that is either iSmart MM DS or the DSTWO.
     
  3. MrWily
    OP

    Newcomer MrWily Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Sweden
    Maybe I was being vague, but what I'm wondering is if you can run the Wood software (or somthing similar) that I was running on my R4 for the DS lite, on a normal SD memory card and play the games without having to buy a iSmart or DSTWO flashcart?

    I'm just trying to be cheap and practical with my piracy. [​IMG]
     
  4. Arithmatics

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Call me when this happens.

    The DSi will only read picture and mp3 data from your sd card. Since most flashcarts don't support DSimode yet even without support you would need a slot-1 flashcart to run anything.

    Its like putting an sd card with wii isos. and trying to run them from the disk channel. assuming you didn't softmod your wii.
     
  5. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    if you have fist revision R4 revolution , she don't work with dsi
    on normal sd memory now hack is not work
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot run games from the SD slot.
    There is no soft mod.
    A flash cart cannot access the SD slot.

    The SD slot is of no use to homebrew or piracy at all in any way right now.

    I mean FUCK, you're going to pirate a bunch of games anyways, just buy a DSTwo, it's less than the price of a single game.
     
  7. rave420

    Member rave420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    Canada

    last time i checked it could only read AAC files that were encoded meeting a certian standard, and picture files need to be written by your NDS in order to be read by it.
    In other words, nintendo made it really hard to do anything good without a flashcard.

    I own a NDSi and run all games with an R4 clone. So far i haven't had a single problem. but then again, my r4 clone runs AKAIO, which is kind of weird.

    The problem is that once you load a game (or the processor initializes the hardware) you can no longer access your camera, SD card etc. unless you are in DSi mode (hence, the waiting for a card that supports this). Either way, you have to boot a flashcard in order to be able to load any roms. And once the flashcard is booted, you can no longer access your SD card. Hence the cards come with their own microSD chip.

    and no, you absolutley cannot load comercial roms unless you own a flashcard. I suggest you do a lot of reading before you go buy one.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If it's AKAIO 1.5, that version was cracked.

    If it's 1.8.1, the AKAIO team made a specific build for other carts for them to use while they got their own menus coded, they will not be getting updates to AKAIO.
     
  9. Vulpes Abnocto

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,600
    Country:
    United States

    I beg your pardon?
    The question was whether or not commercial ROMs can be run from the SD card slot,
    and NO at this moment they cannot be.

    Try not to go providing false information.

    "As far as I'm concerned" if you don't know what you're talking about, don't say anything at all
     
  10. MrWily
    OP

    Newcomer MrWily Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thank you for all the answers, so it's just a matter of time before we'll be able to boot the DSi menu from a flashcard?

    That's exactly why I want to run things from a simple SD card, so that I don't miss out on the DSi menu with all my DSi ware, camera etc. I just want everything in the same place. I don't remember ever going into the main menu while running my R4 on the ds lite, not that there was any reason to on that model, but still for convenience it would be nice to have the best of two worlds. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page