DSi Mode

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Nasedase, Apr 15, 2010.

Apr 15, 2010

DSi Mode by Nasedase at 10:26 PM (2,029 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Nasedase
    OP

    Newcomer Nasedase Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Can you play games that use DSi features from a Flashcart yet?

    I have an M3i Zero.
     
  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
  3. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If anything changes you'll know about it.
     
  4. GolenSun550

    Member GolenSun550 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    far away from you
    Country:
    United States
  5. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    All Ya can NOW withe wood 1.05 & R4

    EDIT: Wron post position. Sorry.
     
  6. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    uhm... what?

    I suppose what you mean is "yes" but nope.
     
  7. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    We don't all speak Shakespeare buddy.
     
  8. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well I know someone who is working on a dsi exploit but no one except me believes him!



    CRAP POST NO. 1000!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. Crazy-S

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    why couldnt we use the enhanced Ram of the Iplayer to play in DSi mode?
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because more RAM ? DSi mode.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  11. Crazy-S

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    sure U R right but now look at Korg DS 10 Plus it just uses the Extra Ram why couldnt we manage that this rom is taking the ram from the Cart and not from the DSi itself?
     
  12. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Feel free to get coding and post a solution if it's that easy.
     
  13. Crazy-S

    Member Crazy-S GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    http://gbatemp.net
    Country:
    Germany
    i didnt say that its so easy but there are plenty of coders saying they work on the DSi mode but there are no signs if there really working on it and that makes me angry
    so where are you coders?
     
  14. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not their responsibility to tell everyone everything they try. If they don't make any progress worth reporting, they don't have to.
     
  15. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,767
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States

    Check Hackmii.com for updates may soon be one, btw congrats on 1,000 post.
     
  16. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Just to let you know (Crazy-S), DSi Mode also has WPA, WPA2, WPS, and Wireless G support, along with access to the internal memory and SD card slot.
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I present to you: "DSi Encryption Put In Perspective", also known as "I Love Crushing People's Dreams".

    The DSi uses 128-bit encryption (IIRC).
    How do you break it? You find the correct encryption key.

    How many encryption keys are there? 2 (binary, a bit) to the 128th power (number of bits).
    That's so many that the calculator that comes with windows (at least XP) can't even display the number without reverting to scientific notation.

    64-bit? 18,889,465,931,478,580,854,784 keys.
    70-bit? 1,208,925,819,614,629,174,706,176 keys.
    86-bit? 79,228,162,514,264,337,593,543,950,336 keys.
    Add a bit and you double the previous number, it's called "exponential" growth.

    128-bits is...
    340,282,366,920,938,463,463,374,607,431,768,211,456 possible keys.

    The actual number is a bit less less since a key will be a certain number of digits and be designed to not have repeating segments, but this puts it in perspective.

    Even if I remember incorrectly and DSi uses 64-bit encryption, that's still a god-awful number (18 sextillion, I think the name is) of possible keys to try.

    Let's say that you have a computer program which can try 50,000 keys a second.
    That's 3,000,000 keys a minute.
    180,000,000 keys in an hour.
    4,320,000,000 keys a day.
    1,576,800,000,000 keys in one year.

    It would take 215,805,661,416,120,283,779,410,583 years to try all the keys at that speed.

    So wait, how do they break other systems? If you can get a direct copy of the encrypted data and compare it to a copy of the unencrypted data (as well as view the data as it's transmitted around the DSi's internals), that goes a long way towards figuring out the key without having to try all possible combinations. You'll be able to find the key without all the guessing! The problem is you'd need to take a DSi apart and fuck with it's insides while it's on to try to get a copy of the data while it's unencrypted (since the DSi will unencrypt what it needs on the fly in order to use it), and usually when you're done with that the DSi's pretty broken and in no shape to game, or even to be experimented on a second time...
    [​IMG]

    This process can be hampered by the internal design of the system, so you may need to take apart many systems before you even figure out how to read some of the data, let alone get a full copy of it, and last I checked DSi's don't cost $5...

    EDIT: Updated the math to be more precise.
     
  18. WarazX

    Banned WarazX Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Im sure there will be a big announcement if there was tobe a change to this.
     
  19. Shinintendo

    Member Shinintendo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    Israel
    Rydian Explained it the best :X It's crazy!
    Hopefully ppl working on it and making some progress, I own a DSI and wish to use the DSI features...
     

Share This Page