Homebrew DSi LL + iPlayer + GBA Emu

Bonny

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
820
Trophies
1
Location
Bavaria
XP
2,044
Country
Germany
If i'am up-to-date, there is just one GBA Emulator available and this one only works on the iPlayer, right?
lecture.gif


I guess this Emulator only runs slow (with sound?) and only with frameskip.

Does anyone know if this emulator can stretch or enlarge the GBA Screen to the full dimensions of the NDS Screen? Or even to the dimensions of the DSi LL Screen?
 

lolzed

The GBAtemp Pichu
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,466
Trophies
0
Age
12
Location
There
Website
Visit site
XP
304
Country
Bonny said:
If i'am up-to-date, there is just one GBA Emulator available and this one only works on the iPlayer, right?
lecture.gif


I guess this Emulator only runs slow (with sound?) and only with frameskip.

Does anyone know if this emulator can stretch or enlarge the GBA Screen to the full dimensions of the NDS Screen? Or even to the dimensions of the DSi LL Screen?
it should.the DS is smaller than DSi,so it's easier to scale.DSi LL scales DS/DSi games,so it should run fine too
 

Bonny

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
820
Trophies
1
Location
Bavaria
XP
2,044
Country
Germany
Well... *smarter now*

@ lolzed: You really mean it could be possible to play GBA Games using the whole DSi LL Screen, without black boarders or anything like that? - Would be great!

Does anyone of you think, this Emu will be iPlayer exclusiv forever or other manufactures will follow, adding the "Extra-Hardware"... maybe Supercard TWO?
 

lolzed

The GBAtemp Pichu
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,466
Trophies
0
Age
12
Location
There
Website
Visit site
XP
304
Country
Bonny said:
Well... *smarter now*

@ lolzed: You really mean it could be possible to play GBA Games using the whole DSi LL Screen, without black boarders or anything like that? - Would be great!

Does anyone of you think, this Emu will be iPlayer exclusiv forever or other manufactures will follow, adding the "Extra-Hardware"... maybe Supercard TWO?
yes.I am 99% sure it will go on full screen not pixelated.If it was then DS games would be crappy on it.
 

Bonny

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
820
Trophies
1
Location
Bavaria
XP
2,044
Country
Germany
OK.

But... do you mean with 99%, it is possible to realize it -OR- the current release of the Emu already supports this?!

On a video i saw Mario Kart GBA runnig on a DS Lite WITH Black Boarders. And if it is so easy to scale... why was it never possible to use the whole DS, DSLite Screen with original GBA Carts?
wacko.gif
 

lolzed

The GBAtemp Pichu
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
2,466
Trophies
0
Age
12
Location
There
Website
Visit site
XP
304
Country
Bonny said:
OK.

But... do you mean with 99%, it is possible to realize it -OR- the current release of the Emu already supports this?!

On a video i saw Mario Kart GBA runnig on a DS Lite WITH Black Boarders. And if it is so easy to scale... why was it never possible to use the whole DS, DSLite Screen with original GBA Carts?
wacko.gif
built in DSi LL.since the screens were bigger and games used to run in small screens,its only natural to make a driver/watever you call it to make it nice looking right?or would you like to play a game pixelated were you cant understand a thing?or did Ninty make a scam for people who wanted bigger screens for gaming so they would have big screens but still small games?
smileipb2.png
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,444
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
Georgia
XP
696
Country
United States
Regular GBA games can't use the extra resolution because they have no idea that the extra screen space is even there. Remember that when running GBA cartridges, you're essentially running the game on a GBA built into the console. Any DS-specific features are shut off entirely, including the extra screen space. Note that there is a slight quirk in that if you set a specific bit of memory in DS mode first, you can place a border on the screen before launching a GBA game, and it will show for as long as the DS is powered on, but it's a purely static image, and the GBA file can't access that memory once it's been loaded.

When emulating a console, of course you gain the ability to do things with the video output, such as scaling the screen to fit the host console's full resolution. To be perfectly honest I have no idea if the current GBA emulator for the iPlayer does this on its own. However, I would imagine that it would look pretty bad if it tried to do that. Think about it - you're only gaining an extra 8 pixels on either side, and 16 pixels on both the top and bottom. Scaling at that point would just mean doubling a very small number of rows and columns to fill the empty space, and it would look pixelly and jagged. You could probably apply some sort of filtering to make it less jagged (at the cost of speed, since any filtering will take up some CPU power), but it still probably wouldn't look too good.

The DSi LL wouldn't change anything about this issue. The screens are larger, yes, but this is accomplished by having physically larger pixels. It still has the same resolution of 256x192 pixels per screen, so scaling up from the GBA's 240x160 screen would still be slightly awkward.
 

sfg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2009
Messages
299
Trophies
0
XP
131
Country
United States
Yeah, this "Nintendo will do it" is pretty funny.
No, they'll not do anything about GBA games because they have no reason to. GBA games are not supported by the DSi LL.
If the DS games are scaled to look good has nothing to do with GBA games which would run into an emulator.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That really sucks, even for a rare and expensive laptop.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you can bypass the chip by "tricking it" into thinking the power is clean but that kludge simply didn't work on mine
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I guess I'll just harvest the CPU and RAM one day and transplant it to a similar PIII laptop
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That is, if its compatible.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ugh, bloody children blasting their degenerate music outside
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Happens here also
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yobbos
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    There's this shit genre of music called "grime" and "mumble rap".
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It makes people mentally ill.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    idk what this is but it's horrible
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It sounds it
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Psi has over 800 women on his Facebook now.... Like holy hell women be thirsty
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Why you have so many thirst traps on your FB?
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You wish that you had one in the Metaverse.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    facebook
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    truly an old people website
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    my old MX518 also had the rubbery coating starting to come off, i can never get it back to un-sticky state, the harder i clean it the worse it seems to get, same thing with the wrist rest on my old keyboard too
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I guess that is what happens to 00s electronics.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    my laptop hasn''
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    my ~10 yr laptop hasn't suffered from it though
    +1
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There are ways to sort it but they are unpleasant and expensive. Far easier to do a vinyl wrap/cover in electrical tape.
    +1
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Seems to be a more hot climate thing as well; had several in or come out of Africa with that way before I saw it in Europe
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Can also happen if you leave it in a cold, damp room for years and years.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Can also happen if you leave it in a cold, damp room for years and years.