1. Apache Thunder

    OP Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,270
    Country:
    United States
    I recently discovered that I can get SRLs to boot into DSi mode if I use the right DSi Extended header settings. Initially I needed to provide an existing Arm7i/arm9i binary, but later discovered that they aren't needed. hbmenu works fine with the arm7i/arm9i binary locations pointed to the existing NTR binaries. So they aren't even needed for homebrew to use DSi mode!

    This is the result!



    As you can see hbmenu works just as well as it did from Sudokuhax. Now you don't need to waste time booting up a game like Sudokuhax to use your DS/DSi homebrew!

    While I did do some work figuring out how to boot custome SRLs, all the credit goes to @ahezard for making some changes to the source code of homebrew menu and creating a python script to more easily convert homebrew SRLs to something you can install to home menu. (though your results will vary. Many homebrew use arm7 code/ram entry settings that TWL_FIRM won't let you use directly)


    Download Link:

    https://github.com/ahezard/nds-hb-menu/releases

    Latest release can be found on ahezard's github as well as a pre-compiled version of hbmenu that you can use from the Home Menu!

    Credit also to Steveice10 who did some RE work on the SRL header format which helped me figure things out! :D

    Note that you must have latest nightly build of rxTools or a prepatched TWL_FIRM installed before you can run custom DSiWare. If you see the Error has Occurred message, you do not have a patched TWL_FIRM and need to either use rxTools or get the prepatched CIA to install. Note that if you intend to use this on emunand, you must also install hbmenu (and any other DSiWare) to your sysnand as well before they will work from emunand. Note that patched TWL_FIRM is only needed on emunand if launching from emunand. ;)
     
    Last edited by Apache Thunder, Feb 29, 2016
  2. Luglige

    Luglige hiatus
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,414
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Woh!!!!
     
    Conn0r likes this.
  3. Daggot

    Daggot GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    616
    Country:
    United States
    Nice work you guys. This is some insane progress!
     
  4. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Country:
    Mexico
    Amazing!!!! It still need some rework on the UI but this is pretty amazing!!!
     
  5. Ron

    Ron somehow a weeb now.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    Canada
    Does this work with homebrew that need DLDI?
     
  6. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Country:
    Mexico
    Not sure but What bootstrap does?
    Tried to run nesDS and it stays on whitescreen.
     
  7. HtheB

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So we don't even need a normal DS Flashcard anymore for DS homebrew?
    What about roms?
     
  8. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Country:
    Mexico
    NeoDS is a thing, but it need to be remade with the lastest ndslib.
     
  9. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12,880
    Country:
    United States
    GameYob is confirmed working in sudokuhax, so it may work here as well.
     
  10. MyLegGuy

    MyLegGuy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    651
    Country:
    United States
    How do I install the cia on my sysNAND? I already have it on emuNAND, along with the TWL_FIRM. But FBI is giving me DESCRIPTION_INVALID_SIGNATURE. According to the FBI page, that means that I need something to patch signature checks, such as a cfw. If that's the case, how do I install this onto sysNAND?
     
  11. Arubaro

    Arubaro Soulspace Guardian
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    Minipasta.3dsx
     
    MyLegGuy likes this.
  12. MSearles

    MSearles GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    507
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand all the technical mumbo-jumbo. Can someone please explain what this actually means, why this is important, etc. in layman's terms?
     
  13. AtlasFontaine

    AtlasFontaine GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,095
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Might be possible since there is the source code:https://github.com/Yardape8000/NeoDS :D

    Now we need someone interested in making it tho.
     
    Billy Acuña likes this.
  14. HtheB

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    815
    Country:
    Netherlands
    For emulation you're better off porting it to the 3DS. I was actually talking about NDS roms.
     
  15. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Country:
    Mexico
    Actually NeoDS is by far better than retroarch's Neo Geo core.
     
  16. hacksn5s4

    hacksn5s4 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    does loading demos work
     
  17. Noelemahc

    Noelemahc GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Seconded. This is the most pressing question for using DS homebrew that don't yet have a 3DS port, I think.
     
  18. Apache Thunder

    OP Apache Thunder I have cameras in your head!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,270
    Country:
    United States
    Antonio2311 and Link_of_Hyrule like this.
  19. hacksn5s4

    hacksn5s4 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    does nds gba emulator run because the 3ds ones slow
     
  20. Queno138

    Queno138 Ravens
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,422
    Country:
    Senegal
    On N3DS LL, on RXtools (I think its the beta 3.0), with 10.6 emunand.

    installed bootstrap.cia and the hbmenu.cia

    Running it doesn't show an error,but shows a black screen.

    gonna try using the latest nightly. (hopefully doesn't kil my 10.6)

    edit: I think it's because its not installed on sysnand, silly me.

    edit2: installed on both sysnand and emunand, using 22-feb-2016 nightly build.
    still black screen upon entering hbmenu.
     
    Last edited by Queno138, Feb 29, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Homebrew, directly,