DSi has developed a fault - PLS HELP!

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by wiinoob123, Feb 8, 2012.

Feb 8, 2012
  1. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi guys,

    my kids have been using their dsi consoles perfectly with their supercard dstwo working fine for almost a year. I recently sold one of their dsi consoles with a supercard to someone. But when they tried it at their house, it gave an error: "An error has occured. Press and hold the POWER Button to turn the system off. Please refer to the Operations manual". This happened immediately after they switched it on so she took the supercard out and the system came on.

    When she tried to load the camera, sound and shop (without the DSTWO card in) she got the same error message.

    They all loaded at some point after she kept re-setting the system but understandably she is worried this problem will persist and that the dsi maybe faulty.

    IMPORTANT: Before i gave her the dsi console, I connected to the dsi internet (for the first time!!!), so that i could upload any personal kids photos to facebook....could this be the reason? Could it be that the dsi is blocked? If so, how can i be sure and how do i fix this problem for the supercard?
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,789
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo CANNOT WILL NOT block ANY console for using flash cards, so that isn't your problem. Sounds more like a corrupt system, however I have no idea how that would happen/how to fix it...
     
  3. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for getting back to me pinkie. I really don't know what to do :(
     
  4. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That error message is given when the flashcart hasn't been updated to play on the updated DSI,

    could the DSi been updated by the person who bought it, if so then the DStwo needs to be updated
     
  5. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks eyes...i don't think the person has updated it. However i went online with the dsi just yesterday for the very first time...could this have made it take an update? If so, how do i get her to update the dstwo? Also why is the dsi giving this error, even though the card is taken out?
     
  6. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    By going online would not of updated the DSi, you would of been prompted to update.

    The error is given when the DStwo is taken out, that's a strange 1, haven't come across that before.
     
  7. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    1) Download the latest firmware (v1.13) from DS2's download page
    2) Follow this guide to update: http://forum.superca...d-8832-1-1.html

    After updating successfully, your DSTwo should work on any dsi firmware. As for why it's giving the error without a flashcart, I have no idea.
     
  8. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks very much guys. Just to clarify, this error only occurs with flashcard in and NOT without?


    PS: Its a normal dsi xl and not a 3DS as supercard tutorial is for 3DS
     
  9. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wiinoob, has the DStwo been updated to play on the DSi?, it sounds to me the DStwo needs to be updated to work on it.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    it would be easier if you told us what bootloader update was last applied to the ds2 and what kernel it is running. also what firmware the dsi is running. that way everyone can stop guessing. i'm pretty sure your problem is that the dsi has been updated thus blocking the ds2, so now the ds2 must be updated to circumvent nintendo's attempt at anti-piracy.

    when you went online you would have had to update the firwmare. you can not access the web browser or dsi-ware channel on the dsi without updating. you are most probably running the most current dsi firmware (v1.4.3) and you will need to update your ds2 to accommodate for this.

    -another world
     
  11. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    That tutorial should also work on a dsi.

    The error usually occurs when you try to run an out-dated flashcart. I'm not sure if it's supposed to come up on other occasions.
     
  12. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry I don't know guys what version the dstwo card is running. all i can tell you is that the last time i updated it was about late oct/early nov 2011, so that should give you an idea if it needs updating or not.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    you'll need this: http://down.supercard.cn/download/dstwo/DSTWO_v1.11_0630_eng.zip

    just replace the _dstwo directory and the ds2boot.dat with the files already on the micro sd card currently in the ds2.

    you could also grab the most recent, which will have the same updates and more: http://down.supercard.sc/download/dstwo/Firmware/Firmware_v1.13_eng.zip

    don't panic and tell the person who bought the dsi not to panic. the issue is just with a simple file update and nothing more. =)

    -another world
     
  14. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks another world. I'm gonna try this tomorrow as i'm off to bed.

    Could you please tell me what version is the latest nintendo fw for the dsi?

    Everyone, thanks again...will chat tomorrow.

    Cya!
     
  15. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    latest dsi firwmare is v1.4.3.

    hope that helps!

    -another world
     
  16. wiinoob123
    OP

    Newcomer wiinoob123 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    morning guys,

    i've just remembered! Before i gave her the dsi, i did a factory reset to clear all personal photos....should i have done that?

    I also remember accepting some screens where nintendo asked for my permission...could this have caused it?
     

Share This Page