Hacking DS Lite doesn't recognize "old purple" R4 card

OyunTerzisi

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
36
Country
Turkey
I bought a second-hand DS lite and it came with 4 original games and an "r4itt purple (old)" R4 card, the one with screw on the back. Games running fine but i couldn't manage to boot the R4 even once, the console just doesn't recognize anything inserted.

R4's own TF card doesn't work either so i googled and found kernel, set up my own TF, tried again and again.. nothing.

So how can i be sure this R4 is broken, throw it away and get on my life? (for the ones didn't understand question, what can i try to make it work?)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,704
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
1,924
Country
Austria
I bought a second-hand DS lite and it came with 4 original games and an "r4itt purple (old)" R4 card, the one with screw on the back. Games running fine but i couldn't manage to boot the R4 even once, the console just doesn't recognize anything inserted.

R4's own TF card doesn't work either so i googled and found kernel, set up my own TF, tried again and again.. nothing.

So how can i be sure this R4 is broken, throw it away and get on my life? (for the ones didn't understand question, what can i try to make it work?)

You can try and install @Robz8 ´s TWilight Menu on it.
That works,I have the same Card as you.
(it is NOT working in the DSi/DSi XL !!)

I put some Pictures here if you like.If you need Assistance,please ask.:)

P1020108.JPG P1020109.JPG

Good Luck.
Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,704
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
1,924
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

@alexander1970
Downloading flashcard version am i right?
Also an installation tutorial would be very appreciated
(Mainly which one of these flashcard and/or autoboot option is mine) :D

Thank you.:)

Yes,correct,the "Flashcard Version".

Then you need the 2 Files from the "Autoboot/R4i-SDHC, r4isdhc.com cards, R4i SDHC Upgrade Revolution, R4DSiXL3D, R4i Advance, R4-IIIi, R4 SDHC Revolution, R4(i) Pocket, R4i Gold (v1.4.1) (3DS) & R4xDS" Folder".

These belongs to the Root of the microSD Card please.
It is maybe depending on the DS Lite Firmware Version,that your Flashcard is Autobooting
and,of course,Autoboot ON in the DS Lite Settings.:)

The "_nds" Folder and the 5 Files

AP-patched games.txt
BOOT.NDS
BOOT_cyclodsi.NDS
snemul.cfg
version.txt


belongs also to the Root of the microSD Card please
The Folder "roms" in the Root has then to be "filled" with Games,of course.:rofl2:

That´s it.:)


Good Luck
Thank you.:)
 
Last edited by Alexander1970,
  • Like
Reactions: OyunTerzisi

OyunTerzisi

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
36
Country
Turkey
@alexander1970
thank you :)

Unfortunutely my own TF card somehow turned into RAW and i can't format it. Will do that as soon as i fix it...

Edit: Everytime i format, i plug it in my pc, remove it (even safely), it becomes RAW again after plug it again:unsure:
 
Last edited by OyunTerzisi,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,704
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
1,924
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

@alexander1970
thank you :)

Unfortunutely my own TF card somehow turned into RAW and i can't format it. Will do that as soon as i fix it...

Edit: Everytime i format, i plug it in my pc, remove it (even safely), it becomes RAW again after plug it again:unsure:

Oh,that is sad to hear....can you maybe try another Card ? Maybe the microSD Adapter for the PC is faulty ? (sadly this is not unusual...)

With this Tool you can test your microSD Card of Errors:
https://www.heise.de/download/product/h2testw-50539

With this Tool you can Re-Format it again:
https://fat32format-gui.en.lo4d.com/windows

Good Luck
Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: OyunTerzisi

OyunTerzisi

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
36
Country
Turkey
Hello.:)



Oh,that is sad to hear....can you maybe try another Card ? Maybe the microSD Adapter for the PC is faulty ? (sadly this is not unusual...)

With this Tool you can test your microSD Card of Errors:
https://www.heise.de/download/product/h2testw-50539

With this Tool you can Re-Format it again:
https://fat32format-gui.en.lo4d.com/windows

Good Luck
Thank you.:)

Well turns out the card works sometimes, just randomly alternates between RAW and FAT32 with no loss of data. İt acts like this in my phone too idk why it keep doing this though, maybe loose connection..

About files, i did what you said without flashcard loader (because you didn't told me to do). No luck.
Then added files in "R4iDSN & R4i Gold RTS" folder (a guess mixed with some logic :P) as flashcard loader. Again, no luck.

Currently keep trying in case of raw
 
Last edited by OyunTerzisi,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,704
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
1,924
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

Well turns out the card works sometimes, just randomly alternates between RAW and FAT32 with no loss of data. İt acts like this in my phone too idk why it keep doing this though, maybe loose connection..

About files, i did what you said without flashcard loader (because you didn't told me to do). No luck.
Then added files in "R4iDSN & R4i Gold RTS" folder (a guess mixed with some logic :P) as flashcard loader. Again, no luck.

Currently keep trying in case of raw

Oh,that is sad to hear.
Here you can have my Files (except the GBA Bios and the ROM Folder):
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11t3wV7H5uBWCtvJrDHMygOexa6od8QKO/view?usp=sharing

Format your microSD Card ,extract the Files and copy it 1:1 over please.
Please put a GBA Bios File (Google helps you to find it) in the Folder "_gba" and create the "roms" Folder for your Games please.


Good Luck
Thank you.:)
 

OyunTerzisi

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
36
Country
Turkey
Hello.:)



Oh,that is sad to hear.
Here you can have my Files (except the GBA Bios and the ROM Folder):
https://drive.google.com/file/d/11t3wV7H5uBWCtvJrDHMygOexa6od8QKO/view?usp=sharing

Format your microSD Card ,extract the Files and copy it 1:1 over please.
Please put a GBA Bios File (Google helps you to find it) in the Folder "_gba" and create the "roms" Folder for your Games please.


Good Luck
Thank you.:)

Your files too didn't help. This can only mean my flashcard is broken and belongs to trashbin.

I appreciated your support, thank you very much. Have a nice day :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,704
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
1,924
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

Your files too didn't help. This can only mean my flashcard is broken and belongs to trashbin.

I appreciated your support, thank you very much. Have a nice day :)

I am very sorry to hear that.....

What I remember,I had to do an Flash Update first,before my Card works:
http://old.r4wood.com/pages/R4iTT-Kernel.html

The Section after the Pictures:

R4iTT 1.41 Update Installation
1> Download the latest R4iTT V2.11 kernel and R4iTT 1.41 Update;
2> Decompress both of them onto root directory of your Memory card;
3> Get r4i_flashdata.bin and UpdateToolerV13.nds two patches after decompression of R4iTT 1.41 Update;
4> Do not update your DSi console into V1.41 before these two patches being updated on your R4iTT cart;
5> Power on DSi 1.41 with R4iTT & Memory card inserted;
6> Find and Run UpdateToolerV13.nds;
7> Do and Follow the Instruction from Screen, and Complete the Update.

Maybe you could try this ?

Good Luck
Thank you.:)
 
  • Like
Reactions: OyunTerzisi

OyunTerzisi

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
36
Country
Turkey
Hello.:)



I am very sorry to hear that.....

What I remember,I had to do an Flash Update first,before my Card works:
http://old.r4wood.com/pages/R4iTT-Kernel.html

The Section after the Pictures:

R4iTT 1.41 Update Installation
1> Download the latest R4iTT V2.11 kernel and R4iTT 1.41 Update;
2> Decompress both of them onto root directory of your Memory card;
3> Get r4i_flashdata.bin and UpdateToolerV13.nds two patches after decompression of R4iTT 1.41 Update;
4> Do not update your DSi console into V1.41 before these two patches being updated on your R4iTT cart;
5> Power on DSi 1.41 with R4iTT & Memory card inserted;
6> Find and Run UpdateToolerV13.nds;
7> Do and Follow the Instruction from Screen, and Complete the Update.

Maybe you could try this ?

Good Luck
Thank you.:)

Isn't this update for DSi, mine is DS lite..

Well whatever, what can i lose
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

OyunTerzisi

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
36
Country
Turkey
Hello.:)


No,it is for the FLASHCARD !!! :)
It is a FLASH Update,not a Kernel/Software Update or System Update.
Please read the Description I gave you in my last Reply.:)

Thank you.:)

No, by DSi, i meant "for flashcards to work in updated DSi"
From my research i believe when DSi's updated, flashcard no longer work and this update to flashcard, is for fixing this problem.

Anyway i am getting new flashcard soon so no need to worry for that anymore
 
Last edited by OyunTerzisi,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970
Joined
Nov 8, 2018
Messages
13,704
Trophies
3
Age
51
Location
Austria
XP
1,924
Country
Austria
Hello.:)

No, by DSi, i meant "for flashcards to work in updated DSi"
From my research i believe when DSi's updated, flashcard no longer work and this update to flashcard, is for fixing this problem.

Anyway i am getting new flashcard soon so no need to worry for that anymore

Ah,I am sorry,that was my Fault.
Yes,that is correct,if the DSi is on System Version 1.4.5x this Flashcart is no longer working BUT
with this Error Message when you try it:

P1020115.JPG P1020116.JPG P1020117.JPG P1020118.JPG

"An Error has occured.Press and hold the Power Button to switch off the System......"

By the Way,on an (Luma) modded 2DS/3DS System this Flashcard is also working.:)


Good Luck with your new Flashcard.
Thank you.:)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: But does it work with MAME lol