DS Linker loader 139 (stable) and Xmenu 239

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, May 24, 2007.

May 24, 2007
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom







    DS Linker loader 139 (stable) and Xmenu 239

    Out now...








    [​IMG]
    The DS Linker team have released a new loader for the DS Linker. This introduces a new menu layout and improved stability.
    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Home page

    Thanks to wilsey for the heads up.


     
  2. DJJoker

    Newcomer DJJoker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone else having problems with this update ??

    I am getting this error

    [​IMG]
     
  3. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I got that the first time too. Unplug everything (card, writer, usb cable) and re-try. If the windows driver install baloon quickly flashes up something to do with "NAND WRITER" then it will work.
     
  4. DJJoker

    Newcomer DJJoker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strange, you were right. It worked this time, now to see what the big difference is !!
     
  5. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A word of warning, I'm doing the "Full card check/format" as recommended by the readme.

    However, It's been 30 mins and it's only on 55%

    So don't undergo the full card check unless you're near your power supply, and go and do something else whilest it's going. [​IMG]


    EDIT: DLDI homebrew is auto-patched when run! DLDI writing works! Loading times are faster, Everything is better! [​IMG]
     
  6. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    For those of you with saving issues (the sram doesn't hold the save), this firmware makes it so it will only back up the save ONCE after playing, and will not do so again until you play the game again. Therefore, just turn your NDS back on really quickly after turning it off after playing a game, and your save will be backed up and safe. Just don't forget to do it every time you play.
     
  7. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dirtie are your sound problems fixed? [​IMG]
     
  8. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Yup, sound works +PERFEKTLY

    This new interface is actually really nice and really fast also. If there wasn't so many people with this SRAM issue I'd definitely recommend this cart now [​IMG]
     
  9. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice.. im going to upgrade there is a N-card version of the new stable upgrade. thanks dirtie
     
  10. DJJoker

    Newcomer DJJoker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is a nice update indeed, the boot up time is much much better.

    Just out of interest can anyone clarify how to do a full format, the instructions are a little mixed up

    First it switches from "up" in step 2 to "down" in step 3. Then I don't understand how you can press up & down at the same time [​IMG]

    EDIT: Never mind. It should be Hold "Up", then press "L+R+Select+Start+A" while still holding up. Three hands anyone ? [​IMG]
     
  11. KINGOFNOOBS

    Member KINGOFNOOBS GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    United States
    Thats only for clones. The actual N-CARD itself never has that issue.
     
  12. wilsey

    Newcomer wilsey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    people with the sram saving probs i would say it's prob a fault card, i use the Xpress Card 16gb and have never had any issues with saves etc, i heard alot of the Ultra FlashPass EX , MK5 had these issues at the start due to a bad batch of cards, alot of people got replacements, if your still under warrenty i would send it in for a replacement
     
  13. creacha

    Newcomer creacha Newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks all I couldn't get anything working, but got alot of answers here.

    Here's what I did with my Lite and DS Linker 16G, while I wait for the full format to finish...

    1. Unplug and reconnect all components.
    2. Hold up on the D-Pad and switch DS on just like the instructions say. The H&S screen will disappear after about 1 second.
    3. Use L+R+A+B to select the DS Linker from the menu. Holding L+R first will probably make this easier.
    4. You should see 2 white screens with SAFE xxxx on touch screen. As arctic_flame said, look for NAND xxxx in the New Hardware balloon. Try steps 1-3 until you see this. (Took me 3 or 4 tries)
    5. Run DSLinker_OS_stable_139_239\NAND_ALL.BAT, exit it and switch DS off.
    6. Holding up again, switch DS on and Hold L+R+Start+Select then press A. (Middle finger on R and forefinger on A?[​IMG]) and full format should start.

    Ok, around 40min later...

    7. Restart DS and enjoy!
     
  14. filmon

    Newcomer filmon Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Philippines
    hello, im having alot of trouble with my n-card...i extracted te nand_all.bat and everything else but when i pressed up+L+R
    +A+B the damn folder wont open...it keeps saying "insert disk in drive E:"...i cant even run the nand_all.bat. i tried re-connecting everything more than once and even tried running the nand_all.bat with just the data exchange on the firelink but to no avail...all i get is "init error"...i hope someone can help me here please!!!! im getting so frustrated [​IMG]
     
  15. DJJoker

    Newcomer DJJoker Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I guess you will have to wait for the alternate method. i.e. one single .nds file which you run like a game. I am surprised they haven't put it up yet - unless there is a problem doing it this way because of the new firmware :/
     

Share This Page