Downgrading help

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by nasune, Apr 4, 2012.

Apr 4, 2012

Downgrading help by nasune at 9:08 PM (1,252 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. nasune
    OP

    Member nasune GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A while back my little brother asked me to downgrade his 4.00 slim ps3, using the e3 flasher. Most of the process has gone well, but I'm stuck at a certain part. I am at the part where I have to insert a downgrade dongle, but I must confess that I do not know what exactly a downgrade dongle is.
    Is it another part that I'll need to buy, or do I need to put certain files on an usb stick or android or something? I've been searching around, but I can't really find a definitive answer (some sources tell me that I'll have to buy it, others say that you can put it together yourself, or that you can use android, etc.).
     
  2. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    You can use this guide
    http://gbatemp.net/t252522-definitive-guide-to-installing-psgroove
    or ask in the trading forums it should not be expensive as these dongles are common and useless to most of us.
     
  3. sergster1

    Member sergster1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a ti-84 plus SE I BELIEVE you can use that
     
  4. nasune
    OP

    Member nasune GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Netherlands
  5. shanefromoz

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,433
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I think you need a simple USB drive.
    If you follow the E3 Flasher downgrade guide, it should be explained to place specific files on your USB.


    The old dongles's downgrade method works only with Firmware 3.55 or less.
    you could even use a PSP to downgrade the PS3.
     
  7. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    I am pretty sure this is not what you need.

    If you watch shane's video at about 16 minutes they show the dongle.

    What you need is not called psgroove its called psgrade but its still available to a wide range of devices.
     
  8. Peter Gatens

    Newcomer Peter Gatens Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, if you use the e3 flasher to downgrade your PS3, there is a step you will need a PS3 downgrade dongle. there are many chooses. such as PS3 Break, E3 card reader... those dongles were used to downgrade the V3.50 PS3 which now is no use any more, but the E3 flasher requires this dongle. ok, just make it easier, you need sth like this.
     
  9. nasune
    OP

    Member nasune GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the help so far guys, but I still can't get it to work. My brother bought a ps3 break (as recommended by Peter), and I'm not really sure what to do now. I've programmed it using PS3Break PSgrade.mHex, and it still won't launch. Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong, because this is really starting to piss me off.
     
  10. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    From the tutorial i have
    You must unplug the console then plug back
    then put the dongle in, power then eject
    the console will start then shut off.
    you will now be in factory mode
    remove the dongle and keep going
    what tutorial are you following?
     
  11. nasune
    OP

    Member nasune GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm using the tutorial shane posted, which, if my limited understanding of the french language is correct, should be very similar to the one you posted. This tutorial however, does not explain which firmware the PS3Key has to have.
     
  12. shanefromoz

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    I think when going into service mode you need:

    1/. switch on ps3 with control
    2/. select xmb to power off
    3/. press + hold power button , ps3 will power on, hear 2 beeps and ps3 will shut down, release button
    4/. press + hold power again , release and you will see menu
     
  13. nasune
    OP

    Member nasune GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Edit: Never mind, I've managed to downgrade the system. The problem was the first upgrade.bin, I needed a different one.
    Thanks for the help guys.
    One quick question though, can we play newer games on kmeaw or are we stuck with games that play on 3.55 or earlier firmware?
     
  14. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Some newer games are were hacked to play on 3.55 (most 3.56 games and very few higher). you have to replace executables with hacked ones.

    Theres also a dongle called true blue that will let you play pretty much all newer titles also the same way but with a higher compatibility.
     

Share This Page