Azaghâl

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Hi,
I'm new in the world of 3ds hacking and I've just followed Plailect's guide, but I don't really understand what I can do.

Am I right?
  1. Thanks to luma3ds I:
    • am region free (I can play games from Japan for example)?
    • can run unsigned .cia (Any .cia application, any .cia game)?
    • can update my SysNAND because my FIRMs are protected (Except in those cases)
    • can do a lot of things
  2. Luma3ds is a CFW, and was called AuReiNAND
  3. Thanks to Decrypt9 I can create my retail game as a .cia and install them like a digital game with FBI?

Doubts:
  1. Does my native SysNAND (9.8) still exist and I just launch and update the CFW? Or it just exist as a backup in 9.2 (part 2) and I launch my native SysNAND updated and with some modification?
    • Then if brick the NAND used, would I be able to backup it?
  2. What is the difference between my SysNAND backup and my SysNAND_original backup? (part 4, section II)
  3. Can I still launch the Homebrew launcher using browerhax and/or menuhax or do I need to use the HBL installed in my Home menu through FBI?
  4. Can I change my theme without danger?

Last one:
In the last step part of the Guide, I have to use Hourglass9 to inject hs.app using the Health and Safety Inject. But I can't find the hs.app (it's localized in my files9) but Hourglass9 don't find it. Should I put it in an input folder in the root of my SD card like it was done in part 4?

Thanks in advance.

nl255

Trophies
XP
Country
Now that you have Luma, you are region free though some games require using the language emulation feature. You can also install any cia you want, whether homebrew, a game you converted yourself, or a cia obtained from elsewhere including CIAngel or freeshop. As for updating your sysnand, that is not a problem since you are on at least Luma 5.5 if not 6.x though always make a nand backup with hourglass9 before doing a system update.