doom

By elhobbs, Dec 25, 2014 154,625 894 34

  1. pokota

    pokota Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    The github repository linked to says it was last updated in December 2019. Is this correct?
     
  2. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, the date in github is accurate.
     
  3. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    added support for 800 wide mode. You have to switch the mode using Options->General->Video Mode and set it to Wide. Then you have to restart the game for the change to take effect. It will disable 3D.
    The effect is a bit underwhelming to be honest. So I only created a 3dsx build and dumped it in the repo without bothering to make a new release.
    Here is a direct link if anyone is interested
    https://github.com/elhobbs/prboom3ds/blob/master/prboom3ds.3dsx
     
    fusermarucs, XDel and VatoLoco like this.
  4. ElectricJelly

    ElectricJelly Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United States
    Can I take advantage of this moment to request adding a simple frontend thingy to select an IWAD and (if desired by the player) a subsequent PWAD?
     
  5. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    There is already a menu at startup to choose an iwad.
     
  6. bad1080

    bad1080 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    after i select my doom.wad (got it from steam) it says:
    Code:
    iwad found yada yada
    (two times)
    
    check iwad: iwad tag doom.wad not present
    (two times)
    
    and then hangs the system. is it because my .wad got modified somehow (it played fine in gzdoom)?
     
  7. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    I use the wads from steam for the original doom and doom 2. I think others have mentioned issues using the versions that come bundled with the new doom releases.
    If the wad was modified by or for an enhanced engine then it would be unlikely to work.
    Also - do not copy the prboom.ini from a pc. Delete it if it is present.
     
    Last edited by elhobbs, Jun 27, 2020
    bad1080 likes this.
  8. bad1080

    bad1080 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    i am going to redownload them tomorrow and see if that does the trick
     
  9. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Please let me know which ones you download and from which version of doom. I am curious to see how it goes.
     
    bad1080 likes this.
  10. bad1080

    bad1080 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    so what i downloaded is "Ultimate Doom" and "Doom II: Hell on Earth". from here i got "doom2.wad" with sha-256
    Code:
    10D67824B11025DDD9198E8CFC87CA335EE6E2D3E63AF4180FA9B8A471893255 
    and "doom.wad" with sha-256
    Code:
    6FDF361847B46228CFEBD9F3AF09CD844282AC75F3EDBB61CA4CB27103CE2E7F
    and i already can tell that the sha values differ from what i got in my backup folder. another thing i just read is "The BFG Edition variant of the DOOM2.WAD file is inappropriately marked as a PWAD and the TITLEPIC lump is missing" (from doomwiki) and i might have those older files from the bfg edition because i thought "cool everything included"... (plus i guess it would fit the error description of "tag missing")

    and after testing both .wad files i can say both work fine (plus no more soft-locking). so my best guess is the bfg edition files dont work because they got altered in some way. what i havent tested is the nerve.wad (great add on, cant recommend enough) which is also only included in the bfg edition which further leads me to believe that is where i got the old .wad files from.
     
    Last edited by bad1080, Jun 27, 2020
  11. Erick02cambur

    Erick02cambur Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Argentina
    Hi, I am new to this and I have two questions.
    The first ¿is there a way to reproduce the music of the .pwad? When executing the .pwad such as DoubleImpact and Sigil, the music is not heard, I think it is because it is mp3 or at least that is what I understand. Therefore, I want to know if there is any method to solve that, since doom without music is not the same. :unsure:

    My second question ¿is it possible to do a doom 64 port for 3ds?:yay3ds:
     
  12. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    this port only supports the original doom music format MUS. I believe sigil provides midi and/or mp3.
    There are doom 64 ports for other systems so I am sure it is possible. Not for this version though.
     
  13. Erick02cambur

    Erick02cambur Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Argentina
    So is there a method to alter a .pwad so that it plays its audio in MUS format? my research on that point has led me nowhere.
     
  14. Wavy

    Wavy Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2020
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Australia
    Check out this tutorial. It shows how to convert a midi to a mus and vice versa. One very important note is that some midis don't work, due to its file size (I think it's a max of ~65kb).
     
    Last edited by Wavy, Oct 7, 2020
  15. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,579
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone gotten the softlock fixed when you exit level 2 of DOOM 1?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted