doom

By elhobbs, Dec 25, 2014 144,595 881 34

  1. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    prboom3ds - a version of doom based on prboom 2.5 and code brazenly stolen from dsdoom and other ports. it has 3d and sound - while not exactly perfect it does run.

    newest version requires doom wad files and prboom.wad in the /3ds/prboom3ds/ directory.
    (old versions used the root directory)

    lots of graphical glitches and you need to play with the 3d slider to make it look decent.

    release link https://github.com/elhobbs/prboom3ds/releases
    v0.6-alpha is the latest version
     
    Last edited by elhobbs, Nov 10, 2019
    swosho, Zurdonx, emuashui and 31 others like this.
  2. MajinCubyan

    MajinCubyan The Funky Super Saiyan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    United States
    Givin it a try asap. Love Doom.

    Getting an error whenever I try to compile it. :/
     
  3. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    the error?
    edit: hmm... I suspect the issue is that I am using the current github version of ctrulib rather than the version installed by the devktpro installer
     
  4. MajinCubyan

    MajinCubyan The Funky Super Saiyan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    687
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh, I thought I posted it. I'll have to try it again but as I recall, it had something to do with line 58 of ds_main in arm9. ConsoleInit i think it said

    Code:
    ds_main.o: In function `sys_init':
    c:/Users/Cubes/Desktop/prboom3ds-master/arm9/source/ds_main.c:58: undefined referenceto `consoleInit'
    its right as its making the files


    I will do that and then give it a try. Thanks!

    Edit: you were correct. I forgot to update it with the latest version. Playing right now and I'm loving it!
     
  5. DarkFlare69

    DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,056
    Country:
    United States
    Still doesnt work no matter what I do.
     
  6. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't run or compile? What did you try and did you get an error message? Without any information it is hard to help.
     
  7. DarkFlare69

    DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,056
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind, MajinCubeyan helped me. Just for future people, it was the compiling. It says error no matter if I put it in devkitArm, ctrulib folder, or anything. It doesn't work.
     
  8. xem

    xem GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    France
    just send the compiled 3dsx file on github, with your code. why no one does that?
     
    Jacklack3, Heran Bago and Jayro like this.
  9. ieatpixels

    ieatpixels GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    358
    Country:
    would try it out if it were compiled. someone share it.
     
    Refriger8tor likes this.
  10. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,053
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    Attached is the compiled 3ds Doom. I included the prboom.wad and a shareware wad for convenience.
    Thanks to elhobbs -- good work on this. Enjoy.

    -Attachment removed-
    Reason: ancient Doom3ds build
    see here for latest build
     
    Last edited by zoogie, Aug 19, 2015
  11. kraan

    kraan Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    downloading atm will test it out, great work.
     
  12. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,971
    Country:
    Japan
    This runs MUCH better than I expected for a first release! Great job!
     
  13. Idaho

    Idaho GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2013
    Messages:
    828
    Country:
    France
    It'd be great if we could easily have .cia versions of homebrews as easily as it is to get .3dsx versions...
     
    100pcrack and octopus like this.
  14. Technicmaster0

    Technicmaster0 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,198
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    It's relatively easy to create *.cia files from *.elf files.
     
  15. Cid2mizard

    Cid2mizard GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Country:
    France
    Thank you, good works. i hope next release with C-pad and no crash exit game ^^
     
    Idaho likes this.
  16. DarkFlare69

    DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,056
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't work. I have it in my "doom 3ds" folder and prboom.wad and doom1.wad (shareware) on the root of my sd card.
     
  17. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    3,971
    Country:
    Japan
    The game folder itself has to be in the '3ds' directory like all other homebrew.
     
  18. DarkFlare69

    DarkFlare69 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5,056
    Country:
    United States
    I think I completely missed saying that. It's in sd:\3ds\doom 3ds and prboom and doow1.wad are in sd:\prboom.wad and sd:\doom1.wad.
     
  19. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    not your fault - the newest ctrulib caused this to break. The newest ctrulib auto initializes the provided sdmc module. I removed the custom sdmc code I was using and added some additional code to fix unimplemented stat_r.
     
  20. elhobbs

    OP elhobbs GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    853
    Country:
    United States
    if anyone has any suggestions for why the home button is not working or the crash on quit - then let me know.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted