Hacking Do you think current flash cards will support 3DS Games?

Will they update old flashcards for 3DS Games?

  • Yes

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • They will update flashcards and release 3DS Specific Flashcards

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 3ds will never be hacked

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    0

wiibob

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
257
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
290
Country
United States
Acekard has said they have not yet updated their cards to play 3ds in the news section. Do you think this is even possible? I think it will eventually happen but i also think that they will come out with all new cards.
 

TheDarkSeed

I'm a pretentious sack of shit
Member
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
1,180
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Carson
XP
276
Country
United States
I think that's a big hell to the no. That's like asking if a stand alone GBA cart can support ds games.
I'm not saying it's possible but you never know though.
 

Tagg7

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2007
Messages
397
Trophies
0
XP
218
Country
United States
Wow, are you naive. There is no way in hell that current flashcards will work with 3DS games. EVER.
 

wiibob

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
257
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
New York
Website
Visit site
XP
290
Country
United States
Tagg7 said:
Wow, are you naive. There is no way in hell that current flashcards will work with 3DS games. EVER.
And why is that?
closedeyes.gif
 

DeMoN

GBAtemp Guru
Member
Joined
May 12, 2004
Messages
7,698
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
1,682
Country
United States
Doesn't matter if they can. The question is whether the flash cart teams will want to update old flash carts for that when they could be making tons of money by selling a new 3DS flash cart.
 

TheDarkSeed

I'm a pretentious sack of shit
Member
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
1,180
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Carson
XP
276
Country
United States
wiibob said:
Tagg7 said:
Wow, are you naive. There is no way in hell that current flashcards will work with 3DS games. EVER.
And why is that?
closedeyes.gif
Not knowing anything about the inner workings of the DS or the 3DS, I don't think it's possible because the flashcart would have to emulate everything that a 3DS game has. Something tells me that DS games and 3DS games aren't alike. The current flash carts are made to emulate a DS game. Something also tells me that a 3DS game has more things to emulate than a DS game.
 

chris888222

GBAtemp's Flygon Fan
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
5,532
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
854
Country
Senegal
DS flashcarts although some expensive ones have a built in ARM, I still doubt it will be able to run 3DS software (if they are even cracked).

Also, flashcart companies are hungry for money, surely they would launch a new 3DS mode flashcart rather than updating the old ones.

Hence, my answer would be a no
 

TheDarkSeed

I'm a pretentious sack of shit
Member
Joined
May 11, 2009
Messages
1,180
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Carson
XP
276
Country
United States
chris888222 said:
DS flashcarts although some expensive ones have a built in ARM, I still doubt it will be able to run 3DS software (if they are even cracked).

Also, flashcart companies are hungry for money, surely they would launch a new 3DS mode flashcart rather than updating the old ones.

Hence, my answer would be a no
Claiming that all flashcart companies are money hungry is a bit extreme don't you think? I personally think that they would if they could. not to mention that there are lots of flashcart companies competing with each other. It would bring lots of attention to their company.

Team Cyclops tried to make their regular cart work with the DSi. Not in DSi mode, just ds mode and that was hard enough. But in the end, they failed. and released the iEVO.
 

CollosalPokemon

ばん。。。かい
Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2009
Messages
682
Trophies
1
XP
1,677
Country
United States
You can see graphics on the 3DS screen, right?
I know I can.

Therefore it can be cracked, somehow. Not saying it'll be easy but it's not impossible.

There isn't an encryption on earth that can't be cracked, unless it doesn't run but that would make whatever is encrypted useless.

I think maybe the CycloDS iEvolution might be able to do it, given a big enough SD Card for fitting 3DS ROMs. I know DS mode and 3DS mode are two different things but the CycloDS iEvo comes blank -- it's like they're writing a blank check to us. The CycloDS iEvo is not keyed into any specific mode, you program it yourself, infact everything on the iEvo is not stored on the iEvo cart, which is why it's able to support switching DS to DSi mode (and vv). All it would need would be:

1) A 3DS ROM Dump, which has been done on EEPROM 1001 chips by the NeoFlash team, but we're waiting on the common versions.
2) A exploit in the ROM, which probably won't happen since ninty has seen how just a tinsy TINY bug can lead to the whole system being hacked (Wii + DSi) but nevertheless it is possible ninty will miss something, we're all human.

But those are just my thoughts. Giving my $0.02 on it.

CP
 

ManFranceGermany

Atheist, Socialist and pro EU!
Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2010
Messages
624
Trophies
0
XP
39
Country
Gambia, The
Sure they could, as its using the same slot I/O Interface (maybe some protocol changes, which I don't even believe after seeing loading times, should be the same crap), but as this companies want to make more money, they wont do it, at least on the beginning.
But if its possible to hack the 3DS, it will be possible to use any slot 1 device.
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,020
Trophies
1
Age
40
Location
Belgium
XP
6,146
Country
Belgium
DeMoN said:
Doesn't matter if they can. The question is whether the flash cart teams will want to update old flash carts for that when they could be making tons of money by selling a new 3DS flash cart.
This sums it up. As far as I understand things, the hacking process has to start back all the way from square one. I don't see why they would bother doing all that work for free, especially since even their user base doesn't expect it from them (after all, they bought the thing to play DS games).



I'm not sure what that third option even means. Maybe it'll be possible that the current flashcard hardware can be used to hack a 3DS (I'm not a programmer of those things. And even if I were, it'd probably be pure speculation at this point). But this question is whether I think that the current flashcards (or carts? I'm so new to these things I don't even know how to write it) will support it. And to that, I think it's a "no".
 

shawnanastasio

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
98
Trophies
0
XP
196
Country
United States
CollosalPokemon said:
1) A 3DS ROM Dump, which has been done on EEPROM 1001 chips by the NeoFlash team, but we're waiting on the common versions.

WWWHHHHAAAATTTT????? a 3ds rom dump???????????????????? WHY DOSEN'T ANYONE TELL ME ANYTHING ANYMORE???
 

Langin

HI! ^O^
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
4,743
Trophies
0
Location
The Hague
XP
2,357
Country
Netherlands
I don´t think so, the old Nintendo Dual Screen roms have a different size, game structure and programming strucure then the 3DS games from this generation of Nintendo games.

I don´t think Nintendo accept that Flashcards that can play 3DS games are going to work. I predict they update everytime a flashcard maker updates. If you don´t update no wi-fi features for you.
 

machomuu

Drops by occasionally
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2009
Messages
8,461
Trophies
0
Location
The Courtroom
XP
806
Country
United States
shawnanastasio said:
CollosalPokemon said:
1) A 3DS ROM Dump, which has been done on EEPROM 1001 chips by the NeoFlash team, but we're waiting on the common versions.

WWWHHHHAAAATTTT????? a 3ds rom dump???????????????????? WHY DOSEN'T ANYONE TELL ME ANYTHING ANYMORE???
Because it doesn't matter since we can't do anything with it.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    IMG-20210925-201416.jpg
    If these aren't good I'm giving up on the frozen section of gods
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    don't stick them in the microwave
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and they're probably fine
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    No shit
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    This is not the EOF
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    wait i didn't get the time to see what it said
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    damn it, linuxares
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    the shitbox has been effectively eof for a long time and it was perfect that way
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    ehh post it in the eof chat instead? i still want to see it
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    exactly, that's a good place for it x3
  • WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes:
    Well this is interesting
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    For what?
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i don't like this new shitbox, it's too complicated
  • linuxares @ linuxares:
    well this isn't a shoutbox but a chat
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    It's basically the same thing shoutbox has been around for years just upgraded
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Oh the floating chat thing is new.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    And you can do formatting.
  • Arecaidian Fox @ Arecaidian Fox:
    Oooooh, colors.
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    I think what you meant was "colors".
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    :^)
    +1
  • antiNT @ antiNT:
    nice
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    hi o w o
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    yo does anyone know how to fix the 'no main boot entries found, check that bootloader/hekate_ipl.ini has boot entries or use more configs button for more boot entries' error on hekate??? i keep getting it when i try to click the launch option
  • HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie:
    nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out
    HinaNaru Cutie @ HinaNaru Cutie: nvm got it to work now q uq someone helped me out