Hacking Disconnect Emunand from Systemnand (New 3DS)

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,151
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Austria
XP
3,873
Country
Austria
Hi guys,
i fromated emunand, updated it to 9.5, turned the New 3DS off, removed the Micro SD Card, fromated the System Nand and put the micro SD Card again in the slot. However, my internet connection always return to the System Nand, what makes me feel unsafe. Someone can give me some tips?
Thanks in advance! :)
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,504
Country
United States
Hi guys,
i fromated emunand, updated it to 9.5, turned the New 3DS off, removed the Micro SD Card, fromated the System Nand and put the micro SD Card again in the slot. However, my internet connection always return to the System Nand, what makes me feel unsafe. Someone can give me some tips?
Thanks in advance! :)
Hmmm. Interesting, everytime I format sysnand it wipes out my connection. You could try it again or just manually delete the connection in sysnand.
 
  • Like
Reactions: pLaYeR^^

otto888

I break things for a living.
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2008
Messages
319
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
1,061
Country
United States
Hi guys,
i fromated emunand, updated it to 9.5, turned the New 3DS off, removed the Micro SD Card, fromated the System Nand and put the micro SD Card again in the slot. However, my internet connection always return to the System Nand, what makes me feel unsafe. Someone can give me some tips?
Thanks in advance! :)

In SysNAND, fill the connections with fake ones. If you don't, ones from EmuNAND will be written to SysNAND too.
 

pLaYeR^^

Doctor Switch
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,151
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Austria
XP
3,873
Country
Austria
Hmmm. Interesting, everytime I format sysnand it wipes out my connection. You could try it again or just manually delete the connection in sysnand.
I formated the Systemnand again and it seems that the internet connection in Emunand don't get linked in Systemnand anymore. Thank you :)
In SysNAND, fill the connections with fake ones. If you don't, ones from EmuNAND will be written to SysNAND too.
I formated the Systemnand on my 3DS XL before and I don't need to fill the connections with fake ones yet. But a good idea if someone don't want to disconnect the Systemnand from Emunand, for whatever reason lol
 

bytor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
299
Trophies
0
XP
267
Country
Are there any advantages to having your SysNAND and EmuNAND linked..? All I've seen so far is advantages having them un-linked. :unsure:
 

tbb043

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,754
Trophies
0
XP
1,488
Country
United States
Are there any advantages to having your SysNAND and EmuNAND linked..? All I've seen so far is advantages having them un-linked. :unsure:

There was that method for installing DSiware that required being linked, but it was only useful if you had actually had the DSiware on that 3DS previously and deleted it.
 

chr0m

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
338
Trophies
1
XP
939
Country
Australia
What is the method for unlinking? Format emunand with Gateway menu and then format sysnand with 3DS settings menu?
 

bytor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
299
Trophies
0
XP
267
Country
What is the method for unlinking? Format emunand with Gateway menu and then format sysnand with 3DS settings menu?


Yup, but remember to take your SD/micro-SD card out before you start otherwise you'll end up formatting both lol
 

Maximilious

Whistles a familiar tune
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
2,571
Trophies
1
XP
1,855
Country
United States
Are there any advantages to having your SysNAND and EmuNAND linked..? All I've seen so far is advantages having them un-linked. :unsure:


You also can't create xorpad files if your NAND's are unlinked. But since the New3DS came out and you likely didn't system transfer to sysnand, that shouldn't be an issue.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,243
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,793
Country
Norway
You also can't create xorpad files if your NAND's are unlinked. But since the New3DS came out and you likely didn't system transfer to sysnand, that shouldn't be an issue.
It's emuNAND you can't create xorpads for isn't it? So if you system transferred to emuNAND and wanted to dump eShop games or whatever, you still wouldn't be able to.
I know this was a problem with the CTR Multi Decryptor, but I'm not sure if it's an issue anymore with rxTools. There is no mention of it in the thread.
 

Maximilious

Whistles a familiar tune
Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2014
Messages
2,571
Trophies
1
XP
1,855
Country
United States
It's emuNAND you can't create xorpads for isn't it? So if you system transferred to emuNAND and wanted to dump eShop games or whatever, you still wouldn't be able to.
I know this was a problem with the CTR Multi Decryptor, but I'm not sure if it's an issue anymore with rxTools. There is no mention of it in the thread.


Right. On OG3DS it was an issue because you would likely have eShop stuff in sysNAND and emuNAND. On N3DS that wasn't really possible though unless you were a really early adopter with 9.2 version code. Still worth mentioning though since it is a caveat.

I'm not sure about rxTools. I was interested in dumping my CIA's but not after I found that one site everyone goes to for them.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    and idk if something will happen to my ps3 if i connect it to wifi with hen activated
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I remember when the Atari 2600 was new and exciting lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It could get banned from PSN but you can change your ID I think?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also gonna install twilight menu in my r4 flashcard
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One thing that just occurred to me.... The sound on the 2600 sucked less back then the harsh sound we hear now is from infinitely better speakers we have now, back when the 2600 was new speakers produced a almost muffled sound, like CRTs made old graphics look slightly better.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if I could recommend that to some emulation devs that perhaps the sound could use some smoothing out to simulate those old TVs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think a few of the early systems could benefit from that, at least up to the 8 bit generation, by the 16 bit generation I think TVs had gotten a lot better in almost every way
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont have an sd card adapter but I have an usb sd card adapter
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Old people games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its not the one that comes with the r4
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    doesnt work (my flashcard is from r4isdhc.com)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    might install ysmenu first
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Try Wood firmware
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    For your R4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's old but it's the best firmware out for DS stuff
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    it says it only works for the original R4, R4i Gold (r4ids.cn), R4iDSN (r4idsn.com) and Acekard R.P.G.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm it does support mine
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    but why choose it over ysmenu @Psionic Roshambo?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    bc im stupid?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yea ik im stupid
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just give it a try, but honestly if you have a 3DS you can play DS games without a card just off the internal SD card
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient