Did I just brick my Acekard 2i?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by snaykey, May 18, 2010.

May 18, 2010
  1. snaykey
    OP

    Newcomer snaykey Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Today I got my DSi XL and an Acekard 2i with a DSi compatible sticker on it. I followed instructions I found here in order to update my fw to 1.4 by using an old DSLite; however, when update was finished neither of the two systems recognize the card ("no game card is inserted").

    I searched a bit on the issue but the things I found were really discouraging, so please tell me what should I do?

    Thank you.
     
  2. waffle1995

    Member waffle1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    return it and get another 1.
    or buy a r4 for wood or even buy a new acekard 2i from shop that flash it for you
     
  3. snaykey
    OP

    Newcomer snaykey Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    So there is practically no way I can fix it. The problem is in the card not in what I did so the time the next one ships I should repeat the same steps?
     
  4. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    Click here, and follow the unbricking process.
     
  5. Samik

    Newcomer Samik Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    LH city
    Country:
    Slovakia
    the card was recognized before? before you had updated fw of acekard or not?
     
  6. snaykey
    OP

    Newcomer snaykey Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Yes it was

    EDIT: As far as I understood, I'll need a new Acekard 2i(since the distributor won't send me a new one for I live in Bulgaria) and I'll run the update process through it onto the bricked one.
     
  7. flamingo24

    Member flamingo24 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Country:
    You don't need to use a Acekard for the unbricking process, just any flashcart that works with DS Lite.
     
  8. snaykey
    OP

    Newcomer snaykey Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Yes, I got that part, but unfortunately I don't have any other flashcarts. Guess I'll have to wait.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I think I saw a site that sold Acekards, fellow bulgarian, I need to search for it.
    Or you can PM me and maybe we can work something out [​IMG]
     
  10. snaykey
    OP

    Newcomer snaykey Newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    I already got mine and as a friend of mine saw my purchase, he asked if I could order the same for him. So I guess I'm going to unbrick mine using his. [​IMG]
     
  11. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    United States
    how long did i take to get yours from shoptemp?
     
  12. Samik

    Newcomer Samik Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    LH city
    Country:
    Slovakia
    so use the normal unbrick process and its done [​IMG]
     
  13. masher

    Newcomer masher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have same kinda issue...

    Got a new acekard 2i from 0day

    Installed AKAIO last night, put on me roms....all okay
    played on my DS last night to test all okay.
    Tried on friends DS XL Ver 1.4 E
    Comes up no cart inserted....

    Tried again in my DS Lite and just got white screen on both, done the paper trick, still didnt work....tried a different sd card from another acekard i got nothing....
    Tried the sd card from the Acekard that is not working in my working acekard and it works....

    Now i formatted the SD card again, done the paper trick again...also tried the brick updater and the progress bar does not get past 0%

    i guess it is fooked?!
     
  14. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What guide are you following? if you are following the stickied at the top of the forum, there is some wrong information in there which will result in the update sitting at 0%. Follow this one instead http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...-acekard#update

    As for the XL not seeing it, pull the cart out slightly, again as in the guide http://gbatemp.net/t218103-updated-n00b-gu...your-acekard#12
     
  15. masher

    Newcomer masher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Tried that earlier, downloaded the new updater, still sits on 0% it is like it is not reconizing the card now....strange...anyways mailed 0day shipping and see if they can send a replacement.....cheers
     
  16. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    0ShippingZone seem to treat their customers well, so you shouldnd't have a problem getting a replacement.
     
  17. masher

    Newcomer masher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah, they have responded to my mail, they say they check the cards before shipping, in anycase i just hope they can send me another [​IMG] Really Strange though [​IMG]
     
  18. masher

    Newcomer masher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Soz to drag up a old topic, alas i sent the card back 4 weeks ago....0DSZ have still not sent me a replacement, they said they will send when the old one arrives, alas they must have it by now...i dont want to do a paypal claim, but not happy at mo [​IMG]
     
  19. penthaler

    Member penthaler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    mystique
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Hi, sorry for late answer, but your problem was not with BRICKing your AK2i, but BAD CONTACTS.
    PAPER TRICK WILL DO THAT!
    The same thing happend to me too, and piece of paper will HELP [​IMG]
     
  20. masher

    Newcomer masher Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi i tried paper trick before sending it back, it was knacks...never mind i am sure i will get another
     

Share This Page