Hacking Deleted 9.0 FW files off SD after downgrading to 8.1, Switch will now only boot into RCM?

thewiimang

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
United States
I updated to 9.0 but had all sorts of problems so I used ChoiDujour to downgrade to 8.1 FW. Everything went smooth, until I was going through my micro SD and deleted the FW 9.0 folder (I didn't think I needed it anymore) after that I boot into RCM and it freezes at the kosmos logo. I power off the switch and it refuses to boot into OFW. I hold it down for 15 seconds and then try RCM mode and it works. I boot kosmos and it freezes at the logo. I now put fresh kosmos on my SD and deleted the old kosmos files. Now my switch will boot into RCM AND I can access kosmos again. Some of my games are saying corrupt data, but some others are working perfectly fine. I have NO idea what I did I'm guessing this happened from me deleting the FW 9.0 folder. Now I was thinking, do I go to choidujour again and redo the 8.1 update? or should I just wipe my SD and redo kosmos again from the ground up completely? Am I out of luck in booting OFW again? Thanks :)
 

linuxares

The inadequate, autocratic beast!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
13,277
Trophies
2
XP
18,090
Country
Sweden
How did you downgrade? Did you restore a NAND backup?

You must restore your boot files if you downgrade as well as the nand backup.
 

thewiimang

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
United States
How did you downgrade? Did you restore a NAND backup?

You must restore your boot files if you downgrade as well as the nand backup.
I downgraded with choidujour and the 8.1 FW files. It was running smoothly until I deleted the FW 9.0 folder, and I have a NAND backup I haven't restored yet though.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

No, you can delete the 9.0.0 firmware folder after you have updated. That can't be the reason for your issue.
really? very odd, that's the only major thing to the SD
 

ucef

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
718
Country
Morocco
It's not possible tu run 8.1.0 fiiwmre with 9.0 fuses,the bootloader will panic and enter rcm mode as i know !
You need tu upgarde to 9.0 with choidujour et setup a Emmumc with the 8.1.0 firmwire
 
  • Like
Reactions: thewiimang

thewiimang

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
United States
It's not possible tu run 8.1.0 fiiwmre with 9.0 fuses,the bootloader will panic and enter rcm mode as i know !
You need tu upgarde to 9.0 with choidujour et setup a Emmumc with the 8.1.0 firmwire
thank you, so I upgrade and how do I set up the emummc? thank you guys again so much
 

TheCyberQuake

Certified Geek
Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2014
Messages
5,012
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Las Vegas, Nevada
XP
4,432
Country
United States
  • Like
Reactions: Draxzelex and ucef

thewiimang

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
United States
It's not possible tu run 8.1.0 fiiwmre with 9.0 fuses,the bootloader will panic and enter rcm mode as i know !
You need tu upgarde to 9.0 with choidujour et setup a Emmumc with the 8.1.0 firmwire
You should be able to boot into sysNAND 8.1.0 with hekate. 9.0.0 introduced a fuse burn, which once burned will not allow the console to boot without a custom bootloader like hekate/fusee-primary that bypasses the fuse check.
thank you guys so much, I set up my 8.1 emummc and updated to 9.0 and it now boots back into OFW also. thank you again!!!
 

smf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
6,640
Trophies
2
XP
5,854
Country
United Kingdom
really? I swear I've downgraded once before and my OFW always worked fine.

Two reasons for that

1. Some versions of the FW use the same number of fuses, so you may have downgraded to one with the same fuse count.
2. If you always boot a higher fuse count FW into RCM then it never burns them & you can downgrade to any FW that has a matching fuse count to what have actually been burnt
 
Last edited by smf,
  • Like
Reactions: ucef and thewiimang

thewiimang

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 23, 2019
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
59
Country
United States
Two reasons for that

1. Some versions of the FW use the same number of fuses, so you may have downgraded to one with the same fuse count.
2. If you always boot a higher fuse count FW into RCM then it never burns them & you can downgrade to any FW that has a matching fuse count to what have actually been burnt

thank you, I realized this time I was in RCM mode the entire time after I downgraded, I never booted to OFW, once I did it turned blank and it wouldn’t power on. Everything’s great now thanks to you guys!
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, I'm doing alright, thanks.
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    That must be rough. Productive I'm sure but hard to balance with daily life
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, Indeed. I've been working on getting this Infecutus chip to work on my PS2. But after soldering, I realised that a plastic piece was missing from the power ribbon cable to the power and eject buttons.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Now I could go with soldering the contacts from the cable to the connector on the mobo, but doesn't sound like a good permanent solution.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Man, that's beyond my brain :rofl: I'm no good with hardware for now. I'd like to get into hardmods in future though
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, Maybe start practice soldering. Get a cheap-ass soldering iron and follow some good YouTube tutorials.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Least my experience has gotten better than over a decade ago. My iron would constantly bump into components and break them.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Sounds good. I actually did soldering but like 16 years ago for school so uuuuh probably rusty haha
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, Same here. I did soldering at school from a teacher who I honestly liked since he had plenty of good electronics experience.
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    I wish I could play chess well
    +1
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Useless but a true art
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Maximumbeans, I had a friend who had a glass chess set for their birthday.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    It was like all clear and fancy. Tbf I'm not too experienced with chess, but would like to learn someday.
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    That sounds really cool
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    I know the basics but no strategy at all :rofl:
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Watch chess streamers on Twitch and you'll pick up a thing or two.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Not to mention there's an infinite number of chess games for every possible platform.
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    just play it, get beaten a few times and start dominating
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nude chess is best
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    strip checkers > nude chess
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nude checkers get jumped
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Veho, I guess you'd pick up something while watching tub streams.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Dick fights. :tpi:
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Turkish olive oil wrestling.
    +1
    Veho @ Veho: Turkish olive oil wrestling. +1