Couple questions regarding RAID and HD

Satangel

BEAST
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,307
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,550
Country
Belgium
What is faster, a Raptor HD or a RAID combo (please specify which RAID)

And what is the exact difference between RAID 0 and RAID 1? Ive already done some research, but I still don't understand it completely...
 

mojoex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
127
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
ordaria.net
XP
44
Country
RAID 0 is faster than any single hard drive.
RAID 0 is built for speed whereas RAID 1 is more stable, and easier to backup if things go wrong.
 

xcalibur

Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
3,163
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Sacred Heart
XP
737
Country
RAID 0 combines 2 hard drives into one SUPER hard drive.
The problem is if one fails, the other fails too.
RAID 1 Is made for more secure data storage because it combines two hard drives into one which is half the storage size but all data on one HD is mirrored on the other.
 

Satangel

BEAST
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,307
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,550
Country
Belgium
I think I will pick RAID 1 then.
So if 1 HD crashes in RAID 1, I will still have my data?
And how much faster is RAID 0 compared to RAID 1?
And is a Raptor HD faster?

Tnx for your time!
 

Kiljaeden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Sydney
Website
Visit site
XP
183
Country
The Raptor is faster than any single drive at present. It would not be as fast as Raid 0, but would be faster than Raid 1, unless you were using two Raptors in the Raid 1.
wink.gif


Raid 0, means you have two hard drives, and the data is shared between the two, so essentially, you are writing in half the time. The downside to Raid 0 is, that if one hard drive fails, you have LOST ALL YOUR DATA. I can't stress that enough.

Raid 1, means you have two hard drives, and the data is stored on both of the hard drives, so essentially, you are writing at the same speed as a normal hard drive, except you have a backup, in case the hard drive fails.
 

Satangel

BEAST
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,307
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,550
Country
Belgium
The Raptor is faster than any single drive at present. It would not be as fast as Raid 0, but would be faster than Raid 1, unless you were using two Raptors in the Raid 1.
wink.gif


Raid 0, means you have two hard drives, and the data is shared between the two, so essentially, you are writing in half the speed. The downside to Raid 0 is, that if one hard drive fails, you have LOST ALL YOUR DATA. I can't stress that enough.

Raid 1, means you have two hard drives, and the data is stored on both of the hard drives, so essentially, you are writing at the same speed as a normal hard drive, except you have a backup, in case the hard drive fails.

So with RAID 1 I don't have any speed profit?
Whats the chance my HD crashes in RAID 0?
 

mojoex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
127
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
ordaria.net
XP
44
Country
depends what quality hard drive you get. if you get 2xSamsung spinpoints then the chances that they'll die are very slim. if you get 2xmaxtor's the chances that they die are very high.

A single Raptor is faster than any other single drive. 2 drives in RAID 0 are faster than any other combination, including a single drive.
you do not get any speed benefits from RAID 1, but if one hard drive fails you still have the data stored on the other hard drive.
if one goes in RAID 0, you lose everything.
 

Satangel

BEAST
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,307
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,550
Country
Belgium
Its for in a regular game-PC, and I don't have any interest in buying 3 or more HD's...
Tnx for the tips though.

I'm gonna buy this custom PC anytime now:

ASUS EN8800GT TOP/HTDP/512M (PCI-E, 512MB DDR3, TV-Out, Dual DVI)

SAMSUNG SH-S203 20x DVD+/-RW 8x DL 12x DVD-RAM S-ATA

Corsair 4096MB DDR2 XMS6400, Heat spreader EPP (2x2048MB)

ARCTIC Freezer 7 Pro (Intel 775)

SAMSUNG SpinPoint 500GB (HD501LJ, 7200RPM, SATA-II, 16MB) x2
These two will become RAID 0

OCZ GameXStream 700W

INTEL Core 2 Quad Q6600

ASUS P5E s775,2xPCIe,ATX,X38,DDR2,GLAN

Cooler Master Elite 330


I already have a 20" CRT and keyboard,mouse and speakers.
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Brazil
Its for in a regular game-PC, and I don't have any interest in buying 3 or more HD's...
Tnx for the tips though.

I'm gonna buy this custom PC anytime now:

ASUS EN8800GT TOP/HTDP/512M (PCI-E, 512MB DDR3, TV-Out, Dual DVI)

SAMSUNG SH-S203 20x DVD+/-RW 8x DL 12x DVD-RAM S-ATA

Corsair 4096MB DDR2 XMS6400, Heat spreader EPP (2x2048MB)

ARCTIC Freezer 7 Pro (Intel 775)

SAMSUNG SpinPoint 500GB (HD501LJ, 7200RPM, SATA-II, 16MB) x2

ZALMAN ZM600-HP

INTEL Core 2 Quad Q6600

ASUS P5E s775,2xPCIe,ATX,X38,DDR2,GLAN

NZXT Hush Zwart


Is 600 Watt enough for this custom PC?
I already have a 20" CRT and keyboard,mouse and speakers.


Depends on the PSU. Get If it's decent, yes it's enough.
 

Satangel

BEAST
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,307
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,550
Country
Belgium
Its from the brand Zalman, a great brand for PSU's and coolers.
But for a mere 8 euros more I have 100 Watts.
Its also a graet PSU, and has 700 Watts.
So I think I will buy this one: OCZ GameXStream 700W
 

BigX

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
292
Trophies
0
Location
over there
Website
Visit site
XP
70
Country
Canada
gee, I am old....
I come from a time, considering a 300W PSU for PCs where more than ever needed... (not talking about C64 PSU) ^^
Hell, isn't 300 W enough for this pc? Does that GPU suck that much power? two HDD are not that much and what about the other components?
(My PC is still from studying time - AMD 2500+)
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
@BigX GPUs are power hogs, pretty much everything else has been toned down of late but they still (apologies for the forum thread but it is a good start)
http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/forums.asp?s=2&c=7&t=9354
If you leave them out and go for more mainstream (lowend?) components you can still use low wattage PSUs. Even more so if you go for low power stuff.

As for the quad CPU for games definitely go dual core but quad still seems like overkill. If it is futureproofing then maybe but for a machine to be upgraded/replaced in less than 2 years......
Video encoding is a different matter but my dual core stuff still does DVDs and H264 with all the trimmings quite nicely.
 

mojoex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
127
Trophies
0
Age
33
Website
ordaria.net
XP
44
Country
An arctic freezer 7 would definately cool it.
but i suggest going for a Tuniq Tower 120.. it cools more efficiently and is quieter.

also, for a PSU, go for a OCZ StealthXStream 600W.
thats more than enough power for that system.

can you go about 40 euros more? the new 8800GTS 512mb would be better for you with a 20" monitor.
 

Satangel

BEAST
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
10,307
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Bruges, Belgium
XP
1,550
Country
Belgium
Isn't the 8800GT the best GFX card atm, besides the GTX version?
And 40 euros is not a big difference, I can go with that
tongue.gif


Is it a big difference between the GT and the GTS?
 

Kiljaeden

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2006
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Sydney
Website
Visit site
XP
183
Country
Bang for buck, the 8800GT is better than the 8800GTS. If money isn't an option, the new 8800GTS (G92) is better than the 8800GT.

If you are really wanting to buy for the next 4-5 years, which I believe is IMPOSSIBLE, wait a couple of months for the 9000 series. They should be released soon. At least that should hold you out for 1-2 years.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://www.timeextension.com/news/2024/05/konami-this-isnt-the-new-castlevania-we-wanted