Gaming Connect Wii to monitor?

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country
Hey guys, I'm trying to connect my Wii to my 24" pc monitor.
My monitor has DVI-D, HDMI and D-sub. 1 of each.
I know I could use Dolphin, allows 1080p and other things but I don't have a wireless IR sensor, only a wired one that came with the Wii.
Is there anyway I can do this?
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,339
Country
United States
Hey guys, I'm trying to connect my Wii to my 24" pc monitor.
My monitor has DVI-D, HDMI and D-sub. 1 of each.
I know I could use Dolphin, allows 1080p and other things but I don't have a wireless IR sensor, only a wired one that came with the Wii.
Is there anyway I can do this?
I don't know about hooking up your Wii to your monitor, but if you want to use Dolphin, just set the sensor bar on top of your monitor and turn on your Wii when you start Dolphin.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country
Hey guys, I'm trying to connect my Wii to my 24" pc monitor.
My monitor has DVI-D, HDMI and D-sub. 1 of each.
I know I could use Dolphin, allows 1080p and other things but I don't have a wireless IR sensor, only a wired one that came with the Wii.
Is there anyway I can do this?
I don't know about hooking up your Wii to your monitor, but if you want to use Dolphin, just set the sensor bar on top of your monitor and turn on your Wii when you start Dolphin.
Why do I need the Wii on?
 

Sicklyboy

#JOYCONBOYZFOREVER
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2009
Messages
6,314
Trophies
2
Location
[̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
XP
8,183
Country
United States
Hey guys, I'm trying to connect my Wii to my 24" pc monitor.
My monitor has DVI-D, HDMI and D-sub. 1 of each.
I know I could use Dolphin, allows 1080p and other things but I don't have a wireless IR sensor, only a wired one that came with the Wii.
Is there anyway I can do this?
I don't know about hooking up your Wii to your monitor, but if you want to use Dolphin, just set the sensor bar on top of your monitor and turn on your Wii when you start Dolphin.
Why do I need the Wii on?

To power the sensor bar.

Alternatively, order a cheap one off of DX, or use your current one, and if you're handy with a soldering iron, de-solder the original power wires and just solder a USB port on instead with maybe 5 feet of cable length. I did that and it works fine
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country
Hey guys, I'm trying to connect my Wii to my 24" pc monitor.
My monitor has DVI-D, HDMI and D-sub. 1 of each.
I know I could use Dolphin, allows 1080p and other things but I don't have a wireless IR sensor, only a wired one that came with the Wii.
Is there anyway I can do this?
I don't know about hooking up your Wii to your monitor, but if you want to use Dolphin, just set the sensor bar on top of your monitor and turn on your Wii when you start Dolphin.
Why do I need the Wii on?

To power the sensor bar.

Alternatively, order a cheap one off of DX, or use your current one, and if you're handy with a soldering iron, de-solder the original power wires and just solder a USB port on instead with maybe 5 feet of cable length. I did that and it works fine
Are there any USB powered ones on DX? All I seem to find is battery powered...
 

Majorami

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
387
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
Exactly how insane is your PC that you believe it can run on par with a Wii?

Anyways, to play a Wii on a Monitor that does not support YPbPr Component or RCA Composite, you really only have two choices.

#1 Buy a monitor that can. Could cost you $250 or more. This is the answer no sane person would want.
#2 Buy a Converter or Converter+Switcher.

Preferably Converter+Switcher, and specifically YPbPr Component to a format your monitor accepts. Because there is no High-Def output options for the Wii, the highest quality video you can get is 480i through a component cable. So in the very least you need to start with:
http://www.amazon.co...29548657&sr=1-5
Browse Amazon for "Wii component" to find a cheaper cord, but I shop Amazon based on customer reviews, so I picked that one.

Next you'll need to Google "Component to HDMI converter" You're looking for a box-like device in the $30-$50 range. Skip on the "Component to DVI-D converters as even the cheap ones are worth more than your Wii. Most converter boxes that I know of require an AC Power source. A converter is the bare minimum you need for Wii to PC Monitor hookup, but a Converter+Switcher allows you to switch from "Wii" mode to "PC" mode by a button touch. However since you have multiple inputs on your monitor, you're probably also allowed to switch video mode from DVI-D to HDMI, taking out the switching necessity apart of it.

If you happen to come across any cheaper converting "cables" don't be tempted to buy and try them unless you can confirm yourself via Youtube video or another user's post on Google somewhere saying it works. Why? Because it is my understanding that your Wii's output and Monitor's input are of two different signals that do not get along. That the cables lack the know-how to convert a signal to another signal. This is why PS2 RCA and YPrBr cables do not work on a VGA monitor, even though technically the cables are connected. Thats why the $30-$50 converting boxes are the only way.

And a heads up, if the conversion box succeeds in sending a video signal by HDMI cable to your monitor, but you're not getting any sound, you can use one of these:
http://www.amazon.co...pd_bxgy_e_img_b
along with a series of RCA extension cords. The sound part of component cables are still in the widely accepted, and outdated stereo/analog format. No conversion processes necessary for the sound. This part can go into the 3.5mm input jack.

I recently had to buy a YPrBr to VGA converter to play my new PS2 on my monitor with zero lag.
http://www.mygica.co...duct.asp?id=127
About $30, and technically you can also use this with an appropriate DVI-D to VGA adapter. I don't get great quality video from my VGA monitor, but Component helps ALOT over composite. Mygica isn't the best, but for PS2 to Monitor hookup, its certianly the cheapest way to do it.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country
Not that I am aware of, which is why I bought a regular one and just soldered a usb cable onto it.
Thanks but it's a shame, I've got no clue as to how to solder. And my dad knows but we don't have a soldering iron.

Exactly how insane is your PC that you believe it can run on par with a Wii?

Anyways, to play a Wii on a Monitor that does not support YPbPr Component or RCA Composite, you really only have two choices.

#1 Buy a monitor that can. Could cost you $250 or more. This is the answer no sane person would want.
#2 Buy a Converter or Converter+Switcher.

Preferably Converter+Switcher, and specifically YPbPr Component to a format your monitor accepts. Because there is no High-Def output options for the Wii, the highest quality video you can get is 480i through a component cable. So in the very least you need to start with:
http://www.amazon.co...29548657&sr=1-5
Browse Amazon for "Wii component" to find a cheaper cord, but I shop Amazon based on customer reviews, so I picked that one.

Next you'll need to Google "Component to HDMI converter" You're looking for a box-like device in the $30-$50 range. Skip on the "Component to DVI-D converters as even the cheap ones are worth more than your Wii. Most converter boxes that I know of require an AC Power source. A converter is the bare minimum you need for Wii to PC Monitor hookup, but a Converter+Switcher allows you to switch from "Wii" mode to "PC" mode by a button touch. However since you have multiple inputs on your monitor, you're probably also allowed to switch video mode from DVI-D to HDMI, taking out the switching necessity apart of it.

If you happen to come across any cheaper converting "cables" don't be tempted to buy and try them unless you can confirm yourself via Youtube video or another user's post on Google somewhere saying it works. Why? Because it is my understanding that your Wii's output and Monitor's input are of two different signals that do not get along. That the cables lack the know-how to convert a signal to another signal. This is why PS2 RCA and YPrBr cables do not work on a VGA monitor, even though technically the cables are connected. Thats why the $30-$50 converting boxes are the only way.

And a heads up, if the conversion box succeeds in sending a video signal by HDMI cable to your monitor, but you're not getting any sound, you can use one of these:
http://www.amazon.co...pd_bxgy_e_img_b
along with a series of RCA extension cords. The sound part of component cables are still in the widely accepted, and outdated stereo/analog format. No conversion processes necessary for the sound. This part can go into the 3.5mm input jack.

I recently had to buy a YPrBr to VGA converter to play my new PS2 on my monitor with zero lag.
http://www.mygica.co...duct.asp?id=127
About $30, and technically you can also use this with an appropriate DVI-D to VGA adapter. I don't get great quality video from my VGA monitor, but Component helps ALOT over composite. Mygica isn't the best, but for PS2 to Monitor hookup, its certianly the cheapest way to do it.
Firstly, I set Dolphin up and it runs smoothly, no hiccups or lag (Tested using Skyward Sword and Super Mario Galaxy 2)
Seconly, wow, thanks for the info. Seems like a waste of time + money, honestly. Getting a new monitor is out of the question because my current one cost $250 and I only recently got it.
I s'pose I'll stick with Dolphin/Wii on tv. Thanks again.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,339
Country
United States

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country
Not that I am aware of, which is why I bought a regular one and just soldered a usb cable onto it.
Shame, I've got no clue as to how to solder. And my dad knows but we don't have a soldering iron.
Order one with the cable.
Already stated that neither plasma dragon007 or myself know of one.
Oh, my bad =D
Not a bad idea, I'll have to ask my dad if he'll be able to do it.
 

Majorami

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Nov 21, 2011
Messages
387
Trophies
0
XP
93
Country
United States
gifi4 said:
Firstly, I set Dolphin up and it runs smoothly, no hiccups or lag (Tested using Skyward Sword and Super Mario Galaxy 2)
Seconly, wow, thanks for the info. Seems like a waste of time + money, honestly. Getting a new monitor is out of the question because my current one cost $250 and I only recently got it.
I s'pose I'll stick with Dolphin/Wii on tv. Thanks again.
I know getting a new monitor is out of the question. People kept suggesting that to me, without any indication from them that they might think that buying an entirely new monitor is impracticable as it seems. Though new monitor or conversion box is the only way I know how to play PS2 or Wii on a monitor.

What you're doing with Dolphin is playing Wii on a PC, but using your monitor to view it. So technically Dolphin is not playing directly on the monitor. But since you are using PC and most likely using Windows. There are also USB TV Tuner Cards that capture and display RCA video on your desktop through editing software. Though I hear apparently that the latency from User-controlled input to video feedback makes games unplayable.

What are your PC specs and how much did you spend?
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,691
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Belgium
XP
8,101
Country
Belgium
Erm...to reply to the original question: there are cables to connect your wii to a regular PC monitor. I had one from VDIGI, which worked quite well (it hooks up to a VGA end...which is probably the kind of D-sub cable you're refering to).


(shouldn't this thread be in the wii hardware section, btw?).
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Melbourne
XP
713
Country
gifi4 said:
Firstly, I set Dolphin up and it runs smoothly, no hiccups or lag (Tested using Skyward Sword and Super Mario Galaxy 2)
Seconly, wow, thanks for the info. Seems like a waste of time + money, honestly. Getting a new monitor is out of the question because my current one cost $250 and I only recently got it.
I s'pose I'll stick with Dolphin/Wii on tv. Thanks again.
I know getting a new monitor is out of the question. People kept suggesting that to me, without any indication from them that they might think that buying an entirely new monitor is impracticable as it seems. Though new monitor or conversion box is the only way I know how to play PS2 or Wii on a monitor.

What you're doing with Dolphin is playing Wii on a PC, but using your monitor to view it. So technically Dolphin is not playing directly on the monitor. But since you are using PC and most likely using Windows. There are also USB TV Tuner Cards that capture and display RCA video on your desktop through editing software. Though I hear apparently that the latency from User-controlled input to video feedback makes games unplayable.

What are your PC specs and how much did you spend?
Sig, bro. Roughly $2000 AUD.
Erm...to reply to the original question: there are cables to connect your wii to a regular PC monitor. I had one from VDIGI, which worked quite well (it hooks up to a VGA end...which is probably the kind of D-sub cable you're refering to).


(shouldn't this thread be in the wii hardware section, btw?).
Yeah that's the D-sub I'm talking about, got a link to the cable(s)?
 

Taleweaver

Storywriter
Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
8,691
Trophies
2
Age
43
Location
Belgium
XP
8,101
Country
Belgium
I bought it after thoroughly reading this review about it. And though I don't use the cable myself anymore (got me a new TV which is about twice the size of my monitor), I can attest anything written in there. :)

Worth noting that it has an exit for speakers or headphones, so...yeah. That's all to say about it.

(no idea how it'll fare on GC games ran on DML, but probably the same issues).
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @mthrnite, Cheetah Girls, the sequel to Action 52's Cheetah Men.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Pokemon Black I played that one a lot
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Honestly never messed with Pokémon on ds much
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    I played pokemon once, was bored, never tried again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Oh Dragon Quest IX
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Spent like 5 hours on switch one never touched it again
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Sentinel of the stary skies
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ds is 20 years old this year
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So MJ no longer wants to play with it?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He put it down when the 3ds came out
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, RIP Felix does great videos on the PS3 yellow-light-of-death.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    Eventhough the New 3DS XL is more powerful, I still feel like the DS Lite was a more polished system. It's a real shame that it never got an XL variant keeping the GBA slot. You'd have to go on AliExpress and buy an ML shell to give a DS phat the unofficial "DS Lite" treatment, and that's the best we'll ever get I'm afraid.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    The phat model had amazingly loud speakers tho.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Jayro, I don't see whats so special about the DS ML, its just a DS lite in a phat shell. At least the phat model had louder speakers, whereas the lite has a much better screen.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    They probably said "Hey, why not we combine the two together and make a 'new' DS to sell".
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's a DS Lite in a slightly bigger DS Lite shell.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not a Nintendo / iQue official product, it's a 3rd party custom.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Nothing special about it other than it's more comfortable than the Lite
    for people with beefy hands.
    +1
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I have yaoi anime hands, very lorge but slender.
  • Jayro @ Jayro:
    I'm Slenderman.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I have hands.
    Veho @ Veho: +1