Hacking Complete Noob needs help with flashcarts

Blackfractals

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So, I admit I'm pretty new to flashcarts and emulation in general. I recently made a trade for a DS Lite with an Acekard 2. Not 2i, just 2. I figured out how to add roms, change skins, blah blah blah...but when it comes to updating firmware, I have no clue what to do or where to begin. I also don't know if this topic has been made 1000x already, so bear with me. I have a few questions, and any genuine answers are greeeeatttly appreciated.

1. How can I check what firmware I'm currently using?

2. How do you update/change firmware? (Links to tutorials or FAQs appreciated) What are the risks? Like...is it easy to brick your DS?

3. In the event I wanted to buy an entirely different flashcard, what is the absolute BEST you can recommend, AND can I just go out and buy a new one, insert my MicroSD, and be ready to go?

This last part of the 3rd question is important. I've been thinking about getting a DSTwo, for example, as I've heard a lot of good things about those cards...but as I've admitted, I know exactly jack squat about firmware updating, etc. What exactly is involved in regards to getting a new flashcart? Would I need a new MicroSD for any reason, or just update the firmware on THAT?

I just want to play Super Scribblenauts on my DS, and I'm not sure if I should hold my breath for a patch or a firmware update for Acekard. Suggestions?

pikachu945

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
In the event you wanted to buy a new flashcarts I would get an Supercard DSTWO
they a really good firmware called EOS the only trouble you have to go through if getting the roms
and yes you can use the same Micro SD on all flashcarts

tk_saturn

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
You don't want to update the firmware, you just want to update the Kernel which is AKAIO.

Press start => more => help and it will tell you what version you are using.