Homebrew CIA roms installation on 3DS/2DS : what is under the hood?

sfs76

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Hi,

I'm a newbie in the 3DS hacking/homebrew. Following a good tutorial, I've been able to install FBI and install CIA roms on my console without any problem.
But I'd like to understand a little bit how this works, and probably because I didn't choose the right keywords, I didn't find all the answers to my questions.

First, could you please confirm that everything is installed on the SD card? nothing on the internal nand? As far as I understood the roms installed from the /cias directory (if I follow the recommandations of the guide) on the SD card to the 'Nintendo 3DS' directory. Are the savegames also put in this directory which seems to be the only one created by the console? I have some experience with Wii and WiiU hacking, and with these consoles, some files are or can be on the internal NAND (especially save games), that's why I ask this question. In particular to know if I have to check in the future that the internal NAND is not full.

Second, I read that copying a SD card to another one (a bigger one for example) is possible, the new card will directly work (if FAT32 formatted). Question 2: would it work on anther 3DS/2DS?
Asked another way: is the install process like the brazilian method on the WiiU (except that the target drive is the SD card instead of internal NAND or USB drive)? I mean is the file "encrypted" during the process and linked to a specific console?

Last question: using the 3dsx format doesn't require installation if I understood correctly. So is it somehow similar to the WBFS format on the Wii, ie not linked to a specific console? Can be copied from console 1 to console 2 without any modification/installation and it will work? Is the only drawback not to have an icon on the home screen? or is there other limitations with this format?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

KleinesSinchen