Chrome issue with anything that uses https

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Hadrian, Apr 6, 2012.

Apr 6, 2012
  1. Hadrian
    OP

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have no idea what is going on with this, everything was just fine and dandy and suddenly sites like ebay, hotmail and even bog standard google search would not load. Not change any settings its just one minute they're working...next minute they're not.



    I can still access them via Firefox but going back to that after using Chrome is just a big step backwards.

    Help?
     
  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Sounds like a caching issue... Try using CCleaner (as much as I don't like that tool) and remove everything Chrome related from there (except saved passwords and stuff?).
     
  3. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    Is your system time correct?
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Hadrian
    OP

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't work for me.


    Yep
     
  5. Hadrian
    OP

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just reinstalled Chrome and all is working now.
     
  6. Hadrian
    OP

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok its happening again.

    UGH!
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    version 18 has a memory leak issue with something, it crashes if you leave it open for a day.

    It doesn't make a crash log so I can't tell what it is doing.
     
  8. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    If it's happening again it might be something left behind in your hidden appdata folder (assuming you're using windows). Use YourUninstaller! to remove ALL traces left by a program after uninstalling. I always use this followed by CCleaner to ensure complete removal of any program.

    (you pay for that program, but if you're a dirty pirate, you'll find it)
     
  9. Hadrian
    OP

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did all that and same issues. I did just reboot my PC and it was fine and then many hours later...did the same...then it didn't...then it did.

    So basically its on and off for whatever reason but I'm ok, I'll just reboot everytime it starts doesn't take long.
     
  10. Just Another Gamer

    Member Just Another Gamer 星空のメモリア-Wish upon a shooting star- Fanboy

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,898
    Location:
    Watching Hibarigasaki's starry sky
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats weird cause i've been using chrome for a long time and I've never had this problem even when I installed the newest version on my laptop.
     
  11. Hadrian
    OP

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It turns out that it is a common problem recently with a lot of people so they've updated Chrome and now has been well for a few days now. Apparently the new update has some kind of severe cache bug but I haven't noticed anything.
     

Share This Page