Homebrew CFW Questions

petethepug

PUG
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey so I am a noob to the 3DS Hacking Communiy. I have recently bought my sister a new 3ds XL with 9.2 Firmware, she later on upgraded her 3DS to 11.0 firmware. I later on bought FreakyForms Deluxe from someone on here, so I can run, and launch Homebrew on her 3DS

On topic though;
I been having concerns of 11.0 Firmware blocking most Homebrew Opurtunites like Emulation, backing up the NAND, and so on, which is still possible to run those types of hacks on a 3DS with 11.0 firmware but you would need to setup a hardmod for the 3DS in order to give it NAND Brick Protection, and for using online features on a hacked 3DS.

I have been researching through guides, and tutorials and both have concerned me since some guides may be outdated, or incorrect with methods we use to get CFW today.

You can technically use a flashcart to backup your NAND but there would be no way of recovering it through the hardmod.

So can anyone confirm this please? As well as;
- 11.0 CFW/hardmod Installment is stable (Chances of brick are rare, if not have no sign of bricks.)
- Do you need to downgrade your 3DS to 9.X in order to install a CFW "completely"
- CFW can do the following, give brick protection, playing ROM's off of a SD Card, playing emulators, make it so you can cheat online in games without getting banned, provide online functionallity for lower FW versions of a 3DS.
- CFW installment uses a Hardmod method which reads a SD Card, that SD Card can be taken into a device, where that device can plug it in to your PC/Laptop so it can read the SD Card allowing CFW to be installed.
- CFW is not necessarily needed.

I am just making sure I am doing the right thing. Becuase I don't want to screw my sister over if I brick her device. Thanks!

Davidosky99

Eevee :3
Banned
Trophies
Website
www.davidosky99.xyz
XP
Country
1-Yes, it is as long as you don't screw up in the guide
2-yes