Can't install Dr. Mario WAD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JJBro1, May 27, 2008.

May 27, 2008

Can't install Dr. Mario WAD? by JJBro1 at 4:29 AM (5,110 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    When i run the WAD installer it just opens my WAD folder and then says ok and tells me to reset the wii. Is this happening to anyone else or did i get a bad dump?
     
  2. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    ? Are you using Wad installer or Wad manager? Wad installer requires you to push reset to install games. You just tap the reset button and it will start installing. Then once it installs it will tell you to push reset again and the wii will reset and your new game/channel will be on the wii main menu.
     
  3. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    you may not have the wads in the folder

    do not categorize them inside a folder

    x:\wad\aasasadd.wad
     
  4. raid168

    Newcomer raid168 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    ntsc dr.mario already comes out?
     
  5. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    i've installed WADS plenty of times and they all worked and im doing dr. mario the same way and its not working. Maybe it has something to do with the new homebrew channel. Ima do some more experimenting later.
     
  6. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    or you may have changed the file extension
     
  7. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
  8. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
  9. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    better than wad installer?
     
  10. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    how so? Don't they do the same thing?
     
  11. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    it has uninstaller integrated into it?

    so its technically better than wad installer only?
     
  12. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    It reads the files off the wad directory on the sd card and lists them out. You select which one you wanna install/uninstall all from one program. You can add/remove as many as you want then go back to the wii menu without having to hard reset the system.
     
  13. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    so your saying that using the WAD manager will install this?
     
  14. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe, why dont you try things for yourself just for a change instead of relying on questions
     
  15. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    I'm saying it is worth a shot. [​IMG] I've never heard of the error that you're getting so anything you can change is worth a shot.
     
  16. Sebastian25

    Member Sebastian25 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Country:
    United States
    the error happens because you haven't updated your wiishop channel.
     
  17. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    hey i have a lot of wads and never did my wii had any kind of updates
     
  18. Prince Valmont

    Member Prince Valmont GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    You probably need to update your firmware to 3.2

    I have the exact same problem you do. All my other wads work perfectly, but Dr. Mario & Final Fantasy DO NOT work on my parents' wii. You select the channel, hit start and it just reboots to the wii main menu, right?

    Well the only times I can update my wii is when I insert Discs like Super Smash Bros Brawl, which force firmware upgrades.
    I can't get online with the wii at my parents' house, so I need to know if there's a way to download firmware upgrade 3.2

    Is there?
     
  19. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    not exactly. When i try to install the wad the wad installer opens my folder says ok and tells me to reset the wii. It didnt even attempt installing the wad.
     
  20. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try the WAD manager yet?
     

Share This Page