Cannot format SDHC 8GB with SDFormatter?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by liberation5, Sep 15, 2011.

Sep 15, 2011
  1. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying to format my 8GB SDHC with SDFormatter but it's not working. The error message that pops up is

    "Could not format the memory card. Either the drive or the Memory Card is not supported by this software."

    I am using the adapter that was included with my memory card.

    I can copy files onto it, so I don't think it is the memory card itself...

    Please help! Thanks!
     
  2. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    is the lock switch off n ur sd card?
     
  3. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    yea the lock switch is off, if it was on, i wouldn't even be able to copy files onto the sd card
     
  4. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    Check microSD in the cellphone. Maybe it's broken.
    If it is microSD to SD adaptor inserted into Laptop - try another adapror.
    If it is microSD USB reader inserted into USB port - try another USB port in computer, try another reader.
    Try to format with another OS/PC
     
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
  6. caam14

    Newcomer caam14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Portugal
    Were do you buy your sdcard?
    If you buy from a Chinese seller be aware that it could be a fake 8Gb card.
    Try to put 8Gb of files in it if you get erros in the copy try the h2testw.exe(http://www.heise.de/software/download/h2testw/50539) software this software will tell you the real capacity of the card.

    Regards.
     
  7. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    formatting with the OS was successful, can't seem to get gparted to run during bootup, says bootmgr is missing.
     
  8. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I bought my SD card from newegg.com its new too, i just received it like 2 days ago. I'll try your suggestion, but the max size is only 7.44 so it will have to be below that. I'll report back what happens.
     
  9. caam14

    Newcomer caam14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Portugal
    Of course that the size of the card won't be 8Gb exactly, never is.
     
  10. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    here are the results from that program:


    Warning: Only 7626 of 7627 MByte tested.
    Test finished without errors.
    You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
    Writing speed: 16.6 MByte/s
    Reading speed: 20.6 MByte/s
    H2testw v1.4
     
  11. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    Member NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    The EoF
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats all normal, nothing wrong there.
     
  12. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    ok then i guess it's just the sdformatter software that doesn't work with this microsd... its weird lol but ok. do you think that it will still work with the acekard 2i and akaio 1.8.8?
     
  13. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Should work yes. It's really strange that you can't use sd formatter with it but ok [​IMG]
     
  14. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    some users have reported similar problems and gparted live fixed the issue. the problem was an incorrect partition and the sd formatter was either unable to format the msd or unable to format it correctly.

    you might want to try again with gparted live. we can't guarantee that every rom, homebrew, etc, will work if you have not used the sd formatter.

    -another world
     
  15. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    ok well in that case, can you walk me through getting gparted live to be a bootable usb so I can run it as a boot device? I tried it, and I get the error BOOTMGR is missing at boot up when booting up from the usb. Apparently, it looks like I did it the wrong way. PM or replying here will be ok.
     
  16. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    never mind, i found out how to use gparted live. so when i got into gparted live i just formatted the sd card to fat32 and did all the checks and repairs gparted live could do. all of them completed successfully, so that should be good enough right?
     
  17. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,554
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah that is enough for sure, now you should be able to use everything without problems.
     
  18. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    ok cool, i'll probably pick up a 3ds and acekard 2i once decent games start coming... aka november: super mario 3d ftw!
     
  19. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'm not sure you would try this, but just out of curiosity i wonder if the panasonic formatter will now reformat that card? maybe just leave it alone because its all working, lol.

    -another world
     
  20. liberation5
    OP

    Newcomer liberation5 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    yea i tried the sdformatter again, but still failed to format unfortunately
     

Share This Page