Cannot format SDHC 8GB with SDFormatter?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by liberation5, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    I am trying to format my 8GB SDHC with SDFormatter but it's not working. The error message that pops up is

    "Could not format the memory card. Either the drive or the Memory Card is not supported by this software."

    I am using the adapter that was included with my memory card.

    I can copy files onto it, so I don't think it is the memory card itself...

    Please help! Thanks!
     
  2. kirbymaster101

    kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,049
    48
    Dec 21, 2008
    Canada
    is the lock switch off n ur sd card?
     
  3. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    yea the lock switch is off, if it was on, i wouldn't even be able to copy files onto the sd card
     
  4. eggsample

    eggsample punahussy

    Member
    529
    56
    Mar 29, 2010
    Poland
    Check microSD in the cellphone. Maybe it's broken.
    If it is microSD to SD adaptor inserted into Laptop - try another adapror.
    If it is microSD USB reader inserted into USB port - try another USB port in computer, try another reader.
    Try to format with another OS/PC
     
  5. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,487
    1,597
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
  6. caam14

    caam14 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 13, 2011
    Were do you buy your sdcard?
    If you buy from a Chinese seller be aware that it could be a fake 8Gb card.
    Try to put 8Gb of files in it if you get erros in the copy try the h2testw.exe(http://www.heise.de/software/download/h2testw/50539) software this software will tell you the real capacity of the card.

    Regards.
     
  7. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    formatting with the OS was successful, can't seem to get gparted to run during bootup, says bootmgr is missing.
     
  8. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    I bought my SD card from newegg.com its new too, i just received it like 2 days ago. I'll try your suggestion, but the max size is only 7.44 so it will have to be below that. I'll report back what happens.
     
  9. caam14

    caam14 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Apr 13, 2011
    Of course that the size of the card won't be 8Gb exactly, never is.
     
  10. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    here are the results from that program:


    Warning: Only 7626 of 7627 MByte tested.
    Test finished without errors.
    You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
    Writing speed: 16.6 MByte/s
    Reading speed: 20.6 MByte/s
    H2testw v1.4
     
  11. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!

    Member
    859
    99
    Feb 10, 2011
    The EoF
    Thats all normal, nothing wrong there.
     
  12. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    ok then i guess it's just the sdformatter software that doesn't work with this microsd... its weird lol but ok. do you think that it will still work with the acekard 2i and akaio 1.8.8?
     
  13. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,790
    8,058
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Should work yes. It's really strange that you can't use sd formatter with it but ok [​IMG]
     
  14. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,487
    1,597
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
    some users have reported similar problems and gparted live fixed the issue. the problem was an incorrect partition and the sd formatter was either unable to format the msd or unable to format it correctly.

    you might want to try again with gparted live. we can't guarantee that every rom, homebrew, etc, will work if you have not used the sd formatter.

    -another world
     
  15. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    ok well in that case, can you walk me through getting gparted live to be a bootable usb so I can run it as a boot device? I tried it, and I get the error BOOTMGR is missing at boot up when booting up from the usb. Apparently, it looks like I did it the wrong way. PM or replying here will be ok.
     
  16. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    never mind, i found out how to use gparted live. so when i got into gparted live i just formatted the sd card to fat32 and did all the checks and repairs gparted live could do. all of them completed successfully, so that should be good enough right?
     
  17. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    6,790
    8,058
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Yeah that is enough for sure, now you should be able to use everything without problems.
     
  18. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    ok cool, i'll probably pick up a 3ds and acekard 2i once decent games start coming... aka november: super mario 3d ftw!
     
  19. Another World

    Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Former Staff
    10,487
    1,597
    Jan 3, 2008
    Colombia
    From Where???
    i'm not sure you would try this, but just out of curiosity i wonder if the panasonic formatter will now reformat that card? maybe just leave it alone because its all working, lol.

    -another world
     
  20. liberation5
    OP

    liberation5 Member

    Newcomer
    13
    0
    Aug 13, 2011
    United States
    yea i tried the sdformatter again, but still failed to format unfortunately