Can the Wii be used as accespoint for the DS?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Harglowe, Nov 14, 2006.

Nov 14, 2006
  1. Harglowe
    OP

    Newcomer Harglowe Newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    As I still have no Wi-Fi connector for my DS and I'd rather not want to set up a wireless network, I was planning to connect my Wii to a wired router, which in turn I will connect to my cable modem.

    Does anyone know if the Wii, in such a setup, can be used as accespoint for the DS?

    I browsed the net for a bit, but haven't found an (official) answer.
     
  2. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Straight out the box there is no chance of this because the Wii doesn't have a wired port.

    With the USB adaptor it is possible nothing has been said beyond that the DS can connect wirelessly to the Wii. On one hand its really handy for DS owners without Windows (for the WiFi adaptor) or a wireless AP, but on the other hand Nintendo have released the WiFi adaptor and this could interfere with their sales.
     
  3. Harglowe
    OP

    Newcomer Harglowe Newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Erm..... bit vague in my OP....I am planning to connect the Wii with the Nintendo's USB-to-Ethernet Adapter to my wired router.
     
  4. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There isn't any confirmed information about it so vague is all I can offer, its possible but not confirmed.
     
  5. nunofgs

    Member nunofgs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Portugal
    Why is there no chance? They could set it at as an AP Repeater. There just needs to be an available AP signal for it to repeat. But if there is already a signal, why not connect directly to it from the DS?
     
  6. legendofphil

    Member legendofphil Phil no Densetsu

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,214
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it worked like that then its possible, but this was somewhere with no wireless AP.
    And like you said, why not connect it directly to the AP in the first place.
     
  7. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    It won't be a possiblity out-of-the-box, but Nintendo has stated that they will be releasing an Ethernet kit for the Wii in the near future.
     

Share This Page