Can I flash a wiikey with YAOSM via DVD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Framework43, Sep 27, 2008.

Sep 27, 2008
  1. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Can I flash a wiikey with YAOSM via DVD?
     


  2. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    No, you can't.

    Wiikey uses the ATmega8; YAOSM uses PICs.
     
  3. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    So if I were to get this:
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.12714

    I just have to program it with YAOSM with the programmer and use the little thing that is the on the acual clip as a modchip?

    EDIT: Does that need soldering?
     
  4. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.

    You'll need a computer with a serial port, and a mini-USB cable to give the programmer some power.

    No soldering at all.
     
  5. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    I have both of those, but on the site, it says to use YAOSM i need to solder 5 pins or something as seen on :

    http://www.wii-clip.com/FREE-CLIP.htm
     
  6. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    That's the original YAOSM-diagram. You would have to use this if you were to use a normal pic. With the Free-clip there is no soldering involved (except maybe to remove your wiikey / you can't use both chips at once). The wii-clip site really is unclear in this point...
     
  7. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    I have already removed the wiikey but what do you mean by the original yaosm diagram? The newer version doesnt require those pins anymore?
     
  8. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    The PIC is includet in the Feeclip, as seen here: http://www.wii-clip.com/images/FREE-Clip-01.jpg
    So you don't have to solder the PIC anywhere, as you would normally have to do without the Free-Clip, that's what I meant.

    You just need to flash the newest YAOSM two LED hex for the 12F683 on it, put the free-clip on your drive-controller and you are done.

    Btw. if I may ask. Why did you get rid of your Wiikey? I mean YAOSM is the better chip, no doubt about that, but if you have a working chip why get a new one?
     
  9. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for the answers! I'm going to buy one soon ^-^
    Slowking, could you write me a n00bish tutorial if you have time, that would be nice ^^
    Like the programs and things I need to use to flash it
     
  10. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    My cousion really wanted a modchip so since YAOSM is better I thought, i would give him my wiikey, and ill buy a cheaper modchip like a free clip
     
  11. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Theres no PIC 12F683 with that pack by the looks of it,its just the clip for a PIC 12F683 & the programmer,you would need to get hold of the PIC (there dirt cheap probably about $1 tops) and you would have to solder it to the clip.The original diagram is for the solder points that you would use if you didnt have a clip http://nintendo-scene.com/wp-content/uploa...m_schematic.jpg
     
  12. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Don't confuse him. The 12F683 is in the Clip, as seen here: http://www.wii-clip.com/images/FREE-Clip-01.jpg [​IMG]
     
  13. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look @ the pack he's linked to before saying that,there's no PIC with it.
     
  14. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    I bought a free-clip from DX before, there's a PIC in there. [​IMG]
     
  15. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
     
  16. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes your right sorry didnt see that part.
     
  17. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
  18. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    probably not. The programmers won't work with those converters most of the time.
    If you want to program YAOSM you need to find a computer with a serial port. Aren't there any old computers around in your house?
     
  19. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the computer Im using is pretty old but my ports thing looks like this:
    http://lcdinterfacing.googlepages.com/new-...-full;init:.jpg
     
  20. Framework43
    OP

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    I got great news! I do have a serial port but it was covered all this time XP
     

Share This Page