Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    This is just a suggestion and I know somethings are limited by forum software.

    I am wondering if instead of not allowing users to do anything if it would be possible to allow them to browse the forum but just not post or link. I know this can be done with a lurker but sometimes you are automatically signed in when you are on a browser so you just sit there.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  2. p1ngpong

    p1ngpong Gamer Professional Deluxe
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,754
    Country:
    Croatia
    Its part of the punishment, especially for banned members.
     
    Seriel and cid xiv like this.
  3. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    Alright. Makes sense I guess
     
  4. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    That's called being a guest user.
     
  5. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    But guest users can't like and
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  6. SickPuppy

    SickPuppy New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,830
    Country:
    United States
    Really.

    That's too bad we're not smart enough to get around that glitch.
     
    DarkFlare69 and Deleted User like this.
  7. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    I got around it. It isn't that hard. But I used an alternate browser which sucks (cough MS Edge cough)
     
  8. Clydefrosch

    Clydefrosch GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,863
    Country:
    Germany
    well, its not like you can't just get any other alternative browser, switch a profile or delete cookies and log in data to prevent being logged in automatically
     
    Deleted-236924 likes this.
  9. SickPuppy

    SickPuppy New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,830
    Country:
    United States
    Why do you have your browser remember your passwords? You could have just disabled that feature in your browser for gbatemp while you were banned, then you could have used your regular browser. In your first post you said it's a limitation of the forum software, but it's not, it's you having your browser sign you in automatically is what caused the problem.
     
    Last edited by SickPuppy, Jan 2, 2016
  10. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    Look, we aren't here to talk about how I run my electronics and what my preferences are. This isn't a tech support thread so if you wish to say something speak about the topic and say something everyone can benefit from.
     
  11. dpad_5678

    dpad_5678 Ape weak on own. Ape strong in unity.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,211
    Country:
    United States
    If you are IP banned then use a Proxy or VPN.

    If you are username banned then clear your cookies and/or browser data to log out.
     
  12. SickPuppy

    SickPuppy New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,830
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt he was IP banned if it was just a temporary ban.
     
  13. Minox

    Minox Thanks for the fish
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,850
    Country:
    Japan
    Locked upon request.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - suspended, Browsing, banned

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.