Broadband advice

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Blaze163, Aug 18, 2010.

Aug 18, 2010

Broadband advice by Blaze163 at 4:37 PM (812 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lali ho.

    Due to our neighbour finaly twigging that we're all leeching her wireless broadband, and the only other unsecured network around being utterly cack, we're considering actually paying for our broadband. It's shameful, I agree. But without the net the entire house grinds to a halt. So I find myself in need of advice from my fellow UK Tempers. Here's what I need.

    - Cheap as possible. I said I was prepared to pay for it, I didn't say work an extra job for it.
    - Unlimited downloads. I'm still a pirate with two hacked handhelds to support. So having a download limit doesn't strike me as a good idea.
    - Reasonably quick. I have a famously short attention span and hate waiting on anything.
    - Reliable. I don't want something that's cheap because it's shit.
    - DOESN'T require a BT landline. We don't have one, nor any wish for one. Nor do we intend to pay extra for a phone line we'll never use.
     
  2. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seeing that you've already admitted being a thief [​IMG] if you've got cable TV why dont you get a hacked Virgin cable modem.
     
  3. Chaosruler

    Member Chaosruler GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Tekoa
    Country:
    Israel
    Cuz FBI is reading this site before crashign his house, they'd know where to look since you already mentioned it out [​IMG]
     
  4. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We have a Freeview box. Not cable or sattelite TV. Didn't see the point in paying for extra channels when there's sod all on either way.
     
  5. meornot0

    Member meornot0 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    You could get a wifi adapter with an external antenna, then make a super antenna with a pringles can, to connect to other networks.

    But make sure you have permission to connect to the person who's network your stealing.(not really)
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000CC3ZFS/ (assuming you presently lack a compatible one, I got a bunch of these the other month and they work wonderfully).
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/
    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/doku.php?id=links
    Similarly the WEP using BT home hubs have a big flaw http://www.gnucitizen.org/blog/default-key...me-hub-routers/

    Assuming you are not up for that (it truly is very simple) onto the matter at hand
    Cheap as possible and Unlimited downloads do not really exist in the UK not to mention "limits" are sometimes shockingly low (30 gigs and what have you- multiple people who know how to use a computer will knock that out in less than a week, go on a downloading binge and that rises to ).

    Most ISP companies will require a BT landline (it is pretty much 3g, virgin or satellite* otherwise) but if you know what you are doing (BT do offer somewhat cheap landlines but they will try and sting you every which way they can if you have one- did not use the phone part of it well you get to pay us for not using it sort of thing) there are ways around it. There are takeover options and straight up installs if you do not already have a line.
    Other companies that install lines (or are not tied to BT by various methods) are
    http://broadband.talktalk.co.uk/newlines - I do not have the best things to say but as long as you do not expect to host a server on it, want fancy extras or use their email servers they work well enough. They have gobbled up a few other ISPs as well of late so they hopefully gained something out of that.
    http://www.plus.net/ - never used them myself.

    The nice thing about some of these alternative providers is that you can often get out of things with just a notice period of a month or two (way less than a year or worse 18 months)
    A link of possible interest:
    http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange/CMCGF

    *note not sky- they too require a landline (although they wholesale lines from BT so make of that what you will), I mean an actual satellite dish.
     
  7. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since when have the FBI been interested in UK cable internet hacking?
     
  8. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't get Sky broadband it's crap (speaking from experience).
    that's all the advice I'm able to give XD
     
  9. Blaze163
    OP

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Looks like we'll have to accept the necessity of a BT land line then. I suppose in a way it works to my advantage since I can set up my eBay seller's account once we have a house phone and finally sell my boxed copy of UN Squadron. Been trying to get rid of the damn thing for ages, amongst other things.

    Hardly any skin off my rosey nose as my dad is setting up the broadband, I'm contributing to the monthly fees for the net (but not the phone unless I'm actually using it) which is fair enough. Since there are 3 people in the house, we'll split the fees 3 ways equally. Seems fair to me. We all use the net. Will check out various deals when I next pass through town, see if I can track down a bargain.
     
  10. Blood Fetish

    Member Blood Fetish Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    980
    Country:
    United States
    You do not need a phone line to have DSL. It's called a dry loop. Most ISPs will lie to you about this since they want the extra money.
     

Share This Page