Hacking Bricked wii help

paddy.melon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
Ok, got a bricked wii. I've made a post here on all the stuff: http://tinyurl.com/wiibrick -->here

Basically, here's what it's come down to: I have a drivekey. Am I able to use the autoboot function of the drivekey along with savemiifrii to unbrick my wii? What disc should I use? I got no cIOS installed because, I changed all my IOSes before the brick. Anyway, all the info is in the above link. Post any ideas to the link, or here. Otherwise, for the next hour or so, I'll be on Freenode as paddy_melon (in cios and gamingextreme... btw, know any good console modding channels that could help). Thanks for any contributions. Really appreciate it.

Oh and, contacted bushing but, he is yet to get back to me.
 

0M39A

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
374
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
if you were updating from the conduit, then it would be 3.4 update.

if you were ever on 4.0/4.1/4.2 and downgraded to 3.2, then updated to 3.4 you will brick due to the stub ios50 that was already on your system.

you said you stupidly installed bootmii but never took a nand backup. kick yourself now.

not all is lost though. you should be able to use cboot2, then load up wad manager and install a working ios50.

[edit]

ok, i re-read your link... you had bootmii... but it reads like you no longer do...? why the hell would you uninstall it?
 

0M39A

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
374
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
beegee7730 said:
...Maybe he only installed Bootmii-IOS?

I only have the config file and, the armboot.bin and ppcboot.elf)

why would he have those files if he only installed as ios?
 

0M39A

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
374
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
fair enough, i wasnt aware bootmii as ios worked that way, i thought you just opened it from the homebrew channel, no other files needed. cheers for that.
 

paddy.melon

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
15
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
The detailed information was in the link. I don't have a GC controller... would it be worth trying one?

I don't have bootmii. I didn't uninstall it. What happened was, had it and then, I downgraded to 3.2 and, it disappeared... and never had time to put it back in. yes, I'm now kicking myself. Since I downgraded... I've probably got the brick due to a sub IOS50... how can I fix it?

Anyway, just one question... I think it will work. If I have an autoboot drivekey (I have a drivekey but... with the autoboot feature off so, I'll put it in my friend's wii and change the setting) and then use savemiifrii... will it work. now I know the cause of the brick... Is it possible to do this???

Please read the link. Thank you for your replies

Found this link: Here Does this mean that it is impossible... even with autoboot drivekey?

So... following that on... is there any way to install bootmii now that I'm bricked? Is it possible with a NAND dump of another wii and, taking parts of it that are the generic bootmii boot2 and, flashing that into my NAND?
 

DarkMatterCore

I like turtles.
Developer
Joined
May 30, 2009
Messages
1,288
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
Madrid, Spain
Website
github.com
XP
2,514
Country
Spain
paddy.melon said:
The detailed information was in the link. I don't have a GC controller... would it be worth trying one?

I don't have bootmii. I didn't uninstall it. What happened was, had it and then, I downgraded to 3.2 and, it disappeared... and never had time to put it back in. yes, I'm now kicking myself. Since I downgraded... I've probably got the brick due to a sub IOS50... how can I fix it?

Anyway, just one question... I think it will work. If I have an autoboot drivekey (I have a drivekey but... with the autoboot feature off so, I'll put it in my friend's wii and change the setting) and then use savemiifrii... will it work. now I know the cause of the brick... Is it possible to do this???

Please read the link. Thank you for your replies

Found this link: Here Does this mean that it is impossible... even with autoboot drivekey?

So... following that on... is there any way to install bootmii now that I'm bricked? Is it possible with a NAND dump of another wii and, taking parts of it that are the generic bootmii boot2 and, flashing that into my NAND?

Nope, it won't work, because the Recovery Menu is a piece of code that belongs to the original System Menu an executes itself under the same IOS the sysmenu does, which in this case is a stub, and you can't run any code from a stubbed IOS. Too bad... If you don't have installed BootMii as Boot2, you're f*cked up, unless you use an Infectus chip to reprogram the NAND contents and do the thing you mentioned, and it will only work if your Boot1 version is an old one.
 

0M39A

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
374
Trophies
0
XP
26
Country
if you got your wii a year ago, unless it was old stock or second hand, chances are its boot2v4 and would have a fixed boot1, hence wouldnt let you install bootmii to boot2.

anyway, you confirmed you downgraded to 3.2 (i assume from 4.x) and hence you now have a stub ios50. bricked beyond recovery.

even with an infectus you wont be able to get bootmii installed to boot2, as boot1 wont accept it.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Happens every so often.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I tried being a mod for a while. It was too much.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    In other words, dealing with harassing and nonsensical PMs on a daily basis.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Running for mod would be nice, but then again you have to deal with tons of negative people.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you'll have a looooong way to go young grasshopper
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I know.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You'd need to be a respectful and repetable member for something like what, 4 years?
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    being helpful to the community and a similar mindset as the rest of the staff also goes a long way
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Alot of users just want it for attention tbh
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know a forum that said if you're good and don't ask you usually get it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    you mean this forum?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Nah others
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You know what they say, I want never gets.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Iirc temp usually votes people in or holds an application every once in a blue moon
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ^ that
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    They're pretty good at hiring the sexy ones
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Inc. Dinoh
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    550k members and only about a dozen staff they hold their own pretty well
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Stupid region locked digital keys are the dumbest thing next gen consoles have come up with
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @DinohScene, that Xbox code ever work?
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yeh it was the PC version of 76
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    regardless, the hubby took it : D
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    lawl the site said xbox
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Was given a PC Game Pass key for free, didn't work because region locking. :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Or as I like to call it, RACISM.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Or as I like to call it, RACISM.