1. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Country:
    Poland
    Patches that unlocks 60 FPS in all Bioshocks. Fix to Dynamic Resolution framerate target made by @Kirby567fan

    Go as high as you can with clocks (especially GPU), because it won't give you locked 60 FPS.
    Forget about docked mode.

    Games can go as low as 50% of window resolution (which means 360p in handheld and 540p in docked) by default.

    If you want to tweak graphics settings, you can find config files in:
    • Bioshock 1: romfs/configini.ibf (UTF-8 mixed with UTF-16, you can edit it with Notepad++)
    • Bioshock 2: romfs/configini.ibf (UTF-16, in Notepad++ you will get characters and nulls between them - you can reformat them, but use it only as reference to edit original file, because after reformatting file will be broken for game)
    • Bioshock Infinite: romfs/XGame/CookedNX_FR/Coalesced_***.bin [*** is different for each language, INT is English] (You need to use this script to unpack and repack bin file, Python 2 is required): https://github.com/flatz/bioshock/blob/master/bsicoalescedtool.py)

    So you can sacrifice what you want to get better experience.

    It works only for 1.0.2 version of games.

    Put exefs_patches folder to

    atmosphere
    or
    reinx
    or
    sxos

    And restart Switch.

    Thanks to ~evo for tests.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by masagrator, Jun 13, 2020
  2. Redone_

    Redone_ Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Canada
    You dropped the bomb I was waiting for, thanks alot!!!

    Sent from my Redmi Note 5 using Tapatalk
     
  3. SwitchHack

    SwitchHack GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Japan
    Thanks <3
     
  4. ecl0674

    ecl0674 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Russia
    For Bioshock 2 you can use this tool by banz99 to edit configini.ibf
     

    Attached Files:

    m3anmug, cucholix and masagrator like this.
  5. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,303
    Country:
    Chile
    Does it work for Bioshock 1 too?
     
  6. ecl0674

    ecl0674 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Russia
    I don't know. But for what? Masagrator says in Bioshock 1 you can use Notepad++
     
  7. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Country:
    Poland
    Don't say this does need any specific tool :P

    upload_2020-6-6_16-46-3.png
     
    cucholix likes this.
  8. driverdis

    driverdis I am Justice
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2,599
    Country:
    United States
    If anyone is able to tune the graphics config to hit 60 a lot more often at OC GPU speeds, like 768+ then please post your config.

    I will be trying some adjustments later but having other configs to compare results would be beneficial since the game is definitely capable of 60fps in less demanding areas so graphical reductions are hopefully all it needs.
     
  9. SwitchHack

    SwitchHack GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Japan
    I tried infinity, but the frame rate never goes 60.
    It is simply an unlocked frame rate.
     
  10. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,303
    Country:
    Chile
    lol my game arrives on monday (hopefully) so wanted to get prepped, I thought it was one of those encrypted files where if you add/remove a character it screws the whole file.
     
  11. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, this is what I was trying to say in first post...
     
  12. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,303
    Country:
    Chile
    Do you need specifically python 2 to open the Bioshock Infinite .bin? I have 3.7 on my PC, also how's the whole process to unpack/repack the bin with the script?
     
  13. angel2

    angel2 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Turkey
    hello friends I have bioshock remastered 2 and infinite games have Turkish language files have translations for ps4 and pc but for nintendo switch to which location do I need to copy these files, also in which extension the files need to be copied, sorry for my bad english
     
  14. Rashield

    Rashield Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Mexico
    i was expecting something like this
    Thanks!
     
  15. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Country:
    Poland
    It won't work on 3.7, you will get syntax error.

    Just run script and you will get commands to use
     
  16. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,303
    Country:
    Chile
    I'm under Windows 10 64bits and it says it can't run the application (python 2.0)
     
  17. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Country:
    Poland
    Why not 2.7?
     
  18. cucholix

    cucholix Banners guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,303
    Country:
    Chile
    Ok, installed 2.7.2 (64-bit), now I have the script copied in a txt which I saved as .py, now the python icon appears on it, but when double clicking on the script nothing happens, a windows opens for a milisecs then closes.
     
  19. masagrator

    OP masagrator The developper
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Messages:
    3,075
    Country:
    Poland
    Open cmd in python 2.7 folder (where is python.exe) -> python.exe script.py
     
    cucholix likes this.
  20. Kirby567fan

    Kirby567fan GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Morocco
    For those that want a stable 60FPS, I made these Lower Resolution mods for this collection. Bioshock 1 and 2 Remastered both run at 603p now, while Infinite was dropped to 504p. Keep in mind that this still needs max OC or at least docked clocks on GPU to be able to reach 60FPS in combat and open areas in Infinite. These mods change resolution in both docked mode and portable mode.
     

    Attached Files:

Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Collection, BioShock,