bannerbomb vs Twilight Hack

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fldash, May 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
May 18, 2009

bannerbomb vs Twilight Hack by fldash at 3:35 PM (6,418 Views / 0 Likes) 32 replies

  1. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    I'm about to give up, I can't seem to find a tutorial that fits my scenario. I have a hardmodded Wii with nothing else installed on it. I'd like to be able to run the Homebrew Channel and Homebrew on it. What steps do I need to take to accomplish this?

    According to the BootMii website, you can install it using the TP hack or bannerbomb, but does using bannerbomb require you to have done anything to your system prior to being able to use it?

    I have no idea what system menu I'm running, but from what I'm reading this shouldn't really matter, so long as I can get BootMii installed then downgrade my system to whatever menu is needed.

    Any help is appreciated, even if it's vague instructions such as: do this, this, and this. I can find out how to do those things, I just need to know which path to take.
     


  2. wiiNinja

    Member wiiNinja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    If the bannerbomb requires something else to be installed, then it would become a chicken or the egg problem. So no, you shouldn't have to install anything prior. Steps I recommend to get started:

    1) Find out your system menu: It's in the Wii's Settings screen
    2) Use BannerBomb to install BootMii. This will also install HomeBrew Channel
    3) Backup your NAND. If you screw up, you can always recover to this point.
    4) Follow this guide to mod your Wii for playing backups: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=112945&st=0
     
  3. bugaveli

    Banned bugaveli Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Location:
    In a remote place
    Country:
    United States
    if you dont know what your system menu is then you need to read a nit more before attempting.
    please goto noob forum, Every thing that came up on search fits your scenario. Follow the tutorials and you will be fine. youre thinkig too hard. Everyone thinks that their wiis are different and special but theyre not. (unless theyre lu64)
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    tp hack is dead on 4.0 so if your using that system menu your only choice is bannerbomb.
     
  5. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    I don't know what my system menu is because I haven't turned on my Wii in months, not because I'm incapable of finding out, but thanks for your concern. [​IMG]

    wiiNinja, thanks for the information. Do I need to follow the guide to allow my Wii to play backups if I have a hardmod (modchip)? Is that required for Homebrew?

    To backup my Nand, is that a feature of BootMii or do I need the Preloader or Starfall?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    You are too lazy to find out your system menu version? You are not the kind of person who should be modding a Wii dude.

    Also use the board search feature dude it's in the upper-right corner of the page.

    edit: Dude.
     
  7. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Not the kind of person who should be modding a Wii? I soldered my own chip, I think I know what I'm doing. Install bannerbomb, use it to launch BootMii which will install HBC and backup my Nand in case of an accident.

    Will you please get over yourself? You aren't elitist...

    And I'm not too lazy to get my menu version, I'm at work, something you probably don't do. While at work, I don't have access to anything at my house, like my Wii.

    I got it, and if I need help, I'll go elsewhere. Or PM someone without a stick up their ass.
     
  9. Kosaic

    Member Kosaic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Country:
    Canada
    Dude, listen to yourself.

    If you have 3.x - There are 1 million posts here on what to do
    If you have 4.x - There are 1 million posts here on what to do

    The fact that you came here asking questions and for help, without knowing your sysmenu version .. begs for the treatment you are getting. What were you expecting to hear? About the new Magic Fairy Wand hack ?

    Sorry .....
     
  10. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Sorry nothing... I asked specific questions regarding my options and if they did the same thing, because believe it or not, it's not that clear by reading the sites. There are ways to answer users without sounding like condescending jerks while still maintaining a 'you need to be able to help yourself' attitude. A few posters have done that quite well....

    Look at the other topic 'Can I install HBC on Wiikey 1'. There are no troll posts there at all... Must be luck of the draw.

    If you don't want to help someone, simply don't post. It's not that hard.
     
  11. Kosaic

    Member Kosaic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks

    *giggling*

    and by the way : "I have no idea what system menu I'm running, but from what I'm reading this shouldn't really matter, so long as I can get BootMii installed then downgrade my system to whatever menu is needed."

    IT COMPLETELY MATTERS IF YOU DONT HAVE HOMEBREW CHANNEL INSTALLED YET !!!!!!!!!!
     
  12. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    It doesn't matter at all if you use bannerbomb, it works with any version of the system menu. Thanks for proving you are just a troll.
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,353
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    no one will help you until you say what system menu your running. so your wasting your time.
     
  14. Hedgehogofchaos

    Member Hedgehogofchaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    Canada
    next time use goddamn google
     
  15. Kosaic

    Member Kosaic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Country:
    Canada
    *Still Giggling* - I see a new Brick in someone's future ... [​IMG]

    You claim to understand Bannerbomb?
    "but does using bannerbomb require you to have done anything to your system prior to being able to use it?"
     
  16. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Fail more.
     
  17. jeanrmarques

    Newcomer jeanrmarques Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Pelotas - RS - Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    I would say bannerbomb is the easiest one (I dont think TP is better or worse, its just different), and since it works on any version of the sys menu, you shouldnt worry about that. at least if youre just aiming to have regular homebrew.

    You should be able to install HBC fine with it (through the hackmii installer), BUT if you plan to install wad manager and/or other stuff that need an IOS with the sign bug, you'll have to check if youre not on 4.0 already, if you do, its still doable, but you will need to do a few extra steps, which I cant recall right now, but theres a few tutorials around here that explain that.

    Hope that info helps
     
  18. cwstjdenobs

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I still say read through those links, but yeah Bannerbomb is easier and works almost everywhere
     
  19. fldash
    OP

    Newcomer fldash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Thanks, I've seen those tutorials. My main questions were regarding the main differences between TP hack and bannerbomb (other than the fact TP hack doesn't work on 4.x SM). My only other concern was whether I needed to do a soft mod if I had a mod-chip. Which, by the looks of it, I may need to do in order to get some Homebrew to run.
     
  20. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    BannerBomb IS the softmod you're doing to get homebrew to run. You have the info you need, now get to it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page